We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very high standard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada da Horta, Forte de Sta. Cruz

Save Saved
You added Pousada da Horta, Forte de Sta. Cruz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada da Horta, Forte de Sta. Cruz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Vasco da Gama, Horta, Faial Island 9900-017, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Horta
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very high standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed for three nights at the Pousada as part of a package. Hotels of this quality (and price) are not our personal favourites, but we were delighted with the room and its view over Horta harbour and Pico. The restaurant was excellent for its breakfast buffet, and we had one meal there which we thoroughly enjoyed (though there is better value to be had elsewhere). The staff were efficient and discreet, thoroughly professional; when my wife had a problem the duty manager was excellent in his response and very understanding.
I noticed one review saying they felt the Pousada was "soulless": in comparison to other places we have stayed this hotel was delightful. There may be other rooms that did not come up to the standard of ours, but I can only speak from our own experience.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms with balconies are the best, but bear in mind that the working harbour can be noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StCruz, Gerente at Pousada da Horta, Forte de Sta. Cruz, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Warwick D,

We thank you for your comments.

It is with personal satisfaction that I acknowledge the positive feedback regarding our team work and effort.

It is reassuring to know that our endeavor to create memorable moments is successful.

Best Regards,

Ricardo Gomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    31
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
54
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This room was the rare combination of the most expensive and the worst of our 3 week Azores trip. We booked with a 55+ discount and the hotel didn't mention that that means that you get one of the 5-6 rooms in the hotel that don't have a view. In our booking application we asked about the view but they never replied to that. Since the hotel states that 'almost every room has a view', we assumed it would be ok.
The room was tiny and very stuffy and had no historic charm at all. And still cost 130 Euro, which was very overpriced for a room like this. Once in the hotel we tried to upgrade to the front rooms which seem to be nicer. But the hotel was fully booked (as was the island) so to no avail. The only nice thing about the hotel was the breakfast on the terrace overlooking Pico.
I recommend to make sure whether your room has a view and if not, find another hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a view. The ones at the back are poor value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very centrally located in the city fort, by the harbor. Worth paying an upgrade to get sea-side rooms with the view of Pico. Unfortunately our room and bathroom was not properly cleaned (and things improved little the next day). I find it regrettable that in a four-star hotel so little attention is paid; our children's room was however perfectly clean. WiFi available in the reception area with a new code to be requested every day. Rich choice for breakfast.

Room Tip: Worth upgrade to superior room to get the view of Pico
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StCruz, Gerente at Pousada da Horta, Forte de Sta. Cruz, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear GLS-ALS,

We truly thank you for your comments.

We are glad you enjoyed the view from your room and our buffet breakfast.

We would like to present our deepest apologies for the bathroom not being spotless. We ensure you that we will be more attentive to avoid this in the future.

Best regards to your familiy,

Ricardo Gomes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Pousada has a good central location in Horta about 20 minutes' walk or 5 minutes' taxi from the ferry terminal, and entirely within the crenelated walls of a lovely old fort. The hotel design itself is modern and anodyne, and we found it slightly soulless. Our room had a very musty smell. The breakfast buffet was unexceptional and the evening meal, although well-presented, was bland and over-priced (go to Peter's instead). There is an outside pool just adequate for length swimming. If I were visiting Horta I would willingly stay here again, although I'd try to find somewhere better first.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StCruz, Gerente at Pousada da Horta, Forte de Sta. Cruz, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear BTJohn,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time on posting your comment.

We apologise for not being able to totaly meet up with your expectations.

Hoping that on your next visit to Horta you will choose to stay with us again.

Besta Regards,

Ricardo Gomes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The best thing about this hotel was the view from my room across to Pico - definitely worth paying the extra for a sea view (I don't normally bother but this was worth it). The food was the best I encountered in Horta and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, arranging a tour of the island for me. Very close to the harbour where whale and dolphin trips depart.

Room Tip: get a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StCruz, Gerente at Pousada da Horta, Forte de Sta. Cruz, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Rebecca A,

We are very pleased to know you enjoyed the view from your room and our restaurante.

It is always a pleasure for us to help our guests get the most out of their visit here in the Azores.

Hoping to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Ricardo Gomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Pousada. The hotel is beautiful and perfectly located in the heart of Horta… walking distance to shops, cafes, and the marina. We stayed in a superior room which was very nice and had a beautiful view of Pico and the marina from the balcony. The staff was friendly and went out of their way to please. I would say it's the best hotel overall on the island. Only negative was the shower was a bit small and the Wi-Fi was only available in the lobby.

Room Tip: Get a superior room! The balcony and view of Pico and marina is well worth the extra $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StCruz, Gerente geral at Pousada da Horta, Forte de Sta. Cruz, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Cohn Family,

It is with great satisfaction that we read your comments about your stay with us. We´re glad you enjoyed your room and that our staff were able to satisfy your needs.

We hope to be able to welcome your family back in the very near future.

Best Regards,

Ricardo Gomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a superb position overlooking the famous harbour and the Pico volcano on the neighbouring island. We were able to appreciate it all the more, as we were upgraded from a standard (town view) room. The room itself was lovely with a large and well appointed bathroom and a good sized terrace.

The staff at this hotel are friendly and helpful. One receptionist in particular – Luisa Lobao – went the extra mile for us, when my husband left his glasses on a public bus the day before. She rang the bus company and persuaded a driver to go in to the depot to check his bus. The glasses were found, and Luisa then spoke to our taxi driver explaining he was to call in at the depot and still get us to the airport in time for our flight. He did!

The only negative experience during our two-day stay was a mediocre breakfast buffet, which was not replenished after 9.15 am. The restaurant seemed understaffed, though the one girl we did see remained very cheerful and friendly. We did not dine in the restaurant, as local establishments provided better value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StCruz, Gerente geral at Pousada da Horta, Forte de Sta. Cruz, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our superior rooms.

It is with great satisfaction that we read your comments about our staff as they are our best asset.

We truly regret our breakfast was not up to standard during your stay. We will be sure to look into this matter in order to avoid this in the future.


Best Regards,

Ricardo Gomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pousada da Horta, Forte de Sta. Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada da Horta, Forte de Sta. Cruz

Address: Rua Vasco da Gama, Horta, Faial Island 9900-017, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Faial Island > Horta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Horta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada da Horta, Forte de Sta. Cruz 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada da Horta is located in a 16th-century fortress, which was classified a National Monument in 1947. This Pousada offers panoramic views over Pico Island and its famous marina. The modern rooms have been finished with contemporary touches, including Wi-Fi and cable TV. Guests can relax in the spacious en suite bathrooms and the towelling robes provided. Pousada da Horta, Forte de Santa Cruz has its own restaurant, which serves a wide range of local dishes and a buffet breakfast. Guests can also take refreshments from the bar onto the terrace to admire the views. The Faial Airport is just 10 km from the Pousada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Pousada da Horta, Forte de Sta. Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Da Horta, Forte De Sta. Cruz Faial Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada da Horta, Forte de Sta. Cruz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.