We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, warm welcome by owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa das Oliveiras

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silves
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa das Oliveiras
Montes da Vala, Silves 8300-044, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Silves B&B and Inns
Riga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay, warm welcome by owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

When planning our trip across Portugal, we wanted to stay in rustic hotels to enjoy fresh air and welcoming hosts - something that is missing in big hotel chains located in city centers. We picked Casa das Oliveiras based on feedback on various sites, including this one - and the place surely lived up to expectations! Warm welcome by owners, personal tending to every our need, tidiness and quiet rural surroundings - exactly what we wished for. Fantastic Algarve coastline and beaches are very close. Thanks to Bill for helpful tips on the surroundings! Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had been touring Portugal by car, staying in hotels. For the last two days we chose to stay at Casa das Oliveiras and it was almost like coming home.- welcoming, very comfortable, relaxing, easy, in fact just what we were hoping for after reading other reviews. Everyone says Bill is a mine of information and they're right. We'd never have found the small, sandy coves or good (by Portuguese standards) restaurants without his expert advice. We plan to return in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Recently returned from a short 5 day break to Portugal. The residence is in a great rural setting amongst the orange groves with a spattering of olive trees around, and little to no noise from the main highway a short distance away as the crow flies, however we didn't spend much time at the residence as we were off exploring all day and into late evening, so it's a fantastic base to explore from. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable, morning breakfast was simple and tasty with local produce.
We were made to feel most welcome and Bill was a gem with local knowledge for eating out and places to visit. There are some fantastic beaches nearby and great restaurants in Silves, Lagoa and surroundings, which was great especially given it was late December quite a few places were open and the food was traditional Portuguese, simple and tasty and surprisingly inexpensive.
I would definitely stay again and recommend to others

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I first came here a couple of years previously and had such a nice stay I thought i would come back one day. Its still such a great place. Immaculately kept and just really relaxing and comfortable. Breakfast out by the pool is just a lovely way to start the day and the beaches along the south and west coast are stunning. Its the perfect place to visit the Algarve. Silves is a lovely town too, full of culture and history. I can't praise this place highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lancashire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had an excellent few days at Casa das Oliveiras. If you want a peaceful and very beautiful little hideaway, then this a good place to stay. This B&B is off the beaten track but the directions for getting there are very good and straightforward. You need a car to get to places, but we had no difficulty driving into Silves each day - it only takes a few minutes. The owners [a British and Angolan couple] are hospitable and attentive with an excellent knowledge of the local area - all their recommendations for restaurants and where to go were spot on. We loved our room. It was not air-conditioned but felt cool, even in the heat of early September, and the fan was efficient and silent at night. The en-suite was as spotless as the room and we were provided with chilled mineral water every night. The patio area is beautiful, with a couple of shady olive trees to keep you out of the sun if you want to be - and there are recliners and chairs for everybody. The swimming pool was spotless. Breakfast was served outside our room each morning - cereals, fruit juice, fresh bread, cheese and preserves and excellent tea and coffee. Silves is a stunning Moorish town built on a hill - one of the most remarkable places to visit in the Algarve with superb inexpensive restaurants. We are crazy about Portugal and this was a gem of a find.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Casa das Oliveiras for a few days in July 2012. On the countryside, - but near beaches, good restaurants and typical villages of Algarve , you've got it all! Bill and Isa, the couple running the place, they're just so nice! Bill's knowledge about the area, his helpfulness,- Isa's smile, her kindness, and her coffe in the morning...,a visit here, it's worth it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed three nights at this guest house, on a trip to Portugal from New Zealand, and were warmly welcomed by Bill and Isa. We had a large room with our own little terrace and a huge shower in the bathroom, which was a welcome change. The hosts are really wonderful and very knowledgeable about places to visit, restaurants etc. Breakfast was included in the price and there was always plenty to eat. The added bonus of a little guest kitchen was great, as it is a 6km drive to Silves village, and as the weather was not great, we did cook two of the nights, which was really nice and rare thing to be able to do on a three month trip to Europe. Lovely people, quiet and comfortable surroundings and a nice part of the Algarve from which to do day trips. We would definitely stay again if we were ever in the Algarve. Sadly we couldn't make use of the pool as the weather was cold and wet almost the whole time we were there, but it would be a great bonus in the summer.

Room Tip: We had room 3 which is apparently one of the larger rooms, with its own terrace. Very comfortable a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa das Oliveiras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa das Oliveiras

Address: Montes da Vala, Silves 8300-044, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Silves
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Silves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa das Oliveiras is a family-run guesthouse, licensed by the Municipality of Silves, located in a quiet rural setting, but only 8 km from the coast. It has 5 en suite bedrooms, a spacious lounge/breakfast room and a small kitchen corner. In addition there is a large terrace and pool, good parking, and good wheelchair access. Our aim is to provide comfortable accommodation at reasonable prices, and excellent, friendly service. Rates include breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Das Oliveiras Silves, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa das Oliveiras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa das Oliveiras to your Saves list