We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“touristic place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peter's Cafe Sport

Peter's Cafe Sport
Rua Jose Azevedo "Peter", 9, Horta, Faial Island 9900-027, Portugal
+351 (0) 292 292 327
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 25 Restaurants in Horta
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Flensburg, Germany
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“touristic place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

a very touristic place wich had nothing to do with acores and horta. Service was lousy and the fodd only average. Prices to high for the quality. I will never go there again

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    87
    37
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Great decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Went here for lunch. The decor inside is great. Every inch is covered with nautical stuff.
Lunch was also pretty good. Portions were bigger than expected. Several vegetarian choices. My friend's fish may have been undercooked in the middle, but since neither of us are big fish eaters, we weren't sure (and for some reason she didn't want to check with the waitress).
They do have menus in English, so ask for one if needed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

I ate here two times during my 3 days in Horta.

The brunch menu is extremely cheap and very good.

Have a gin and tonic!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Charactar aplenty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Even at 5pm on a rainy afternoon the bar was buzzing. We had to wait a few minutes for a table, having heard that service could be slow we took charge and got our meal ordered quickly.
A starter of melted cheese with walnuts served with fresh bread to scoop up the 'poor mans' fondue went down well and we mioved seamlessly into our steaks.

We chose the fillet of 'cow' in a creamy mushroom sauce. Well I can't say it's the finest steak I have ever eaten (by a long way) but it was perfectly acceptable. French fries were soggy but the carrots and broccoli full of flavour.

Apple pie and ice cream to follow and everything washed down with a bottle of local red wine.

The bill, 50 euros for two including a pre meal gin and tonic was okay. After all this place is a destination experience. And yes we did sail here so any food looks great after 20 days at sea!

Service was prompt and we even got a smile out of the waitress in the end!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Gin & Tonics, Great Prices, International Crowd -what's not to like”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Meet, drink (gin & tonic, of course!), eat (tuna is huge! skip the codcakes!), international crowd, reasonable prices. Service is friendly. Indoor dining is lively. Outdoor patio has views.We tried both!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peter's Cafe Sport also viewed

 
Horta, Faial Island
 

Been to Peter's Cafe Sport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peter's Cafe Sport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.