We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada da Horta, Forte de Sta. Cruz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada da Horta, Forte de Sta. Cruz to your Saves list
Pousada da Horta, Forte de Sta. Cruz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Vasco da Gama, Horta, Faial Island 9900-017, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Horta
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

A great place to stay. The staff went above and beyond to make sure my stay was the absolute best it could have been. The rooms were very spacious and couldn't have been any cleaner. This was an absolute fantastic experience and if I ever return to Pousada da Horta I will definitely stay at this property again.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the marina. It's fun to see all the boats come and go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StCruz, Gerente geral at Pousada da Horta, Forte de Sta. Cruz, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Corbin G,

We truly appreciate your comments on our Pousada. It is with great effort that our team works in order to suite your needs and make make your stay with us memorable.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Ricardo Gomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    39
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
21
63
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I didn't stay here but made reservations for dinner one night after noting the unique location in old fortress. Our group sat outside near the pool enclosed within the fortress walls with a great view of neighbouring Pico. Limpets was on the menu and I was really looking forward to trying them but they turned out extremely garlicky and serving size was very small. Our other menu selections were adeuqate but still relatively pricey. Restaurant service was very slow and indifferent, compared to other restaurants in town and in Sao Miguel, Sao Jorge, Pico and Terceira. Prices were on the expensive side considering food quality and portion sizes. Overall experience: a nice place with a view to have drinks but find somewhere else to eat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_StCruz, Gerente geral at Pousada da Horta, Forte de Sta. Cruz, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your suggestions, as it helps us to better our services.
We are truly sorry to have failed in meeting your expectations. We will take the necessary steps to improve the quality of the services.
We hope to be able to welcome you again in a near future.

Best Regards,

Ricardo Gomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

An excellent hotel with friendly and efficient staff. Location is ideal and sea views stunning. Would definitely recommend to any visitor to the island. Close to the marina and local shops and restaurants

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Pousada was very centrally located with a great view from our room of Pico on Sao Jorge. The rooms was spacious and we were upgraded to a water view room at no extra cost with an amazing terrace to sit and enjoy the gorgeous weather. The staff were professional and friendly and willing in every way to accommodate our requests for information and local restaurant recommendations. Overall an excellent experience. No problem recommending this property to my clients!

Room Tip: Book the Water view room in High Season, you will love the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Nice place to stay for a few days to get adjusted to the peaceful life of the Azores. We enjoyed a lovely view of boats, volcano, swimming pool. We even saw the whale boats ( replicas of the Azorean whale boats) being towed by the spotter boat to the next town over. Room was nice and clean, nice porch to sit and read. However, there needs improvement on the food. My fish had no flavor and I was surprised by that as I was in Azorean country and thought it would be excellent. Very helpful staff we even went to a wonderful concert at the local library..

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade from a standard so you can get a good view of Pico
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

This pousada is built is a 16-th century fort and has terrific views of the harbour and Pico island. Rooms with a view have, well, that view, and it is their biggest asset (they are nicely furnished, but small). Service is inconsistent - some receptionists are very helpful, others less. The restaurant seems always full, inexplicably, as it is overpriced and very, very, VERY bad.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I have so much to say about the Pousada da Horta. First - I made a terrible mistake when booking my reservations online with this Pousada. I mistakenly booked the reservation 3 days in advance of my planned arrival. So, as is the policy of the hotel, they charged my credit card as a "no show". When I arrived (I took the ferry boat from Pico - and it was a short, easy walk from the dock to the hotel) the hotel did not have my reservation. Upon checking, we both realized I had made a mistake and they had been wondering what happened to me. This was further complicated by the fact that they had no regular rooms - only suites available. Well, the short story is, they credited my no-show against my 3 night stay - and I paid about 30 Euros a night more for a suite with a beautiful view.

The rooms, lobby, dining room and bar are all well maintained.

The staff is incredibly helpful. For example - I went hiking around the caldeira in the hills above Horta and returned with very muddy hiking shoes. Two maids cleaning rooms on my floor provided me with extra, older towels to clean my shoes. I must admit, this caused a bit of a mess in my room which was cheerfully cleaned up by them. The front desk staff provide the concierge service and will make restaurant reservations and recommendations.

About the hotel restaurant: dinner service is incredibly slow. The food is very good - but be prepared to wait. At first, I thought this was unique to the pousada. But I found restaurant service slow on the island of Faial - compared to other islands in the Azores. The buffet breakfast is better than most with a very wide selection of breakfast foods - including eggs and sausages.

Laundry service is fast and efficient.

Internet service is charged to your room and seemed a bit pricey.

There is free parking for your rental car in a lot adjacent to the hotel and the wharf.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbor. You will have incredible views of the boats, the bay and of Pico...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada da Horta, Forte de Sta. Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada da Horta, Forte de Sta. Cruz

Address: Rua Vasco da Gama, Horta, Faial Island 9900-017, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Faial Island > Horta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Horta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada da Horta, Forte de Sta. Cruz 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada da Horta is located in a 16th-century fortress, which was classified a National Monument in 1947. This Pousada offers panoramic views over Pico Island and its famous marina. The modern rooms have been finished with contemporary touches, including Wi-Fi and cable TV. Guests can relax in the spacious en suite bathrooms and the towelling robes provided. Pousada da Horta, Forte de Santa Cruz has its own restaurant, which serves a wide range of local dishes and a buffet breakfast. Guests can also take refreshments from the bar onto the terrace to admire the views. The Faial Airport is just 10 km from the Pousada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pousada da Horta, Forte de Sta. Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Da Horta, Forte De Sta. Cruz Faial Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada da Horta, Forte de Sta. Cruz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.