We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terra Nostra Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Terra Nostra Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Padre Jose Jacinto Botelho, 5 | Furnas, Sao Miguel 9675-061, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Sao Miguel
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The hotel is almost 80 years old but it was totally renovated recently. The level of service in my opinion is five star, so is the location in proximity of the Furnas lake. The hotel location is perfect (botanical garden). It is probably one of the nicest places on the island. The restaurant is top class. Clean room, comfortable bed. Great breakfasts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    70
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
56
157
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed at Terra Nostra Garden Hotel in November 2013 after finding a last-minute off-season deal on booking.com, but after my stay I would recommend it even paying the full price: it is the one place on the island for a totally relaxed, luxurious stay.

I made a mistake in the dates in my booking which I tried to correct but it was already too late according to the booking website. The staff was totally understanding and helpful seeing that it was a true mistake so they didn't count any additional charge when I showed up finally, even if they could have! They do much more than what they have to do to. It's all aimed at making you relax.

Spent 3 hours exploring the gardens and I'm sure there's parts I've missed. The variety of plants, trees and unseen flowers is absolutely stunning. The yellowish mineral pool is a piece of heaven: floating around it until late at night watching the stars and the trees - it's all possible. One advice: do not wear a white or brand new swimming suit in the outdoor pool if you want to reuse it the next day. It takes some time to wash out the yellow colour.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Finally, a decent place to stay in the Azores. I think this hotel has the only coffee that's good on the island. The restaurant food is quite good as well. The gardens out back are huge and beautiful. Everything is super clean and tastefully laid out. The town is generally more laid back feeling than the seaside towns, which get very buffeted by the elements. Only complaint is that it's hard to get seafood around here, since it's inland. You have to go all the way back to Logoa or try up on the northern shore.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at Terra Nostra Garden Hotel for two nights during October 2013. The staff was excellent - professional, helpful and friendly. The hotel has been renovated and looks really good. Hopefully they will be able to keep it looking as fresh as it does now (nothing spoils a hotel stay like tired looking surroundings). The fact it backs into the garden is definitely a plus, since it's gorgeous. Highlights - the amazing breakfast, the ducks and black swans in the pond inside the garden (they are a riot and a lot of fun to feed), the garden itself/location. The only two things we wish the hotel had - free/paid wifi in the room (free wifi is available in other areas of the hotel), a hot tub (it does have an indoor swimming pool, a sauna and turkish baths). Overall we couldn't be happier with our stay and we will cherish it forever. It was truly magical.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terceira, Portugal
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I knew the Terra Nostra since 1990 and have been here several times in the past.
From october 2012 until june 2013 this once quite old fashioned and a little bit worn out hotel became now a most marvellous hotel, and after its face lift it is now a splendid princess in a fairy tail park!
I could not believe what they did and how beautiful it became after only 8 months of closure...
Already my reservation was treated with such a lot of personal care and attention - THAT is true, Azorean hospitality!
The hotel now looks very beautiful from the outside in its yellow colour. Once you step inside it is very stylish and pure. Quite understatement and nothing posh or ritzy, but it is classy and one immediately feels at ease. The front desk staff is VERY helpful and kind - bravo!
Our room was another surprise. Very nice décor, very comfortable bed, a balcony with a view onto the marvellous park and absolute peace - it was heavenly! The bathroom is quite small (as the room was...), but best quality. I can not remember to have had such good doors in a hotel. If one guest is in the room and the other one in the bathroom, it is more than just pleasant to realize that the door closes hermetically and you really don't even hear the toilet flush or the running water. Superbly done, really! There are white bathrobes, nice towels and all the amenities one could wish.
They give so much attention to details here, it was a real joy to realize all these little extras that many 5* deluxe hotels just neglect. Here you will find a lovely room service menu (a cover with wonderful photo of the park), nice do not disturb to hang on your door, beautiful stationary and other details. We loved the comfort of our room a lot. The only thing is that the rooms are quite small, so next time I will opt for one of their 5 very beautiful suitesas I love to have some extra space...
May be the biggest surprise of this superb hotel is the SERVICE!
Only in 2013 I spent more than 120 nights in the best available hotels around, but I can not remember one where I never ever got a "no". EVERYTHING is possible here, the staff is SO helpful, SO kind, SO professional!
Since 18 years I am the owner of a travel agency specialized in the absolute high end and top market segment. I have been to the best and most exclusive hotels around the globe. I am used to excellent service (and I am often disappointed not to get it, even in hotels where they make you pay 600€ per night or more...).
The staff at the TN (Terra Nostra) did NOT know that I own a travel agency. Nevertheless I got an absolute top class treatment which surprised me a lot in a very positive way!
The quality of food was absolutely divine, the menu choice satisfied me completely! The presentation of the foid was AAA. Every single meal was a REAL joy with "wow" effect!
The nights before we stayed at the very hype 5* Deluxe Yeatman Hotel in Porto. The prices for food were more than double compared to the Terra Nostra, but the Terra Nostra food was MUCH more exquisite and MUCH better presented, and service at TN was MUCH more efficient and MUCH friendlier here.
We loved the intimacy of our room so much that we wished to lunch and dine always there. Sometimes we ordered 6 different dishes, but it never even took 30 minutes to bring up everything. Amazing, there seem to be magicians in their kitchen! Wonderful dishes, wonderful plates, excellent service - 100 points for you, really!
One evening I was into a nice chicken with vegetables. I went down to the restaurant and spoke to the head waiter, asking him if we eventually could dine upstairs in our room. Also here, a bright smile of Azorean hospitality and EVERYTHING was possible.
This hotel surprised me a lot, I loved it from the first to the last moment. Everything was ABOVE my expectations although my standards are very high and I know that everybody tellls me to be a very demanding and spoiled guy. I am, I know that ;-) But here it was SO nice that I have decided to come back in November/December for around 20 days, just to sleep well in absolute tranquillity and harmony of a spacious Suite, to enjoy 5* menues, to get pampered in the new SPA, to go for walks in the most magnificent park of the Azores and to get concious how beautiful and how peaceful the Azores are!
Um "muito obrigado do profundo do meu coração" to all the staff of the Terra Nostra who have contributed so much to give 100 points to my stay there. It was just marvellous!

