We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope to return...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Memmo Baleeira Hotel to your Saves list
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitio da Baleeira, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hope to return...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

It's been a few years since I stayed here (May 2009), but to this day when I'm feeling rundown at work I click on a saved photo taken from our balcony and am reminded of what a perfect trip this was (despite winds being so bad I thought my clothes would blow off). Although the design of the hotel is very sleek and modern, there is a warmth to it. It doesn't feel like you're vacationing at a Swiss clinic. The lounge was a great place to chill out either before or after dinner. Staff was really nice and helped us plan a day trip where we could get away from the wind for a couple hours. Overall, there's a really nice vibe to this hotel and Sagres in general.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    358
    84
    27
    6
See reviews for
205
582
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I was in Tavira at relatives and fancied a trip out to the west of the algarve. Fancied trying surfing but not the best time of year in February. Saw a surf school linked to this hotel.Jumped in the hire car and headed towards Sagres. Booked it on the way at only 49 Euro's a night for 4 nights. It was just perfect for me. The hotel, Sagres, cliffs, quiet, thoughtful touches, amazing views, chilled, polite, great service, surfing. I was welling up it was just so nice! Definitely going back with the kids and maybe again just myself or with friends. My friends now are planning to get married there after my pics and report. Fab. See you soon. x

Room Tip: I was in 301 which was a free upgrade to a standard sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The owner/managers, Michael, Marta and Nicolau are entirely committed to you getting so much out of the week. Learning to surf, learning about yoga and meditation and learning about the local environment, all while enjoying fine vegetarian fare at the Hotel Baleeira as well as delicious picnic lunches on beautiful beaches every day. The week is full of activity and you finish each day satisfied, relaxed and looking forward to the next. Highly recommended for anyone looking to totally chill out while learning a new skill at the same time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Everything was perfect in This retreat.

Perfect hotel On a lovely location where I woke up by the gentle beams of an amazing sunrise!

My new pure flow motions friends changed my life. I didnt have any yoga or meditation experience at all but the team did an excellent job by introducing it to me on a friendly but highly professional way. Now I can say that I'm hooked to meditation and yoga.

Surfing.. Wow! Surfing in Sagres is wonderfull experience. It's a nice village With a lot of beautifull beaches where I really enjoyed the surfing lessons. IT only took me 3 times to control the surfboard. Great instructions in combination With the yoga and meditation have made me fall in love With the surf lifestyle !!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

booked 3 night stay at the hotel via voyage prive. had also been recommended by a friend, and was impressed by ta reviews.
absolutely loved it - from the moment we arrived we relaxed into the place and felt at home.
its beautifully designed, but feels comfortable and warm, despite the white and minimal decor.
rooms were serene, bathrooms functional. coffee shop was fav. place because of stunning views, but breakfast room/restaurant also nice.
spent some time emailing etc in entertainment room, so used most public areas, and all are
well equipped with plugs and served by wifi.
the bed was too soft, even with the board that reception kindly organised, but thats a personal thing.
towels were large and relatively new, we had fresh ones each day. toiletries in bathroom were not replenished on a daily basis, but were adequate.
restaurant food was delicious (dinner), we had the chef's menu which was good value. breakfasts were very good and there was a wide choice available.
coffee shop also did drinks and tasty snacks.
there is a lovely boutique.
we borrowed hotel bikes for 2 hours (free) to cycle to cabo st. vincent.
we would highly recommend this hotel. staff were all exceptional, very professional, very welcoming and helpful.
its in a great position and the views cannot be beaten. there are two pools (indoor and outdoor), gym and spa but we ran out of time, and did not get a chance to use them.
the hotel runs a 'special offer' type scheme with local restaurants, shops, bars etc. you get a complimentary starter, drink, etc. or discount. we ate in a couple of the recommended restaurants and both were great.
we are hoping to return here one day, despite there being virtually nothing to do in the area, apart from walking, cycling etc., its a great place to stay, totally relaxed.

Room Tip: get a sea view room, and ask for one near to reception etc. as its a bit of a maze on lower levels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We really loved our time in Sagres. We spent two nights here. The hotel is very clean and is decorated in a clean, modern style. Our room was great. We were upgraded to a bay view and it was lovely. The beds are incredible! The front desk staff was great- they spent a lot of time helping us and we loved their recommendations. They really went out of their way, which I didn't expect for a large hotel. I think my favorite thing about this hotel was the Living Sagres guide. The restaurants on it were excellent and it was fun to get little treats (free wine, appetizers, etc.) wherever we went. Definitely become a Design Hotels International member to get this, upgrades, and late checkout. We were able to push our checkout to 3 pm! The area around Sagres is some of the most beautiful wild country I have ever seen and it is easy to get anywhere from the hotel if you have a car. I definitely will return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Long week end break in February, and a perfect escape from the endless grey winter in England. Many of the same staff from when we first went 5 years ago; pleased to see that standards of service are still high and the place still looks crisp and well maintained. Love the location and the serene atmosphere of the place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Memmo Baleeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Address: Sitio da Baleeira, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sagres
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Memmo Baleeira Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yoga surf retreats Europe Portugal. Train Mind&Body in a beautifull 4* seaview hotel with Spa. Daily Yoga and meditation Classes, Surf and nature walks in the beautifull natural park of SW algarve in Portugal. A surf yoga holiday Europe. The perfect way to re-establish a deep connection with your innerself, Nature and to recharge and reconnect your life with the big LIFE..Join one of our Surf Yoga holidays and retreats in Europe Portugal and train mind and body for a more happy and healthy LIFE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Splendia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Memmo Baleeira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memmo Baleeira
Memmo Baleeira Sagres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memmo Baleeira Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.