We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious veggie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rotas da Ilha Verde

Rotas da Ilha Verde
Rua de Pedro Homen #49, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-099, Portugal
296628560
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 110 Restaurants in Ponta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delicious veggie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

According to Tripadvisor this was the best resto in town, so we wanted to try it out. And we were positively surprised. Tastefull veggie dishes, creative kitchen, and good wine. Even my daughter, who usually does not like vegetables, loved the food! We also liked the casual athmosphere, like if you were dining in an old fashioned living room. Loved the chocolate secret desert, the pavlova, and all of what we had there. This was the only resto in Ponta Delgada we visited twice! Also want to mention the friendly service. Loved it! Hope that they stay like this!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarina F, Gerente at Rotas da Ilha Verde, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
We are glad you liked the food, service and atmosphere. Thank you for visiting and feel free to come back, since we will definitely stay the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    70
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
's-hertogenbosch
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I ate here three times during my visit of the Azores, all times were great! The cheesecake and the risotto are dishes I recommend. Staff is very friendly and the place is cosy. Make a reservation because it's quite busy. I travelled solo but was situated at the larger table and made friends easily.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarina F, Gerente at Rotas da Ilha Verde, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for the good review. We are happy to see you liked the atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“chocolate fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We have been to this restaurant several times now on our last two visits to the Azores and cannot recommend it highly enough,
I am a vegetarian but my husband certainly is not and he thoroughly enjoyed eating here.
the menu is varied and presented beautifully, the service was quick and the staff enchanting.
the chocolate secret and the triple chocolate mousse desserts are beyond words, my husband always has TWO chocolate mousses!!
Rotas is a must for an evening meal even if you are not vegetarian, A+++++

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarina F, Gerente at Rotas da Ilha Verde, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting Rotas and the Azores. We areglad you like the restaurant and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“no no no!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I am all for trying new cuisines and different styles of foods! but i found this really disgusting! the tabbouleh was tasteless and the bruschettas were even worse. Who puts mushy pea on top of bread? not even lemon could save this disaster! main course was gross....flaky pastry over curry and really i felt sick. No mayo or ketchup in this establishment and no diet coke. BIG NO!!!! best part of all - when the bill came with a little figurine in a bicycle..never to return!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ockay veggy food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We visited for lunch. We had starter soup (mint leaf soup), main course (mixed set; rice, mushroom pastry, oven veggie mix), dessert (chocolate pie with vanilla ice cream). The rice was bit dry and cold, the food in general was bit maybe cold. Was basic tasty, nothing fancy. Camomile tea for drink.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catarina F, Gerente at Rotas da Ilha Verde, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your insight, we will have it in consideration. We are sorry you didn't have a more pleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rotas da Ilha Verde also viewed

Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 

Been to Rotas da Ilha Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rotas da Ilha Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.