We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Camoes

Save Saved
You added Hotel Camoes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Camoes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo de Camoes, 38, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-304, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Uk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Hotel camoes is a good basic hotel, in a good location. Stayed here for one week and was perfect for us, near to shops and restaurants and a couple of minutes away from where he whale watching trips depart.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    17
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
17
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Multiple
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I'd have to say, this hotel was a shocking disappointment. While the location was great, the price was that of a 4 star hotel (which is what the hotel claims to be), but the rooms are tiny, mouldy, smoke-filled (despite being non-smoking). About that point, I complained at the front desk, to which the response was simply "this hotel is non-smoking" (for an asthmatic like me, a smoking neighbour and a mouldy room are a big deal). The free breakfast was not fresh, the pastries were stale half the time... The hotel has no amenities, no wireless internet, nothing special at all...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here on a family holiday. The hotel is well situated, being a short walk from the town centre and harbour/marina area plenty of restaurants are within easy reach. Despite the location the hotel is very quiet. Our room and the common areas were tastefully decorated, dark wood was prominent throughout. We found this hotel suited us very well. It lacked the frills which we would not have used! Breakfast was plentiful though a little limited in variety.

We will almost certainly be passing through Ponta Delgada again and will seek to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I did like this place overall and I would recommend to those who don't have too high expectations. I stayed two nights before venturing onto Porto. My room was nice but basic. It was very clean but with no frills. Not that I need that necessarily. The quiet location was appreciated as well as the pleasant nature of the staff. The breakfast was very basic but ok to start the morning. Actually, they made very good scrambled eggs which some hotels can't quite pull off. The only thing that sort of put me off at first was the carpeting in the hallways. They really need to be replaced as the are quite badly stained and it really detracts from this otherwise nice hotel. Its kind of the first thing that you notice so you cant help to wonder what other little surprises you might find. Fortunately, everything else was quite pleasant during my stay.
As far as the price is concerned, its a little high for what you get I believe especially compared to other parts of Portugal with Lisbon included.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Very accommodating personnel, nice room, no complaints whatsoever.
Good breakfast within hotel. Adjacent restaurant was very good, with excellent service.
A very pleasant stay. Excellent for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We were on a stop-over for 3 nights in Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel and we chose the Hotel Camoes based on reviews in Trip Advisor. It did not disappoint!

The reception staff were very friendly, helpful and courteous. We couldn't have asked for more! Breakfast was included and it was a very nice one (simple, but good!).

We arrived quite early from Canada and with no questions asked, the reception handed our keys to the room and there were no issues with an early check-in (so very much appreciated!). We were also invited to help ourselves to coffee and/or breakfast, if we wanted to. VERY kind and very well appreciated - totally unexpected.

Wireless and an Internet (Computer) were available in the Bar Lounge. As we were travelling in off season, the computer was always available.

The location of Hotel Camoes is excellent, very close to center of town and the Marina.

We very much enjoyed our stay in this quaint hotel and would definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drumheller, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

In usually stay at another hotel in Ponta Delgada, and this was ranked low in Trip Advisor, so I was wary when my host booked me into this place. I am happy that they did.

This is not your typical business hotel. It is older, and has a more traditional feel to it. My room was spacious,with a sitting room and a bedroom, as well as a fully functioning bathroom. If you are looking for ultra modern, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for friendly, service oriented staff, in clean comfortable rooms, this is the place.

The checkin process was smooth and quick. I was in my room in less that 10 minutes of walkiing into the hotel. The lobby and the rooms are clean and well maintained. Free internet, a real bonus! Located centrally, it is a short walk to the downtown, Portas do Mar, and the local tourist attractions. The staff had a good handle on where to eat in town, and their advice was good.

The view from my room was non existent, so if a view of the ocean is important, find somewhere else. At the same time, I felt I was sleeping in a piece of history. It is an old building on an old street. And yet comfortable.

I would stay here again,nowing what I know about Ponta Delgada. You need to rent a car to see the island anyway, and the hotel is close to any car rental companies. It is also close to the tour operators, so you have your choice of Whale Watching, deep sea fishing, bicycling, etc, and it is all close to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a large bed and you will get the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Camoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Camoes

Address: Largo de Camoes, 38, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-304, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Camoes 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel Camoes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camoes Hotel Ponta Delgada
Hotel Camoes Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Camoes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.