We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota to your Saves list
Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Infante D. Henrique 103, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-764, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“great vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Our family of 17 vacationed in Sao Miguel July 22-29. We arrived early that morning and our rooms were not ready yet, in the mean time we were allowed to store our luggage in a locked room. We toured the marina- pier across the road and had breakfast. It`s the perfect central location. 10min walk to the doors of Ponta Delgada, shops, cafe`s at your door step. there`s a salt water swimming park down the road.
This hotel is not a fancy 5 star by any means but it fit the bill. It was clean, comfortable and has a pleasant atmosphere. We had booked several rooms/apartments. The apartment rooms were spacious up to 4 ppl, it is stocked with dishes and appliances for a quick meal in. Our room for 2 people only, was basic- a small bedroom and bathroom only. view was a vacant yard. Our room had AC issues. it but it was resolved with a new one, shortly after. The manager on duty was very accomodating and resolved all our issues promptly. Wifi (weefee) was only available in the lobby, not a big deal. FYI -you could connect anywhere to free wifi in the local cafe`s and restaurant in PD, if you ask for the password. Breakfast was a simple continental style buffet. breads,pastries,cheeses,fruits,scrambled eggs,cereal,yogurt.... loved the fresh cheese with pimena! The Gaivota Hotel lobby is small and a personable place, gave us a chance to speak to other families staying here.
One thing I did notice was no screen on any of the window or doors. Anywhere! No need cause there`s no mosquitos or flies. :)
Id recommend this place for families & couples who don`t need the fancy hotel bling!

Room Tip: Only 5 floors in this hotel. Rooms are noisier at the street/ocean view but only if you decide to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    25
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
22
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. It was nice to have more space than just a room. Small kitchenette but more than adequate for our use. The location was great-next to "supermarket" and near restaurants and within walking distance of "sights" within the city. We thought we were getting a land view but got a mariner view which was really nice. The balcony was small (enough for two chairs that you carry out there and our legs) but again sufficient for our use. Hardwood floors. They honored our request for no fragrances in towels and linens but there was a musty smell probably from old furniture. The furniture was advertised as "elegant" but it was far from that! The same furniture was there as in the pictures but the pics must have been taken many years ago when new. Mattresses somewhat hard. Breakfast was sufficient and it was nice to have an English TV channel in the lobby tho not in the room. There was wi-fi in the lobby for phones but not in the rooms. They stored our luggage for us as check-out was before we left the island. The main negative was that our room had no air conditioning again different from advertising. When we asked about it, they said the control was on the wall but when we couldn't find, they came to the room and couldn't find it either. Said it looked like the air conditioning had been removed. Couldn't change rooms as they said all rooms were taken. They did get a "portable" unit that eventually cooled the room but was noisy and had to be vented to the outside thus having to leave the door to the balcony open and allowing for outside noise to come in until the traffic settled down. Would explore other housing before saying we would stay here again but wouldn't rule it out because of the location. Would not recommend to others (or certainly not this room) unless you like "roughing" it.

Room Tip: See the room before you unpack! And, have a back-up plan to go elsewhere. Mariner view was nice but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I was there with my wife and kids and when arrived the room it was simple an horrible room with no window nor outside view. We had 4 beds, each of them spreaded around the apartment. The smell was simple... Blargh... Left the hotel immediately and it was difficult to convince manager not to charge the first night.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Very good location facing the sea and the boulevard. Supermarket downstairs so groceries easily available. Many restaurant options within walking distance. Did not try the breakfast so cannot comment. A decent balcony and the room is large. Had to ask for a kettle and they gave us a coffee machine which was good enough. No wifi in the room (available only in the lobby) and though they have wired internet, it is ancient technology and the cables do not fit the laptops of today. Overall an average hotel but it did not matter as we spent our entire holiday exploring the beautiful island. Lagao do Fogo is not to be missed. Best time to see it is around 10
a.m. before the mists start descending.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Excellent Hotel, Great Service , Nice location, Nice Breakfast.
Enjoyed the stay at this hotel.The room was clean. The breakfast was very nice . I will definitely recommend this hotel for its nice ambience.
Ottawa, Canada

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great location. Helpful & kind staff. This is very family friendly. Love the little kitchenette, divided rooms ( we booked the 1 room suite) perfect fit for 2 adults abd 3 kids. We would stay here again. It's by no means a 5 star hotel, but it 100% fits for us.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel is good, but no more than that, breakfast obnoobrazny and tasteless, very pleasant and professional staff, convenient mestorapolozhenie, nice rooms. There are airport-hotel-airport and the overall impression is udobno.No average

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota

Address: Avenida Infante D. Henrique 103, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-764, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Ponta Delgada and next to Portas Do Mar, this hotel offers panoramic views of the marina right in the capital of the Azores Archipelago.All rooms at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota have wooden floors and elegant furnishings. Each of the air-conditioned rooms features a cable TV, and a minibar. Guests can enjoy their breakfast in the privacy of their room, while using the free internet. The hotel is surrounded by restaurants and cafes with terraces. Packed lunches are also available. The ocean pools of Ponta Delgada and the city's public pools are less than 50 meters away. Ponta Delgada Airport is 3 km away, and the hotel offers a car rental service on site. Currently the Hotel puts at your disposal nuptial apartments T1 Vip, T1, T2, rooms, apartments and a nuptial suite, bar and a conference room and expositions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.