We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is really very good...almost excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anfiteatro Restaurant & Lounge

Anfiteatro Restaurant & Lounge
Pavilhao do Mar | Av. Infante D. Henrique, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500, Portugal
+351296206150
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 91 Restaurants in Ponta Delgada
Price range: $0 - $37
Cuisines: Sushi, Portuguese, Contemporary, International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Oeiras, Portugal
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“It is really very good...almost excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great location, bold architecture, very unusual list, combining tradition with new approaches.
I quite enjoyed our dinner there. It was probably the best meal we had during our stay in S.Miguel island (also the most expensive....).
Service has quality (you notice staff follows all the rules...) but it feels like they're nervous about the fact they have paying customers in front of them.
Try the "5 Sentidos" starter...it's just an amazing, exquisite gastronomic experience.
For the main dishes we had the tuna pavé and the veal steak. Both were very good.
The desserts are also very good. Try the Chocolate Madness....d-e-l-i-c-i-o-u-s!!!!
A visit to S.Miguel "cannot" be complete until you have visited Anfiteatro.
I don't rate it excellent just because the service doesn't look "at ease"....but these guys have a great future in this industry1

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The restaurant was a bit hard to find but the interior was good.
The food was good and the waitors was well trained. When we got there we got an appetizer on the house and not to long after our main dishes. If you are hungry don't go here, it is not much food, more gastronomy and it is quite expensive.
Over all a good experience but we was a bit disapointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fine dining - almost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Restaurant school at the end of the pier next to the cruise ship. Fine dining style, unusual main courses and excellent desserts. Shame there was no freshly made rolls or an 'amuse buche'!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Gourmet Dining in Ponta Delgada? Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

It is not easy to find Anfiteatro Restaurant. It is hidden underneath (as the name suggests) an amphitheater used for outdoor concerts in the summer in Ponta Delgada -- right near the place where the cruise ships dock. Culinary students are in charge of the kitchen, but you'd never know it. The food is on par with the best restaurants in New York. The service is excellent -- which was an extremely pleasant surprise in Portugal (where bad service is typically a given). The decor is very cool. The menu is varied -- not just the usual cod fish and mystery meat you find in Portugal. And the presentation is top notch. I liked everything about Anfiteatro -- including the price. Just 55 euros for dinner for two with wine and dessert? Wow. I don't know enough about the culinary business to tell if these students are going to be star chefs of the future. But they are certainly raising the quality of food in the otherwise sleepy town of Ponta Delgada. There's not much reason to come to this "city" in the Azores. But if you do find yourself here, do yourself a favor and check out Anfiteatro. The trouble you have finding it will be worth it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Enjoy the work of the next generation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This is a working restaurant of the Hospitality and Culinary school. Modern interior with attentive servers, excellent presentations, and good food. Rarely do I dine in the same place twice in a week while abroad - I did so here just to keep sampling the menu. The staff are learning while doing; keep a bit of patience in your pocket and enjoy the view of the harbor from the second story of the restaurant. A quiet place amid what can be a bustling harbor...you will relax here and take your time over an excellent meal.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anfiteatro Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 

Been to Anfiteatro Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anfiteatro Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.