We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cais 20

Cais 20
Rua do Terreiro 9/11 | Sao Roque, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-711, Portugal
296384811
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 91 Restaurants in Ponta Delgada
Price range: $13 - $130
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Chawton
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Awesome seafood in a fairly basic restaurant. Book in advance for a sea view & ensure that you are in the the restaurant with a sea view as there are 2 separate Cais 20 restaurants on the site & the other is more akin to a local diner with a view of the parking lot & formica tables!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    92
    27
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, busy environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I went twice to the restaurant for dinner and enjoyed their fish very much. However, this is a busy place and without reservation we ended up in a separate space (not the one with sea view) for our first meal and just by the entrance where the staff kept running back and forth for our second visit. So, according to my limited experience this is a good choice for some nice fish and sea food (meat also for that matter), but not the best if you are looking for a quiet, relaxed evening,

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food, huge menu, after hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Cais 20 is all about flexibility. It has a huge menu, from fish to shrimp, excellent meat and typical Portuguese food. It is open and serving until 4am I believe, so that is the place to go for an after hours meal.

We had arroz de tamboril for 2 and it was one of the best I had in my life.

Service was not the fastest ever but the dish is not simple and was cooked fresh.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“cais 20: deadliest catch!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Only good thing about it: food, tastes great, no question about it. But nowadays, you cant (or at least shouldnt) make a restaurant just about it. We got there and there were noone to receive us. We had to go ask (beg) to be seated, ask (beg) for the menu, ask (beg) for our food.. got the idea? Even worse they almost got my wife killed twice with that dinner. First with a rock (!!) on her food and later that night by food poisining. But if you can ignore all of that then cais 20 is the place to go!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great fish and steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

While the ambiance is lacking the food is spectacular. The fish stew for 2 could easily have served 4. The "steak on a stone" was enough for 2. . An extensive menu and superb service. 4 of us dined for 87 euro which included wine and one dessert.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cais 20 also viewed

Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 

Been to Cais 20? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cais 20, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.