We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple menu served very well. Excellent value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Churrasqueira Valdemar

Churrasqueira Valdemar
Mercado Municipal, 11, Silves 8300, Portugal
282443138
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 45 Restaurants in Silves
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Grill, Portuguese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Ascot, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Simple menu served very well. Excellent value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

restaurant is located adjacent to the Market in Silves. menus choice was fish of the day or chicken piri piri cooked on the barbecue. Both were very good with some nice touches in presentation. Salad served whilst waiting for meal to be cooked. Complimentary plate of roasted almonds and figs after the meal (no sweets served). Bill was 20 euros for 2 Inc caraf of wine and two coffees. Simple formula done well.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    20
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best Piri Piri Chicken you will ever eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We visited here a year ago and got one of the barbecued Piri Piri chickens to take away... after our boat ride back to Portimao we bought bread to eat with the chicken and have been dreaming about it since! Quite simply, this is the best chicken you will ever eat! A year later, we have had another trip up the Arade to Silves, purely for this chicken - again, we bought it to take away...but 2 this time! I've just eaten some of it and it is so tasty I don't want to stop! Tasty and with a kick and cooked for you on an open barbecue. Take a trip to Silves and buy this chicken - you won't regret it... now pass me another piece!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We've chosen this resto simply because the excellent review done only 4 days ago. The chicken ist just fabulous! After the meal we were surprised by a complementary plate of slices of orange, almonds, figs and fig cake. Unexpected and very good! The service can be somewhat slow (only 1 person) however extremely friendly and serviable.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“simply the best chicken and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

have been going for years,no menu needed ,chicken,chips and salad only served,no starters or sweets. Everything of the finest quality,the best you will get

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“My best Algarve experience by a long, long way...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Chicken, chips and salad at the Valdemar has been a fantastic experience during two trips to the Algarve and, for me, represents everything eating out should be.

No pretentious rubbish, a genuinely warm welcome from at least two generations of the family that run the place, a good table outside, a cold Sagres to start and settle in for a couple of hours to watch the people drift by.

Piri-piri smoke whisps from the huge barbecue out front, combining with the occasional scent of citrus that comes on the breeze from the plantations up the valley.

Always busy but always room. Fresh food, sturdy wine and prices that make it even more appealing.

When I am old and grey, I hope I can still make it here.

Just perfect.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Churrasqueira Valdemar also viewed

Silves, Faro District
Silves, Faro District
 
Silves, Faro District
Silves, Faro District
 

Been to Churrasqueira Valdemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Churrasqueira Valdemar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.