We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and lovely spot in sagres!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Save Saved
You added Memmo Baleeira Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitio da Baleeira, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Sagres
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great stay and lovely spot in sagres!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

This is an incredible value hotel with stunning views and a very relaxed atmosphere. We will certainly return on our next visit. The rooms on the first floor are great and room 303 was definitely a good one. Fab breakfasts

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    427
    298
    58
    22
    4
See reviews for
162
481
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Exceeded expectations... Lovely accommodation, amazing people, fantastic activities and a great balance between rest and action. Surf lessons were great even for a beginner, vegan food provided specially on request, yoga and meditation was extremely beneficial for mind and body, and the walks were interesting and informative.

What made it special were Michael, Nicholau and Marta. Three lovely people who truly care and made the whole experience extra enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

I don't know where to start - location? - lovely!
Instructors - sweethearts!
Food - tasty!
With yoga retreats you never know what to expect, because you do it for yourself and you never know how others will assist you in doing so...
In general, there are 3 lovely people, who decided to create this healthy lifestyle and give others opportunity to touch and experience it!
These 3 are such darlings. One yoga instructor - amazingly calm and content with everything in the world. You start and finish your day with his positive and healthy guiding. Content Michael.
Then comes amazing Marta - she is so friendly and caring , feels great to have her around. She goes so far in caring for the group that one can feel like her life loving attitude.
Then Nicolau. He is the hiking instructor. Any time he takes the time to explain you all about the retreat in such a detail, that you get the feeling of being home here. He always makes sure all feel confident about the hiking.
There is also a healthy cooking lady, her food is so delicious, even for a non-vegetarian. Food which is celebration for the senses.
Location of the retreat - amazing - beautiful ocean cost, amazingly clean hotel, with any facilities a person can imagine.
I am loving every minute at this place, mostly because if the energy it has. And because people totally complete it. Amazing retreat.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

On a day trip to Sagres, after the fishing harbour, I was so taken with the look of this hotel, we went for coffee and a good look round. As everyone says, the position is brill, and a very unusual and minimalistic hotel, with good facilities (eg pool etc). Saw each of the different standard of rooms, and was quite impressed. The standards are smallish, with tiny balconies; the suite is better proportioned with full self-catering facilities. I think I could enjoy a few days here but, be aware, this end of the Western Algarve is very quiet; not much to do, and certainly a car is a must.

Room Tip: You MUST have a sea-view!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights in June with our 3 month old baby. The hotel is located at a great location in Sagres. We stayed in the sea view suite. Rooms are well equipped with stunning views from the balcony. Great beds, but unfortunately no internet in the rooms and poor WiFi reception at the bar.
The hotel has both an indoor and outdoor pool. The outdoor pool is good, but actually pretty small for the size of the hotel and at some moments it wash hard to find a sunbed.
Breakfast is great, although the breakfast space is actually pretty small when the hotel is full. Quality and choices on the breakfast buffet are great, one little detail would be that the knifes used at the breakfast are very blunt. We didn't have dinner at the hotel, since there are many excellent restaurants within walking distance. Staff is ok but not particular personal. Bar seems to open in the afternoon, which is pretty weird if you would like to enjoy an espresso in the morning and enjoy the views.
If you stay in Sagres, definitely an hotel we would recommend.

Room Tip: Go for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights before going to Tavira for the remaining 3 days of the holiday. The hotel was in a great location with stunning views from most parts of the hotel. It was a bit larger than hotels we'd normally stay at but it didn’t seem impersonal. We stayed in a standard sea view room which had a partial sea view (mainly of the harbour) and small balcony on which to sit out on. It was a good size room with an extremely comfortable bed so we slept really well. The only slight niggle with the room was that there was a lack of hangers in the wardrobe, but this is a fairly minor point.

One of the highlights of our stay was the breakfast which included a huge selection of wonderful fresh fruit, breads, pastries, hot food etc. It was well-organised and re-stocked so we didn't see anything running out, despite a fair number of guests being there at the same time. We ate lunch in the coffee shop on the day we arrived, which was ok but quite expensive for what it was. Every other day we picked something up in Sagres town.

We probably didn't make full use out of all the facilities such as the pool area, as we prefer to go the beach, but the facilities are there if you want them (spa, small gym and restaurant). There was ample free parking.

We loved Sagres - quite a laid back place with a number of great beaches within walking distances. We were really lucky with the weather - it was beautiful every day without a cloud in the sky. The only downside was the sea was freezing!

There were a number of restaurants and bars just a short walk from the hotel. Of our week long holiday we had the best evening meals in Sagres (see reviews).

We loved our stay in Sagres and would definitely come back to this hotel if we decided to visit the area again. Would be happy to stay for longer than a few days.

Room Tip: Chose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Fabulous sea view room, though small and made smaller as we had a travel cot in ours! Very modern and simplistic decor. Sunrise beautiful, sundowners on balcony amazing. Great location with plenty of restaurants and cafes close by. The beaches are absolutely fabulous. We explored at least eight within 30 minutes drive, a couple walkable. Beliche and Castelejo our favourites. Great place for kids, though pool is cold outside so wetsuits might help!! Kids playroom is a bonus, as is the indoor pool which is much warmer than outside. Breakfast buffet plentiful though simple and repetitive. Biggest negative is the senior staff. Bar staff and restaurant staff lovely and willing, but most of the reception staff slightly uninterested except on check in and advising you of all the resort rules and regulations. We complained about the fire alarm going off in error two nights running and had to really push to get a response, which when it came was an acceptable discount gesture.
Would definitely go back, love the beaches.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth it if you plan to spend much time in your room or on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Memmo Baleeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Address: Sitio da Baleeira, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#3 Family Hotel in Sagres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Memmo Baleeira Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yoga surf retreats Europe Portugal. Train Mind&Body in a beautifull 4* seaview hotel with Spa. Daily Yoga and meditation Classes, Surf and nature walks in the beautifull natural park of SW algarve in Portugal. A surf yoga holiday Europe. The perfect way to re-establish a deep connection with your innerself, Nature and to recharge and reconnect your life with the big LIFE..Join one of our Surf Yoga holidays and retreats in Europe Portugal and train mind and body for a more happy and healthy LIFE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Memmo Baleeira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memmo Baleeira
Memmo Baleeira Sagres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memmo Baleeira Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.