We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plantacoes de Cha Gorreana (Gorreana Tea Plantation)
Maia, Sao Miguel 9625, Portugal
296 442 349
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Time for tea!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great attempt at reviving an old but small industry. Great old machines - best of British engineering. A bit crowded when we visited. Tea samples to try an packets of tea sold on the premises at a price cheaper than in Porta Delgarda. They imported plants from India and China and have since exported plants to Cornwall!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    48
    30
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Tea tasting/store”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Having never been to a tea plantation was looking forward to the experience. Been there, done that. Tea tasting and tea store. Excellent tea for sale.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting place to spend a few hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

An interesting working tea plantation and worth the effort to visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quaint but no one was making tea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This tour was interesting but we went when tea was not being harvested. Machinery is old but still works today.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“A working tea plantation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

First, let me say, the fields are beautiful and if there are workers in the fields cutting the tops of the plants, it is really interesting. But, once one goes into the factory there are few safeguards. We were shocked to see a bus load of tourists disgorge and wander around the running machinery - most of which did not have fences or guards! One worker would dump a big hamper of tea leaves into a hopper then the tea would move up a belt to a grinding area where 30 people stood around taking photos and videos. Just as this big group wandered through to the tea tasting area, I noticed a lot of smoke. I said to my husband, "I do not remember it being this smoky when we were in that room". Next thing, I saw was one worker running towards an oven- open the oven door with flames coming out and he threw buckets of water in there and yelled at the other workers to help. The bucket guy yelled at another fellow who shrugged and stood watching. Meanwhile, there are more tourists standing a few feet away.
This is a working plantation. It is not a tour. It is a opportunity to see men working in their environment with no signs or descriptions. If one finds the correct way to wander, then one may find the tea tasting area and the gift shop area. How someone has not lost a limb is beyond me. By the way, I am not a tea drinker and I thought some of the tea was really good. Unfortunately, I did not remember the names of the tea nor do they have little take-away tags so one can know the names when one goes into the gift shop. Oh well.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plantacoes de Cha Gorreana (Gorreana Tea Plantation) also viewed

Vila Franca do Campo, Sao Miguel
 
Ribeira Grande, Sao Miguel
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel
 

Been to Plantacoes de Cha Gorreana (Gorreana Tea Plantation)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantacoes de Cha Gorreana (Gorreana Tea Plantation), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.