We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charmed Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Memmo Baleeira Hotel to your Saves list
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitio da Baleeira, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Charmed Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

From the friendly staff on reception to the cheery bar tender and smiling breakfast crew, this has to be one of the most easy going and effortless boutique hotels I have ever stayed in. Cool clean rooms in a modern design classic with outstanding views over the Sagres coastline make for a relaxing and charming retreat. You won't find a better base for exploring the the beaches and hinterland of Sagres and the Wild west coast of Portugal...Feels like a secret about to be discovered

Room Tip: Many of the bedrooms have the modern split double, effectively a twin bed, but plenty have real doub...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Curitiba, Brazil
Level Contributor
131 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Memmo Baleeira turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. For the (relatively) low daily rate, one gets excellent accommodation, a truly helpful staff, and one of the most beautiful views ever. The rooms are large, have cooking facilities, with balconies facing the Porto Baleeira. The hotel is located at walking distance from several restaurants, although its own restaurant is pretty fine. On the flip side, there's no in-room wifi Internet. But this is a minor sin: with a view like that, who needs to be online?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is a bit of a find! For architecturally minded people, it's inspirational. The service was the only thing that slightly let it down, but not enough to spoil the experience. It's a cool and beautifully designed hotel. The rooms are comfortable and clean,the lounge/bar area is a great place to chill and there's a great pool area too with plenty of loungers. September was a good time to go as it wasn't busy and the location is great to get to lots of beaches. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stelles108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

A week in a 4* hotel with a great program of yoga, surfing and beautiful nature walks. After being back home for 1 week now, I still feel the great energy the week gave me.

The hosts Michael, Martha and Nicolau are a great team with real passion for surfing, yoga and nature.

Definitely recommended if you need some time to recharge and have fun.
And (in my opinion) that area is the most beautiful coastline of Europe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank RubenB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was my second time in Memmo. First time, 5 years ago, was an amazing experience. This time was no different, it's great to see a Hotel keeping the levels of quality over the years. Incredible location with a breathtaking view over the sea and modern, comfortable rooms. I would return for sure.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must to get the best experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GRAlves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We visited Memmo with my girlfriend in october 2012.
The hotel is fully renovated from an old hotel. Very clean and perfectly located.
Not the cheapest in Sagres but worth the money.
Brekfast is nice , could be little more selection and some extra vegetables.
Lounge area is more than perfect, parking area is on site.
Good pick if you visit Sagres.

Only one remark to the management :
The beds are very soft, please provide some spare hard matraces for the guests do not like very soft beds.

Thank you Memmo

Room Tip: Go for the Memmo suite and book in advance to get some extra discounts !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank INSPECTOR_MZ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronte, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We visited Sages in October and it seemed we nearly had the town to ourselves - it would probably be a very different place in high season. The hotel was obviously an old hotel that had been tastefully refurbished - the room was small but fine for a short stay with views out over the stunning coastline. Restaurants within walking distance and a great bar area for sunset drinks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.9 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
0.4 mi away
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 19 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
15.6 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#24 of 50 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memmo Baleeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Address: Sitio da Baleeira, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sagres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Memmo Baleeira Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yoga surf retreats Europe Portugal. Train Mind&Body in a beautifull 4* seaview hotel with Spa. Daily Yoga and meditation Classes, Surf and nature walks in the beautifull natural park of SW algarve in Portugal. A surf yoga holiday Europe. The perfect way to re-establish a deep connection with your innerself, Nature and to recharge and reconnect your life with the big LIFE..Join one of our Surf Yoga holidays and retreats in Europe Portugal and train mind and body for a more happy and healthy LIFE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Travelocity, Low Cost Holidays and Jetsetter so you can book your Memmo Baleeira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memmo Baleeira
Memmo Baleeira Sagres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing