We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surpising find in the heart of Ponta Delgada” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Camoes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Camoes to your Saves list
Hotel Camoes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo de Camoes, 38, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-304, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Drumheller, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A surpising find in the heart of Ponta Delgada”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

In usually stay at another hotel in Ponta Delgada, and this was ranked low in Trip Advisor, so I was wary when my host booked me into this place. I am happy that they did.

This is not your typical business hotel. It is older, and has a more traditional feel to it. My room was spacious,with a sitting room and a bedroom, as well as a fully functioning bathroom. If you are looking for ultra modern, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for friendly, service oriented staff, in clean comfortable rooms, this is the place.

The checkin process was smooth and quick. I was in my room in less that 10 minutes of walkiing into the hotel. The lobby and the rooms are clean and well maintained. Free internet, a real bonus! Located centrally, it is a short walk to the downtown, Portas do Mar, and the local tourist attractions. The staff had a good handle on where to eat in town, and their advice was good.

The view from my room was non existent, so if a view of the ocean is important, find somewhere else. At the same time, I felt I was sleeping in a piece of history. It is an old building on an old street. And yet comfortable.

I would stay here again,nowing what I know about Ponta Delgada. You need to rent a car to see the island anyway, and the hotel is close to any car rental companies. It is also close to the tour operators, so you have your choice of Whale Watching, deep sea fishing, bicycling, etc, and it is all close to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a large bed and you will get the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    19
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
18
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Excelent location, walking distance to everywhere, free wi-fi, confortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff, average break-fast (more choices would be nice). In need of some carpet cleaning (corridors) but overall cleanliness is good. Enjoyed my stay (second time) and I will be back. Good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

If you are not concerned about luxury, this hotel is delightful. It offers comfort and convenience for the price. Walking distance to most areas of interest. Has all the basic's, comfortable rooms, yet basic, large bathroom and everthing works!!! Very quiet if your room is facing a courtyard. Non-smoking hotel, however they do accommodate smokers in various areas, just ask.. Staff was very helpful in directing us to restaurants, tours and sites to visit. Tell Katerina we sent you!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

I stayed with a collegue for a couple of nights earlier this month and the staff were great, breakfast was basic but everything you needed to start the day was there. Rooms were well presented and very clean. Bathrooms were a surprise, very modern and not a bit of dirt in sight.
excellent central loaction. you are within walking distance to everything. The old town was a delight too- people were very friendly.
The hotel is not amazing, however if you just want a safe, clean bed and nice food then this is your place. The staff will always try and accomodate you.
Overall, great stay and I would use this hotel again should be go back out there.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

Note this hotel is very friendly to persons with impaired physical abilities. The rooms are nice, but not very big. We tried to get a king-size bed, but in (all hotels in) Sao Miguel we had to sleep on separate single beds pushed together (or squeeze). Although this hotel has no view and parking is available at two nearby parking houses at an additional fee, we found the personnel very friendly and helpful with planning our further trip around the island. True, breakfast is not something very fancy, but there is a very good (locally produced) yoghurt and cheese served. Unfortunately, breakfast seems to vary very little among hotels in Sao Miguel so after one week you have enough ... Luckily there is plenty of supermarkets around (Sol Mar for example) to supply yourself with something different. We have not tried dinner at this hotel. The location of this hotel is really ideal for exploring most important not to be missed attractions. Swimming is available at a nearby public swimming pool. Tourist office is nearby with offers of whale watching and swimming with dolphins. Do not expect a nice beach in the centre of Ponta Delgada. Either you take a dip in a small marina (the water seems to be quite clean) or you take a short trip with a bus (they run every hour) to the beach - very easy.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

Back street location, but only 10 minute walk to main square. Nice welcome at Reception and efficient booking in process.
We had the Suite, number 113,comfortable sitting area plus table and chairs. Large bedroom area and good Bathroom.
Slight “Musty” smell when entering room, that did not go away over the 7 nights we stayed.
The Suite is at the back of the hotel and very quiet, but do not think the other rooms would be very noisy, we stayed during the main festival and the back street seemed quite quiet.
Breakfast was adequate, plenty to eat but the selection was slightly limited.
It should be noted that the “Rack Rates” shown in reception are much higher than we paid, and as stated we were there at the time of the main religious festival and the hotel was full.
Overall it's an average place, nothing to say Wow about but nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

Not much to complain but not that much to praise about either. Rooms are clean and pretty nice but the view could be better. Breakfast ok but there could be more variety. You get really bored if yoy eat breakfast here for a week. During our stay there was quite a lot of noise from the nearby buildning site. In my opinion this is a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Camoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Camoes

Address: Largo de Camoes, 38, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-304, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ponta Delgada
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Camoes 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Camoes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camoes Hotel Ponta Delgada
Hotel Camoes Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Camoes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.