We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One off the bucket list” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HortaCetaceos

HortaCetaceos
Cais de Sta. Cruz | Marina da Horta, Horta, Faial Island 9900, Portugal
+351965251322
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Activities in Horta
Type: Boat Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whale Watching Operator, HortaCetaceos is in the Arquipelago of Açores, island of Faial, city of Horta. We aim to deliver our guests an amazing experience: watching Whales and Dolphins in wildlife. To be in harmony within the Nature, having deep and real feelings is reached when respecting the sea and its inhabitants and this the way we try to get to them.At HortaCetaceos, we simply do our best to overcome our customers'expectances so don't wait anymore, make the gap and come with us to live an unbelievable adventure at the meeting of Whales, in the Ocean !
Bishops Stortford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One off the bucket list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

If you ever visit the island of Faial in The Azores between April and September Pedro is your man if you're seeking the elusive 'whale tale' shot. Totally honest about managing expectations; genuine enthusiasm for the whales and their conservation; fantastic experience, one trip out wasn't enough for us.

Thank you so much guys and gals. Will return one day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wonderful trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I went snorkeling with dolphins and on the same trip saw a turtle and sperm whale so it was pretty amazing. Hortacetaceos are an extremely knowlegeable and friendly team and made me feel very welcome which is important when you're travelling alone. I highly recommend them to everyone.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“World's Most Enthusiastic Whale Watchers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

If you're in Horta, Faial, you have to go whale watching with Horta Cetaceos. Pedro, who runs the business, is one of the most enthusiastic and knowledgeable whale watchers I have met. His excitement is infectious, and if you were not a keen whale watcher before you go out, you will be when you come back. Going out in sturdy ribs, you're perfectly safe even in the bit Atlantic swells, and the whale and dolphin life is rich and abundant most days. They also run tours to swim with dolphins and seem to have good and fair rules about when its acceptable and when it isn't: so when the dolphins have young, they don't do swimming. I think this is laudable, as having seen many dolphin swimming tours off Zanzibar, Belize and in the Caribbean, you can really see that the dolphins don't like it a lot. Pedro reminded me of my childhood dreams to be the next Jacques Cousteau. I didn't make it, but it was great to meet someone who has followed his dream, and made such an entertaining holiday experience for so many people out of it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We initially went swimming with dolphins with Pedro and Marc and had a fantastic time. The dolphins came so close and it was an unbelievable experience. A few of the other people in the boat were a bit nervous but Pedro was really encouraging and everyone loved it! I think we all agreed it was one of the best things we have ever done on holiday!!!

As we had such a great time we decided to book a whale watching trip as well! Unfortunately on the day the weather wasn't great but the team were really upfront about the fact that we were unlikely to see whales and gave everyone the opportunity either to go on a dolphin watching trip or book another day. We went ahead and despite the rain, and we loved getting to see the dolphins again.

Would definitely recommend going out with Pedro and his crew!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horta, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Professional and personal service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Pedro and his team are fantastic. They explain everything carefully and let you know exactly what to expect so you cannot be disappointed if it is the kind of day when there are not many whales or dolphins around. If it is windy he will reschedule for another day - definitely not the kind of man who will take your money if he doesn't think you will see anything. The experience of seeing whales and swimming with dolphins is always awesome and Pedro makes it extra special.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HortaCetaceos also viewed

Horta, Faial Island
Horta, Faial Island
 

Been to HortaCetaceos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HortaCetaceos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.