We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel at the end of the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Memmo Baleeira Hotel to your Saves list
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitio da Baleeira, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hotel at the end of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Lovely view of the Atlantic from our room. Beautiful hotel with very friendly helpful staff. Hotel was a little noisy - no carpet in the hallways so you could hear everything - but fortunately it wasn't really an issue, but if you are sensitive to noise it is something to consider.

Sagres was an enchanting little town with breathtaking vistas and wonderful restaurants - We especially enjoyed O Carlos - just down the street from the hotel. Yummy food and lovely staff.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Spring for a room with a view of the Atlantic, worth a few extra euros for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    331
    74
    25
    5
See reviews for
184
540
35
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Good: -
Beautiful, modern clean hotel. The Baleeira has been modernised to a very high standard and has a very contemporary design.
The breakfast room was first class, with tables outside overlooking the harbour. There aren't many hotels we've been to that offer scenery like this.
The food and drink at breakfast was excellent too.
Wifi worked in public areas and the lounge was very comfortable and there is a bar there too.

BAD: -
The directions and the room signs are very poor as other reviewers have stated. You find yourself searching a plan of the building for a toilet when its actually right next to you.
Took us ages to find the Gym.
The prices for the drinks were a total "rip off". We had a few beers there and were charged 3.20 per HALF pint of LOCAL beer. This is terrible and food prices were also far too dear.
If hotel owners actually realised that if your prices are reasonable, guests will actually eat and drink there if not (like the Baleeira) we will simply go and eat/drink in of the many excellent bars restaurants in town.
This is total false economy, wake up Hotel owners...
Charge half what you are charging, and sell 4 times as much=higher profit BUSINESS SENSE!!!
The prices for food and drink were by far the dearest we paid (or didnt) in all the many hotels we stayed in on our tour.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Ideal location to main street (we liked Mum's and Pau de Pita), Forteleza de Sagres, Cabo de Sao Vicente and beaches. Staff were friendly and responsive. Stayed in room 446 with views of the marina. The room was good sized, quiet and clean (not spotless). The TV was small but we didn't spent that much time in the room. The common lounge area/cafe on the main floor was comfortable and not too crowded (also the only place to access wifi). We spent two afternoons at the pool--very simple but sufficient. The views were spectacular. The pool was freezing but refreshing. Lots to do--walk around, rent bikes, etc.

Room Tip: Upper floors are better, facing the marina or the ocean. Would not want to overlook the pool/lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Been staying here for at least 20 yrs but this is the first time since its major refurbishment and the transformation is amazing! It's a trendy comfortable hotel but with really friendly helpful staff

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Beautiful hotel;
Suits are amazingly big and comfy; I had a shower , bathtub, bide and a big sink; Also 4 wardrobes; big cozy bed; terrace; chairs at the terrace; and amazing sunlight and views from each corner of the suit;
A lovely surprise was the maid service - once you tell them you do not like sheets stacked in your bed, they give you the comfort you prefer every next day they clean, without having to repeat;
Supermarket is 4 minutes walk from the parking of the hotel;
Bikes available - consider the wind first, before hiring;
Restaurants - a lot withing 2-10 minutes walk from the hotel;
Beach 5 minutes walk down from the hotel on a small beautiful path;
Choice at breakfast - satisfying;
Even though we were a group, and we had cooked and prepaid dinners, and we were not ordering anything, all waiters kept a good eye on us; And were providing us any time, we asked for additional bread or lemon, within a second; I do not this is the result of good mannered people in Sagres, or great management, or just because most of the time the owner was present and keeping in hand with the situation, but the result is amazing; A worthwhile service and a worthwhile experience;

Room Tip: get a suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I cannot say enough for the Pure Flow Motions Retreat. It was my first holiday of this kind and definitely rates as the best and most relaxing (yet invigorating) holiday I have ever had.

After trying but failing to convince my other half to come on holiday with me at the start of the year, I decided to go on my holiday of choice. I took the time to trawl through options online and the combination of Yoga, Surfing and Hiking was exactly what I was looking for. This trip has a great balance of all three activities and Marta, Michael and Nicolau's combined knowledge, talent and patience made for a relaxed, informative and thoroughly enjoyable week.

The hotel was fantastic and totally exceeded expectations (I walked back out of my suite to confirm with hotel staff that 'all of this space' was just for me!!)...we were incredibly lucky with the weather and the Spring flowers meant that Sagres holds and even more special place in my memory.

I will be back...that is both a promise to Pure Flow Motions and myself!

Room Tip: It's worth splashing out the extra for your own room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Frome
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was a beautiful new hotel in the fishing village of Sagres. The building itself was of modern design and spacious and well kept bedrooms but it lacked that little extra. Service was slow and not that friendly, the pool bar was particularly poor, not opening until 12.00 despite saying it was due to open at 11.00.

They had a strange system with the pool towels that you had to sign for them at the start of your stay and keep them until you left, if you wanted the replaced it would be a cost of 2.50 euros. The signage in the hotel was poor and often doors were locked so you had to go all round the building to get to the rooms or pool. The little extras were missing, replacement shampoo in the bathrooms, water available at the pool etc etc

The restaurant food was average at best, the menu didn't change so don't eat there too often. We had booked an early breakfast on our last day - the earliest we could get was 7.45 a.m. the restaurant opened at 8.00 - when we went down at 7.45 we were refused access as the staff stated they had not been told.

There were a lot of young children at the end - they had a deal that children under 11 stayed free, so beware if you are looking for a peaceful time away.

We enjoyed our few days there but it could have been so much better.

Room Tip: Get a sea facing room, the others overlook a dirt road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Memmo Baleeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Address: Sitio da Baleeira, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sagres
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Memmo Baleeira Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yoga surf retreats Europe Portugal. Train Mind&Body in a beautifull 4* seaview hotel with Spa. Daily Yoga and meditation Classes, Surf and nature walks in the beautifull natural park of SW algarve in Portugal. A surf yoga holiday Europe. The perfect way to re-establish a deep connection with your innerself, Nature and to recharge and reconnect your life with the big LIFE..Join one of our Surf Yoga holidays and retreats in Europe Portugal and train mind and body for a more happy and healthy LIFE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Memmo Baleeira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memmo Baleeira
Memmo Baleeira Sagres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memmo Baleeira Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.