We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veggie Heaven in the Azores” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rotas da Ilha Verde

Rotas da Ilha Verde
Rua de Pedro Homen #49, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-099, Portugal
296628560
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Veggie Heaven in the Azores”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Wonderful to find a veggie place after eating so much meat in the Azores. Had seen comments on TripAdvisor so book the day before. Tasty food in good sized portions, great atmosphere and extremely friendly staff. A great end to our holiday.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    61
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kempston
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Like many other people, we originally just turned up here without booking and were unable to get a table. We booked for a couple of days hence and were amazed by just how many people were turned away while we were there. So booking is not just recommended, it is really necessary. Yes, I guess the restaurant is a little 'shabby chic', but was full of laughter and chatter (locals and tourists alike) and the food was excellent. Our starters of bruschetta with mushrooms and rocket topped with an egg were superb and main courses of aubergine cannelloni and a delicate courgette risotto were very good too. My husband is a devoted carnivore, so if he was impressed, believe me, it is impressive! Good Azorian wines too. Friendly service by a lady who was only too happy to talk about the dishes on offer. Recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Visited twice and loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

It's perhaps the only vegetarian place in Ponta Delgada. Absolutely lovely. Friendly stuff who always smile. beautifully cooked food. My only remark would be: add more seafood dishes as Azores is an ideal place to have fresh food.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Long wait, hugely overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Tried to get in twice but eventually had to book three nights ahead. Like being in someone's front room.
We waited 45 mins without even an offer of an olive or piece of bread. Eventually asked for bread and it was clear it had been in the fridge or just defrosted. A really excellent if small starter arrived in a wonderful light pastry case. Wine a litle overpriced compared to other places we had been to and so was the food- for what it was. Less than 15 mins later the main course arrived. Vegetable cous cous. It was just rather dry couscous with some very average veg sitting on top, and that was it !. No sauce, no flavouring no liquid. Nothing. Our pleasant young hostess spend more time fiddling her laptop to keep changing the music than she did in looking after her guests. Very disappointing for a place with such a great repulation. Did not bother waiting for desert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best restaurant during our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you're a food lover like us, then this is your place! The whole experience at this restaurant was very pleasurable, with delicious combination of flavours.

I highly recommend that you book in advance - the place is small and intimate, and it's very popular as well. So the chances are that if you just drop by on their doorstep, it will be fully booked. We were very lucky ourselves because 2 German girls were willing to share the table with us.

All in all, a very good dining experience. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rotas da Ilha Verde also viewed

Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 

Been to Rotas da Ilha Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rotas da Ilha Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.