We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Save Saved
You added Memmo Baleeira Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitio da Baleeira, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was my second time in Memmo. First time, 5 years ago, was an amazing experience. This time was no different, it's great to see a Hotel keeping the levels of quality over the years. Incredible location with a breathtaking view over the sea and modern, comfortable rooms. I would return for sure.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must to get the best experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    314
    69
    24
    5
See reviews for
174
510
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We visited Memmo with my girlfriend in october 2012.
The hotel is fully renovated from an old hotel. Very clean and perfectly located.
Not the cheapest in Sagres but worth the money.
Brekfast is nice , could be little more selection and some extra vegetables.
Lounge area is more than perfect, parking area is on site.
Good pick if you visit Sagres.

Only one remark to the management :
The beds are very soft, please provide some spare hard matraces for the guests do not like very soft beds.

Thank you Memmo

Room Tip: Go for the Memmo suite and book in advance to get some extra discounts !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We visited Sages in October and it seemed we nearly had the town to ourselves - it would probably be a very different place in high season. The hotel was obviously an old hotel that had been tastefully refurbished - the room was small but fine for a short stay with views out over the stunning coastline. Restaurants within walking distance and a great bar area for sunset drinks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Lovely design hotel in Sagres, we'd never been to Portugal before and didn't really know what to expect. We got a fantastic deal for an autumn getaway, and the second we pulled up at the hotel we knew we were on to a winner. The hotel was really quiet, in so much as because it was out of season there were not that many guests there which meant we had no problems with being served, having dinner, getting in the gym etc.

We didn't really see much of the surrounding area because we were happy just relaxing in the hotel, reading books and sleeping! It's the kind of hotel you go to because of the hotel and not necessarily the location although I'm sure Sagres has some hidden charms.The hotel is really nicely designed with some lovely touches, contemporary but homely, room was comfortable, clean and well appointed. There were lots of squishy sofas to have chats (and naps) on.

Amazingly it wasn't windy while we were in Sagres, which, if you were hoping to surf might have been an issue but as it was we were very very happy to enjoy the sunshine by the pool. Staff were absolutely lovely, Clementina and Jose in particular made our stay even more pleasant. We had all of our meals at the hotel and they were all lovely, breakfast buffet had lots of variety and the daily chef special at dinner was always fabulous.

Everyone was super helpful and couldn't do enough for us. I really hope we can come back some day for a lovely relaxing time, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

What I have found most interesting about the Memmo Baleeira Hotel was the contemporary simplicity and confort of the spaces. It is not a small property but even in a high season with a almost full occupancy, apart from the pool (that can get really crowded) one can really breath and enjoy the multiple spaces. Service can get better but the location is perfect, the Atlantic views are breathless, the surf facilities are great, breakfast is perfect, and the overall environment is clean, trendy, artful, peaceful and natural. We have stayed in a Memmo Suite with lots of space and that worked just great for our tiny family!

Room Tip: Views are important
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

A design hotel which was quite nicely laid out. The room was big, clean and well laid out. Friendly and professional staff, small bar and breakfast dining room but seemed to accommodate the number of guests well. The breakfast had very much on offer and the orange juice the best we had on the trip. Situated in quiet surroundings within easy walking distance to town. Well sound-proofed rooms.

Room Tip: Some rooms in the far end of the hotel have their seaview partly obscured, the ones in the centre of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We arrived too early for check in - but Reception took our cases for safe keeping. As it was our first trip to Sagres - we asked at reception for some tips and we were well advised on nearby places of interest, good restaurants, exceptional beaches. We were shown around the hotel's facilities - restaurant, pool area etc etc. The decor of our room was lovely - clean & minimistic. We had a great view of the port and sea. Breakfast in the morning was very good - plenty of everything that you could look for. Didn't have dinner there (as we ate in a lovely nearby restaurant) so can't comment on that. One slight disappointing comment is that the bar staff by night were extremely slow - we were waiting for at least 10 minutes for someone to take our order!!!! But that was the only blip on what could otherwise be described as a very good hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Memmo Baleeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Address: Sitio da Baleeira, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#3 Family Hotel in Sagres
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Memmo Baleeira Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yoga surf retreats Europe Portugal. Train Mind&Body in a beautifull 4* seaview hotel with Spa. Daily Yoga and meditation Classes, Surf and nature walks in the beautifull natural park of SW algarve in Portugal. A surf yoga holiday Europe. The perfect way to re-establish a deep connection with your innerself, Nature and to recharge and reconnect your life with the big LIFE..Join one of our Surf Yoga holidays and retreats in Europe Portugal and train mind and body for a more happy and healthy LIFE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Memmo Baleeira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memmo Baleeira
Memmo Baleeira Sagres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memmo Baleeira Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.