We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa das Oliveiras

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silves
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa das Oliveiras
Save Saved
You added Casa das Oliveiras to your Saves list
Montes da Vala, Silves 8300-044, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Silves B&B and Inns
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Still the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I first came here a couple of years previously and had such a nice stay I thought i would come back one day. Its still such a great place. Immaculately kept and just really relaxing and comfortable. Breakfast out by the pool is just a lovely way to start the day and the beaches along the south and west coast are stunning. Its the perfect place to visit the Algarve. Silves is a lovely town too, full of culture and history. I can't praise this place highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Lancashire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had an excellent few days at Casa das Oliveiras. If you want a peaceful and very beautiful little hideaway, then this a good place to stay. This B&B is off the beaten track but the directions for getting there are very good and straightforward. You need a car to get to places, but we had no difficulty driving into Silves each day - it only takes a few minutes. The owners [a British and Angolan couple] are hospitable and attentive with an excellent knowledge of the local area - all their recommendations for restaurants and where to go were spot on. We loved our room. It was not air-conditioned but felt cool, even in the heat of early September, and the fan was efficient and silent at night. The en-suite was as spotless as the room and we were provided with chilled mineral water every night. The patio area is beautiful, with a couple of shady olive trees to keep you out of the sun if you want to be - and there are recliners and chairs for everybody. The swimming pool was spotless. Breakfast was served outside our room each morning - cereals, fruit juice, fresh bread, cheese and preserves and excellent tea and coffee. Silves is a stunning Moorish town built on a hill - one of the most remarkable places to visit in the Algarve with superb inexpensive restaurants. We are crazy about Portugal and this was a gem of a find.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Casa das Oliveiras for a few days in July 2012. On the countryside, - but near beaches, good restaurants and typical villages of Algarve , you've got it all! Bill and Isa, the couple running the place, they're just so nice! Bill's knowledge about the area, his helpfulness,- Isa's smile, her kindness, and her coffe in the morning...,a visit here, it's worth it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed three nights at this guest house, on a trip to Portugal from New Zealand, and were warmly welcomed by Bill and Isa. We had a large room with our own little terrace and a huge shower in the bathroom, which was a welcome change. The hosts are really wonderful and very knowledgeable about places to visit, restaurants etc. Breakfast was included in the price and there was always plenty to eat. The added bonus of a little guest kitchen was great, as it is a 6km drive to Silves village, and as the weather was not great, we did cook two of the nights, which was really nice and rare thing to be able to do on a three month trip to Europe. Lovely people, quiet and comfortable surroundings and a nice part of the Algarve from which to do day trips. We would definitely stay again if we were ever in the Algarve. Sadly we couldn't make use of the pool as the weather was cold and wet almost the whole time we were there, but it would be a great bonus in the summer.

Room Tip: We had room 3 which is apparently one of the larger rooms, with its own terrace. Very comfortable a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We only stayed one night so opted for the small room, which offered good value. The hosts were very friendly, and their local knowledge greatly appreciated. The small kitchen was handy to make tea in the evening, and a lovely breakfast was served in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We have recently spent 2 nights at Casa das Oliviras and found it to be a lovely place to stay. The situation is delightful amid orange groves and the terrace and pool are most welcome on hot sunny afternoons. We also liked being able to use the small kitchen to make snacks and drinks.
Bill and his wife are so friendly and helpful and have lots of local knowledge. We had 2 great meals out in Silves at restaurants recommended by Bill which didn't break the bank.
Breakfast was very good with lovely bread rolls, good coffee, fruit and cheese and was served on the terrace where we could hear and see the local birdlife.
We slept well and although there was no air con in our room it didn't matter because we could leave our window open but with the flyscreen closed and we were cool and not bothered by insects.
I was surprised to both hear and see the autoroute from the terrace but it is a good distance away and doesn't really detract from the peaceful ambience of des Oliveiras. We would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: The larger double rooms are good value and some open on to the terrace. The smaller, cheaper double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

This B&B was lovely - our hosts were very welcoming, the house was nice and our room was great. Location is good too (if you have a car) - easy to get into town for dinner and a bit of sightseeing. Feels a bit off the beaten track which is nice too!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa das Oliveiras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa das Oliveiras

Address: Montes da Vala, Silves 8300-044, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Silves
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Silves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa das Oliveiras is a family-run guesthouse, licensed by the Municipality of Silves, located in a quiet rural setting, but only 8 km from the coast. It has 5 en suite bedrooms, a spacious lounge/breakfast room and a small kitchen corner. In addition there is a large terrace and pool, good parking, and good wheelchair access. Our aim is to provide comfortable accommodation at reasonable prices, and excellent, friendly service. Rates include breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Das Oliveiras Silves, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa das Oliveiras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.