We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Furnas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Furnas

Furnas
Sao Miguel, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 62 things to do in Sao Miguel
Attraction details
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Furnas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The furnas was interesting to see as we actually saw the water boiling and sprouting from the earth. We could smell the sulphur too. It was a great area to take pictures.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    107
    17
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Hot stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We enjoyed our visit to Furnas. It was really neat to see the result of all the volcanic activity on the surface.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Furnas is beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Amazing place...nature, flowers especially hydredreas, hiking trails, hot springs with wonderful thermal waters, nice restaurants, my favorite Restaurant Vulcoes.... Best food in town...Chef Paulo and his brother Viktor were great hosts... Would highly recommend it!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fasitnating!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Where else can you go and have lunch cook under ground. Pedro our tour guide arranged for us to have lunch cooked by the steam of the active volcano. It was absolutely delicious and amazing!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A boiling lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Furnas is ideal for a nice walk around (approx. 2,5h). There are hot springs near to the lake, and people come and bring meat and fish to be cooked in the volcanic heat. Lots of picknick areas around, and the lake is very easy to reach by car.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Furnas also viewed

 

Been to Furnas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furnas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.