We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lagoa do Fogo

Lagoa do Fogo
Miradouro da Serra Barrosa | Agua de Pau, Sao Miguel, Portugal
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 62 things to do in Sao Miguel
Attraction details
Newbury, England
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The twisty drive up was well worth the view! I would have very much liked to walk down the trail to the lonely lake and swum from the lovely beach you can see by the trees -- but the rest of the family were not keen.

Totally recommended.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    55
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chawton
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Awesome views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

One of the great volcanic landscapes of the world when it is not obscured by cloud as is often the case. Walk down the steep path to the lake and explore the shoreline if you have the opportunity to enjoy the beauty & tranquillity of this remarkable place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

we were staying in Ponta Delgada and used the buses to do all our traveling they are clean, reliable, on time and the Drivers were all very helpful. we got a bus to Riberia Grande which cost about 5 euros for two adults & one child & then got a taxi to visit Lagoa do Fogo which cost 20 euros for all three of us for a return journey the driver was so good and done photo stops and took us to the top which is so quiet and peaceful with wonderful views of the lake on our way done the driver took us to the hot springs which we swam in and the waterfall the scenery was fantastic.It is a must do.When we came down we also looked around Riberia Grande itself which is a lovely peacful place with a lovely park to wander around. You can walk up to the lake hot springs and waterfall but unless you are a hiker / walker i would recommend a taxi it is a long long long way up there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful scenery, a peaceful lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

There's a 2-3 hour hike possible starting from one of the outlooks reachable by car. First you descend about 200 meters to the lake shore where it is possible to bathe (sandy beach). Then you can make your way half way around the lake, though most people don't go as far. Beware the ascend on the way back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Long walk down and up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very difficult walking due to steepness and erosion of path way. Effort rewarded with swim in the lake. Must take water and food for this one. There seems to be a dirt road down but I have no idea how to get to it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lagoa do Fogo also viewed

 

Been to Lagoa do Fogo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lagoa do Fogo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.