We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden secret” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Camoes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Camoes to your Saves list
Hotel Camoes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo de Camoes, 38, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-304, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A hidden secret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

If you are not concerned about luxury, this hotel is delightful. It offers comfort and convenience for the price. Walking distance to most areas of interest. Has all the basic's, comfortable rooms, yet basic, large bathroom and everthing works!!! Very quiet if your room is facing a courtyard. Non-smoking hotel, however they do accommodate smokers in various areas, just ask.. Staff was very helpful in directing us to restaurants, tours and sites to visit. Tell Katerina we sent you!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    17
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
18
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

I stayed with a collegue for a couple of nights earlier this month and the staff were great, breakfast was basic but everything you needed to start the day was there. Rooms were well presented and very clean. Bathrooms were a surprise, very modern and not a bit of dirt in sight.
excellent central loaction. you are within walking distance to everything. The old town was a delight too- people were very friendly.
The hotel is not amazing, however if you just want a safe, clean bed and nice food then this is your place. The staff will always try and accomodate you.
Overall, great stay and I would use this hotel again should be go back out there.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

Note this hotel is very friendly to persons with impaired physical abilities. The rooms are nice, but not very big. We tried to get a king-size bed, but in (all hotels in) Sao Miguel we had to sleep on separate single beds pushed together (or squeeze). Although this hotel has no view and parking is available at two nearby parking houses at an additional fee, we found the personnel very friendly and helpful with planning our further trip around the island. True, breakfast is not something very fancy, but there is a very good (locally produced) yoghurt and cheese served. Unfortunately, breakfast seems to vary very little among hotels in Sao Miguel so after one week you have enough ... Luckily there is plenty of supermarkets around (Sol Mar for example) to supply yourself with something different. We have not tried dinner at this hotel. The location of this hotel is really ideal for exploring most important not to be missed attractions. Swimming is available at a nearby public swimming pool. Tourist office is nearby with offers of whale watching and swimming with dolphins. Do not expect a nice beach in the centre of Ponta Delgada. Either you take a dip in a small marina (the water seems to be quite clean) or you take a short trip with a bus (they run every hour) to the beach - very easy.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East of England
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

Back street location, but only 10 minute walk to main square. Nice welcome at Reception and efficient booking in process.
We had the Suite, number 113,comfortable sitting area plus table and chairs. Large bedroom area and good Bathroom.
Slight “Musty” smell when entering room, that did not go away over the 7 nights we stayed.
The Suite is at the back of the hotel and very quiet, but do not think the other rooms would be very noisy, we stayed during the main festival and the back street seemed quite quiet.
Breakfast was adequate, plenty to eat but the selection was slightly limited.
It should be noted that the “Rack Rates” shown in reception are much higher than we paid, and as stated we were there at the time of the main religious festival and the hotel was full.
Overall it's an average place, nothing to say Wow about but nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

Not much to complain but not that much to praise about either. Rooms are clean and pretty nice but the view could be better. Breakfast ok but there could be more variety. You get really bored if yoy eat breakfast here for a week. During our stay there was quite a lot of noise from the nearby buildning site. In my opinion this is a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

This is a very adequate, comfortable, straightforward 'local' hotel with attractive and nicely furnished rooms and a good bathroom. The cafe / restaurant is accessed by going out of the front door and back into the bar - the food is OK, homely rather than gourmet, about typical for Ponta Delgada. Breakfasts again were OK if fairly basic. I'm not sure what other facilities are there but I tend not to make use of hotel facilities anyway. It's very central and wasn't at all noisy in my view, despite having a room facing on to the street (though there were no traffic diversions when I was there). I would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — Location, general ambience, not a 'tourist hotel'
  • Disliked — Very little - eating areas could have been more 'part of' the hotel
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

Rooms: good, clean, some have quite a lot of space, yet no sea or garden view.
Food: breakfast is very poor, low qualitiy products and low variety. Lunch and dinner are also poor, and not cheap.
Service: you must be lucky with the recepcionist, because some of them are not very friendly.
Defenetly not recomended, if you have a chance to stay elsewhere, do.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Camoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Camoes

Address: Largo de Camoes, 38, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-304, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Camoes 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Camoes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camoes Hotel Ponta Delgada
Hotel Camoes Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Camoes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.