We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect! For the rate, you get sunrises right from your bed!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Memmo Baleeira Hotel to your Saves list
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitio da Baleeira, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Just perfect! For the rate, you get sunrises right from your bed!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

What could I say? The place was incredible. Right from the check in, we loved it. All is brand new, really clean and spotless white.

The only downside is that the room is.not very big, and the bed is particularly small (probably the smallest I ever got in a hotel). But apartamento from that, the room and its balcony are beatufil, really enhanced by the view. You see the ocean, cliffs, the harbor and, more important, incredible sunrises.

Breakfast also very very good an don't miss the views from the bar!

As a recommendation, get a room with full ocean view.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    339
    76
    25
    6
See reviews for
189
547
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto
Top Contributor
365 reviews 365 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stay here a couple of times and always enjoy. It is absolutely mandatory to have a room facing the sea otherwise the hotel is just another normal hotel . The lobby is nice and minimalist as the rest of the Hotel and rooms .Great views from the Garden and swimming pool. Only 3 minutes to the beach with private entrance. The new restaurant Fornaria is very well decorated and fantastic views to the harbour. We had dinner there and really enjoy the wines and pizza and stunning views.

Room Tip: Room with sea views are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Modern, recently renovated and expanded hotel above the beach and marina. Very competent friendly staff, and great location. With a small child, we splurged and got a suite, which was still very reasonably priced. The suite had a separate bedroom and a very serviceable bathroom. Also the restaurant had great food, when we were too lazy to venture out the front door.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A nice hotel in the historic village of Sagres. Is a typical "beach hotel", with a pleasant design and interior athmosphere. The room is not to large, but enough for sleep, once problaby you will spend the day on the beach. The swimming pool has an amazing view over the ocean and the sunrise. The staff is simply amazing! I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea view. You will get a terrific view over the ocean and the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our second visit to Memmo Baleeira.
When we saw Saga were offering it as a package we jumped at the deal. Both the hotel staff and Luis Neto, the Saga rep, were excellent, friendly and helpful at all times.
What a lovely swim in the indoor pool......I had it all to myself.........blissful.
We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a suite with sea views for two nights (3rd floor). With a car, the hotel is close to Sagres Fortress and Cape St Vincent with some more amazing sea views and cliffs. We would recommend a car as the the hotel is about 30-45 min drive to the nearest cities (Lagos / Portimao).

Positives:
* Welcome at reception was very friendly. Room service staff equally helpful.
* Great views (we would not have stayed here if the room had a view of the parking or the basement).
* The breakfast buffet was excellent. The breakfast room had sea views. Great breads & cakes. The attention to detail made the difference here; mushrooms are fresh and not from a tin. Excellent sausages with real meat in it ;)
* The new restaurant menu and new pizza oven produced some great food (fresh pizza!) and pasta's. We regret not ordering another pizza or two ;)
* Internet was good and not charged for separately.

Negatives:
* Hotel appeared to be running on a skeleton crew. As such it was not possible on check out to get help with luggage (no concierge services). We visited the swimming pool & spa but there was nobody to switch on the sauna or hydro facilities or for us to ask about the spa treatments.
* It was not possible to get an iron/iron board (hotel only has a service that is paid for separately)
* The building is showing wear & tear and could use another coat of white paint. The grounds could also use a little bit of love.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015 via mobile

We stayed on the second day after the reopening of the hotel and there were none of the normal problems associated with re-openings. We had not booked as we were touring Portugal.The room was comfortable with a magnificent view as was the view from the breakfast area. Talking about the breakfast it was unbeatable and guests are spoilt for choice, excellently prepared and presented

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Memmo Baleeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Address: Sitio da Baleeira, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#3 Family Hotel in Sagres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Memmo Baleeira Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yoga surf retreats Europe Portugal. Train Mind&Body in a beautifull 4* seaview hotel with Spa. Daily Yoga and meditation Classes, Surf and nature walks in the beautifull natural park of SW algarve in Portugal. A surf yoga holiday Europe. The perfect way to re-establish a deep connection with your innerself, Nature and to recharge and reconnect your life with the big LIFE..Join one of our Surf Yoga holidays and retreats in Europe Portugal and train mind and body for a more happy and healthy LIFE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Memmo Baleeira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memmo Baleeira
Memmo Baleeira Sagres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memmo Baleeira Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.