We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terra Nostra Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Terra Nostra Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Padre Jose Jacinto Botelho, 5 | Furnas, Sao Miguel 9675-061, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Sao Miguel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kenmare, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Best hotel in S.Miguel, As an immigrant from the Azores and working in the same business the hotel terra nostra is above the expectation. special thanks to the night receptionist that let us use the outdoor thermal pool after 1pm!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    77
    27
    7
    5
See reviews for
64
185
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

A beautifully decorated (art deco) comfortable hotel with an amazing staff. Everyone here is courteous, friendly and extremely accomodating. The rooms are well-appointed (no kettle in the room though and the wifi is not always as t rong as one would wish to). The hotel is adjacent to an outside pool with naturally hot ferruginous water which can look a little bit daunting. But you can still use it (as we did) in winter. You are quite warm when you are in the water. The indoor pool is lovely. It has a sauna and a steam bath. The breakfast is delicious and the restaurant serves very good food (a bit pricey for the Azores), but very reasonable if one considers the quality of the food and the outsatnding service.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The hotel has been renovated recently and the whole place is simply beautiful. The level of service is excellent; the staff are all friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed walking in the botanical gardens and "swimming" in the thermal pool -- even in January! The town of Furnas is quiet and unspoiled, perfect for a relaxing vacation. We walked to the hot springs at Furnas Lake to watch them take the traditional stew out of the ground. The hot springs in town are also worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The Azores are a wonderful and unique place, and the Terra Nostra Garden Hotel is situated at an idyllic spot inside the Furnas caldera. While not up to 100% of the standard of mainland hotels, Terra Nostra Garden Hotel is 110% of its own unique self and any shortcomings are easily forgiven. We were in Garden Terrace Deluxe #107 … a quiet location on the ground floor with direct access to a shared terrace with sun chairs. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The restaurant was excellent. We had a superb dinner there one night, and excellent breakfasts every morning. Try the Azores wines … we wish we could buy them in the States. Frei Gigante was fine, as was Atlantis. The parking lot is small, but we always found a spot. The adjoining botanical gardens and thermal pool are sublime. After our long flight day, our first stop was in the park's thermal pool where the 102°F fountains beat away our travel malaise. We loved the Azores, especially Furnas and the Terra Nostra Gardens Hotel, and plan on returning every summer if we can!

Room Tip: We were in Garden Terrace Deluxe #107 … quiet location on the ground floor with direct access to a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The hotel is almost 80 years old but it was totally renovated recently. The level of service in my opinion is five star, so is the location in proximity of the Furnas lake. The hotel location is perfect (botanical garden). It is probably one of the nicest places on the island. The restaurant is top class. Clean room, comfortable bed. Great breakfasts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed at Terra Nostra Garden Hotel in November 2013 after finding a last-minute off-season deal on booking.com, but after my stay I would recommend it even paying the full price: it is the one place on the island for a totally relaxed, luxurious stay.

I made a mistake in the dates in my booking which I tried to correct but it was already too late according to the booking website. The staff was totally understanding and helpful seeing that it was a true mistake so they didn't count any additional charge when I showed up finally, even if they could have! They do much more than what they have to do to. It's all aimed at making you relax.

Spent 3 hours exploring the gardens and I'm sure there's parts I've missed. The variety of plants, trees and unseen flowers is absolutely stunning. The yellowish mineral pool is a piece of heaven: floating around it until late at night watching the stars and the trees - it's all possible. One advice: do not wear a white or brand new swimming suit in the outdoor pool if you want to reuse it the next day. It takes some time to wash out the yellow colour.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Finally, a decent place to stay in the Azores. I think this hotel has the only coffee that's good on the island. The restaurant food is quite good as well. The gardens out back are huge and beautiful. Everything is super clean and tastefully laid out. The town is generally more laid back feeling than the seaside towns, which get very buffeted by the elements. Only complaint is that it's hard to get seafood around here, since it's inland. You have to go all the way back to Logoa or try up on the northern shore.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terra Nostra Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Nostra Garden Hotel

Address: Rua Padre Jose Jacinto Botelho, 5 | Furnas, Sao Miguel 9675-061, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sao Miguel
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sao Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Terra Nostra Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, the Azores Islands can relish in the grand re-opening of their most famous hotel, newly renovated. Terra Nostra Garden Hotel reopens to the public after extensive renovations reclassified as a 4-star property, positioning itself as one of the top hotels in Portugal. Located in Furnas Valley, on S. Miguel Island, Terra Nostra Garden Hotel is nestled in one of the World's best "Green Retreats," as deemed by Conde Nast Traveler - the 18th century Terra Nostra Garden exudes a breathtaking atmosphere of exoticism and mysticism in perfect harmony with nature. Opened since 1935, a time when the Azores Islands entered the international travel circuit for those seeking unique experiences, Terra Nostra Garden Hotel reopens with the same charming aura and exclusivity of the past, bringing you 86 rooms split between two buildings, maintaining its architectural history: the Art Deco Wing, built in the 1930's and the Garden Wing, added in the 1990's. The hotel's interior design concept stems from the Art Deco style, and introduces contemporary elements and materials, creating comfort and exclusivity perfectly integrated with the lush Terra Nostra Garden. The new Wellness areas are available and improved upon, making this hotel the perfect spotyou're your special events, taking into consideration the tremendous potential of Furnas Valley with theme-oriented activities, as a retreat getaway and so much more. In addition to the renovation, Terra Nostra Garden Hotel highlights Azorean products, focuses on the Furnas Cozido experience (a sustainable meal fully cooked underground with the heat of the volcanic hot springs) and the importance of protecting Furnas's unique environmental resources. The new Terra Nostra Restaurant offers a vast array of wine choices and delectable menu, up to par with the expectations of any wine connoisseur or avid foodie, who will appreciate the impeccable service and ambiance this restaurant has always had. Come stay with us at Terra Nostra Garden Hotel and you will have an unforgettable wellness experience, leaving you with memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Terra Nostra Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Terra Nostra Garden
Terra Nostra Garden são Miguel
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel Sao Miguel, Azores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terra Nostra Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.