We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 enjoyable nights at Memmo in June” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Save Saved
You added Memmo Baleeira Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitio da Baleeira, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Sagres
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“3 enjoyable nights at Memmo in June”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Ideal location to main street (we liked Mum's and Pau de Pita), Forteleza de Sagres, Cabo de Sao Vicente and beaches. Staff were friendly and responsive. Stayed in room 446 with views of the marina. The room was good sized, quiet and clean (not spotless). The TV was small but we didn't spent that much time in the room. The common lounge area/cafe on the main floor was comfortable and not too crowded (also the only place to access wifi). We spent two afternoons at the pool--very simple but sufficient. The views were spectacular. The pool was freezing but refreshing. Lots to do--walk around, rent bikes, etc.

Room Tip: Upper floors are better, facing the marina or the ocean. Would not want to overlook the pool/lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    425
    298
    58
    22
    4
See reviews for
162
480
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Been staying here for at least 20 yrs but this is the first time since its major refurbishment and the transformation is amazing! It's a trendy comfortable hotel but with really friendly helpful staff

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Beautiful hotel;
Suits are amazingly big and comfy; I had a shower , bathtub, bide and a big sink; Also 4 wardrobes; big cozy bed; terrace; chairs at the terrace; and amazing sunlight and views from each corner of the suit;
A lovely surprise was the maid service - once you tell them you do not like sheets stacked in your bed, they give you the comfort you prefer every next day they clean, without having to repeat;
Supermarket is 4 minutes walk from the parking of the hotel;
Bikes available - consider the wind first, before hiring;
Restaurants - a lot withing 2-10 minutes walk from the hotel;
Beach 5 minutes walk down from the hotel on a small beautiful path;
Choice at breakfast - satisfying;
Even though we were a group, and we had cooked and prepaid dinners, and we were not ordering anything, all waiters kept a good eye on us; And were providing us any time, we asked for additional bread or lemon, within a second; I do not this is the result of good mannered people in Sagres, or great management, or just because most of the time the owner was present and keeping in hand with the situation, but the result is amazing; A worthwhile service and a worthwhile experience;

Room Tip: get a suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I cannot say enough for the Pure Flow Motions Retreat. It was my first holiday of this kind and definitely rates as the best and most relaxing (yet invigorating) holiday I have ever had.

After trying but failing to convince my other half to come on holiday with me at the start of the year, I decided to go on my holiday of choice. I took the time to trawl through options online and the combination of Yoga, Surfing and Hiking was exactly what I was looking for. This trip has a great balance of all three activities and Marta, Michael and Nicolau's combined knowledge, talent and patience made for a relaxed, informative and thoroughly enjoyable week.

The hotel was fantastic and totally exceeded expectations (I walked back out of my suite to confirm with hotel staff that 'all of this space' was just for me!!)...we were incredibly lucky with the weather and the Spring flowers meant that Sagres holds and even more special place in my memory.

I will be back...that is both a promise to Pure Flow Motions and myself!

Room Tip: It's worth splashing out the extra for your own room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Frome
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was a beautiful new hotel in the fishing village of Sagres. The building itself was of modern design and spacious and well kept bedrooms but it lacked that little extra. Service was slow and not that friendly, the pool bar was particularly poor, not opening until 12.00 despite saying it was due to open at 11.00.

They had a strange system with the pool towels that you had to sign for them at the start of your stay and keep them until you left, if you wanted the replaced it would be a cost of 2.50 euros. The signage in the hotel was poor and often doors were locked so you had to go all round the building to get to the rooms or pool. The little extras were missing, replacement shampoo in the bathrooms, water available at the pool etc etc

The restaurant food was average at best, the menu didn't change so don't eat there too often. We had booked an early breakfast on our last day - the earliest we could get was 7.45 a.m. the restaurant opened at 8.00 - when we went down at 7.45 we were refused access as the staff stated they had not been told.

There were a lot of young children at the end - they had a deal that children under 11 stayed free, so beware if you are looking for a peaceful time away.

We enjoyed our few days there but it could have been so much better.

Room Tip: Get a sea facing room, the others overlook a dirt road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excellent hotel. Staff very friendly, beautiful rooms such as breakfast.
The location is very good, Sagres has plenty to see, very good beaches of the Algarve and the best place to surf!
In the area there are excellent restaurants, the beaches are all nearby.
It is worthwhile even if it's at least a weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just back from a week here the design of the hotel is lovely very modern rooms beds and linen great, food good breakfasts good the issue for me was service a lot of staff very young and appear inexperienced for 2 days we tried to book spa treatments sign in spa saying therapist with clients go to reception went to reception to be told they did not know therapist schedule so couldn't help this went on for 2 days eventually we gave up weather was not good when we were there incredibly windy and cold pool area v dirty ashtrays blowing over and cigarette butts food etc left lying despite the pool bar being staffed they made no attempt to clear plates or tidy up by end of our stay area was filthy. All in all rather disappointing .

Room Tip: Sea view rooms would be better I imagine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Memmo Baleeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Address: Sitio da Baleeira, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#3 Family Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Memmo Baleeira Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yoga surf retreats Europe Portugal. Train Mind&Body in a beautifull 4* seaview hotel with Spa. Daily Yoga and meditation Classes, Surf and nature walks in the beautifull natural park of SW algarve in Portugal. A surf yoga holiday Europe. The perfect way to re-establish a deep connection with your innerself, Nature and to recharge and reconnect your life with the big LIFE..Join one of our Surf Yoga holidays and retreats in Europe Portugal and train mind and body for a more happy and healthy LIFE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Memmo Baleeira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memmo Baleeira
Memmo Baleeira Sagres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memmo Baleeira Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.