We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel on the tip of Europe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Memmo Baleeira Hotel to your Saves list
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitio da Baleeira, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
FOLKESTONE
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel on the tip of Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a short break at the Memmo Baleeira of which we throughly enjoyed. From the moment we arrived in the clean and modern reception area, and was greeted with a very friendly welcome to the day we left we experienced first class, friendly, and helpful service from all the staff members.
We was lucky to have a sea view front suite with a comfortable bedroom, large lounge with a handy kitchenette, and a fantastic view of the fishing harbour below.
If I was to be very picky for a large room I feel the bathroom could have been designed better. Being a bit larger with a separate shower.
The rooms were cleaned very efficiently every day and the whole hotel came across as bright and exceptionally clean.
The breakfast was a reasonable choice of both hot and cold choices and no day did we leave hungry.
While we was here the pool was quite quiet , however I could see it being busy at the height of the season.
Sagres it self is a nice small town with some lovely cliff top walks within a few minutes of the hotel, and a number of very good restaurants close by.
We hope to be returning here in the not to distant future.

Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    348
    81
    25
    6
See reviews for
196
568
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Versailles, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The place was nice but we asked for twins and had to change rooms upon arrival ( good there were not too many people) the breakfast is not amazing and a bit cheap for a 4. Stars especially with all the local products they could use. The spa is not great and to have to borrow towels at the reception and sign for it feels really awkward....

Room Tip: Twin bed are tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Memmo is an okay place to stay. Inviting reception and location, but no real feeling of luxury when you experience the rooms and grounds. The pool is a bit beaten down and the general standard is okay. Breakfast is just plain, but did not try the restaurant as we wanted to try other places in Sagres. 12€ for bike hire is a bit over the top. Beds were really comfy.

Also please note that parking your car under the trees outside the reception will leave it covered in sap. We moved our car after noticing this.

Recon the best way to stay in Sagres is to rent an apartment.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from Sagres, on the South West tip of Portugal, overlooking the stunning and wild scenery of the Atlantic coast. The Memmo Baleeira Hotel, which stands on the headland above the working harbour, has beautiful, simple and very comfortable rooms. Our lovely room on the top floor had a very large balcony to watch the spectacular sunrises and sunsets over the sea.
The food and wine at the hotel were wonderful, as were all the staff who gave us such a great stay. Our Saga rep and guide, Luis, was amazing and nothing was too much trouble for him. We especially enjoyed our gala night, quiz and local nature walk with Luis, looking at the fauna and flora near the hotel.
The excursions were well organised and interesting, exploring a hidden part of Portugal, which was mostly very quiet and uncrowded during our stay.
If you are looking for a thoroughly relaxing and stress free break this is the place and hotel to choose. We would return here anytime and fully recommend this wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms in the older, sea facing part of the hotel have very large balconies and amazing vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am not a huge fan of "high-end" "trendy" hotels; I tend to prefer small owner-run mid-range lodging. But this place was an exception. Instead of the snooty attitude you receive in so many upper-crust establishments, the service here was so cordial and friendly. We arrived at the hotel after a full day of mountain biking, at the end of a 5-day trip. We were tired, sweaty, and had dirty MTB bikes in tow. The staff greeted us very nicely, helped us store our bikes and gear, and were extremely accommodating. The rooms were sparkling clean and well appointed; some reviews say "sparse" but I liked the simple clean interiors. The exterior pool area was lovely, and although the interior pool was small, it was very nice. The rooms have wonderful little balconies with seating and great views to the harbor. Excellent WiFi and English speaking channel on TV - which let me finally catch up on the world news...hmm, maybe that wasn't so good...kind of depressing. I cannot fault this hotel at all, and, as I previously stated, it was not the type of hotel I normally would choose. Based on my walking tour around town, I felt it was the nicest lodging in the area.

Room Tip: I think I had a standard room - and it was great. Sister had a slightly larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My companion and I spent two nights here recently, in off-season.

This is a modern, well-run, elegant hotel with stupendous views of the seacoast. Comfortable beds, extremely clean, a lovely breakfast of Portuguese and general "European" food. The pool is small but nice, the sauna an added bonus, and although Sagres itself is not full of historical sites, touring the enormous, local fort took us most of a morning. We drove down the coast for a lovely dinner in Lagos one night, and ate in the hotel dining room the first night we were there.

Let's put it this way. We were only supposed to stay one night and move on eastward. We liked it so much we stayed an extra night and just....relaxed.

Room Tip: Obviously, make sure you have one with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is just ordinary, it looks better in the pictures but nothing to complain about. The indoor pool is very small , room is sparse , toilet and bath is not very modern. Maybe not the best place to stay when it's busy season

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Memmo Baleeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Address: Sitio da Baleeira, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sagres
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Memmo Baleeira Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yoga surf retreats Europe Portugal. Train Mind&Body in a beautifull 4* seaview hotel with Spa. Daily Yoga and meditation Classes, Surf and nature walks in the beautifull natural park of SW algarve in Portugal. A surf yoga holiday Europe. The perfect way to re-establish a deep connection with your innerself, Nature and to recharge and reconnect your life with the big LIFE..Join one of our Surf Yoga holidays and retreats in Europe Portugal and train mind and body for a more happy and healthy LIFE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Orbitz, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Memmo Baleeira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memmo Baleeira
Memmo Baleeira Sagres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memmo Baleeira Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.