Room Tip: I would recommend you to book a SUITE. They offer much more space as standard rooms are quite small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in August 2013. The car park is small and was full most of the time we were there. The Furnas one way system is pretty tortuous - just leave the car as close as you can.
The botanical garden grounds of this hotel are absolutely stunning - ideal for a few hours walk to work up an appetite for dinner. Very tranquil - there are black swans in the lakes. As mentioned by other reviewers, the thermal pool is great - particularly outside of the hours where this is open to the public, rather than just hotel guests as it can get very busy especially on hot days. Robes and towels are provided in your room.
We had a ground floor garden view room. The room itself was very nice, clean, spacious and well decorated. The only issue was that the two sunbeds on the terrace right outside were communal, so a few times there were other people on them, right outside our room when we were in there. Also the lock on the outside door is not very intuitive - if you press the lock button (assuming this would unlock it) it actually locks it so that to then get it open requires the use of a key which only the staff have (the cleaners had to unlock this for us).
The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. We were not able to get Wi-Fi in our room but it worked fine in reception.
The breakfast was very nice, a wide choice of breads as well as fruit, some cold meats, cheese and and bacon and scrambled eggs. There was a menu but this just seemed to contain the options that you had to pay extra for (eggs benedict etc) but we didn't bother with these. The staff were very attentive and quick to top up fruit juice/coffee.
We ate in the restaurant and found the food very good, but hugely expensive compared with everywhere else we ate in the Azores. The maître d' was particularly rude and unpleasant. Apart from him, the staff were very nice, albeit a bit clueless at times (you got the impression that they were aiming for fine dining but weren't quite sure how it worked) - your dishes and wine were unveiled with a flourish, and sauces etc. poured at the table, however we weren't given water/aperitifs until after the starter had arrived, despite having ordered when we sat down, and salt/pepper took about 10 minutes to arrive. Overall the experience was very good though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I first visited this hotel about 5 years ago, when I was working on a guide to the Azores. I originally came in order to sample cozido, the volcanic-cooked dish of local renown, but came back on this occasion to sample the hotel. It has been extended and renovated, and is absolutely stunning. 86 rooms, including a few lush suites, over 12 hectares of gardens, plus that funny yellow pond that everyone likes to swim in, and an outstanding restaurant. They have a special 'cozido' menu, but be careful, the costs can rack up. If all you want is the cozido, stick to your guns, and ask for that...don't bother with the three courses. To be honest, the cozido in itself will fill all but the largest guts...so, don't be greedy, you'll have to carry it around for the rest of the day.

Lovely village, with all the fumaroles to occupy your time; you can even buy sweet corn cooked in one of the fumaroles.

Highly recommended hotel; would be even better if it wasn't so far from the airport. But if distance and time is not a problem, choose this place above all others.

Room Tip: Take plenty of exercise in the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terra Nostra Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Nostra Garden Hotel

Address: Rua Padre Jose Jacinto Botelho, 5 | Furnas, Sao Miguel 9675-061, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sao Miguel
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sao Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Terra Nostra Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today, the Azores Islands can relish in the grand re-opening of their most famous hotel, newly renovated. Terra Nostra Garden Hotel reopens to the public after extensive renovations reclassified as a 4-star property, positioning itself as one of the top hotels in Portugal. Located in Furnas Valley, on S. Miguel Island, Terra Nostra Garden Hotel is nestled in one of the World's best "Green Retreats," as deemed by Conde Nast Traveler - the 18th century Terra Nostra Garden exudes a breathtaking atmosphere of exoticism and mysticism in perfect harmony with nature. Opened since 1935, a time when the Azores Islands entered the international travel circuit for those seeking unique experiences, Terra Nostra Garden Hotel reopens with the same charming aura and exclusivity of the past, bringing you 86 rooms split between two buildings, maintaining its architectural history: the Art Deco Wing, built in the 1930's and the Garden Wing, added in the 1990's. The hotel's interior design concept stems from the Art Deco style, and introduces contemporary elements and materials, creating comfort and exclusivity perfectly integrated with the lush Terra Nostra Garden. The new Wellness areas are available and improved upon, making this hotel the perfect spotyou're your special events, taking into consideration the tremendous potential of Furnas Valley with theme-oriented activities, as a retreat getaway and so much more. In addition to the renovation, Terra Nostra Garden Hotel highlights Azorean products, focuses on the Furnas Cozido experience (a sustainable meal fully cooked underground with the heat of the volcanic hot springs) and the importance of protecting Furnas's unique environmental resources. The new Terra Nostra Restaurant offers a vast array of wine choices and delectable menu, up to par with the expectations of any wine connoisseur or avid foodie, who will appreciate the impeccable service and ambiance this restaurant has always had. Come stay with us at Terra Nostra Garden Hotel and you will have an unforgettable wellness experience, leaving you with memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Terra Nostra Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Terra Nostra Garden
Terra Nostra Garden são Miguel
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel Sao Miguel, Azores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terra Nostra Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.