We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location and great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos

Save Saved
You added Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Infante D. Henrique, Sagres 8650-381, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
€15 off room rate
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Sagres
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“good location and great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here for a few days and enjoyed it a lot. Close to the Mareta Beach, our appartment had a large windows overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. The bed was king size and very comfortable. Very good value for the money.

Room Tip: Please ask for rooms with the ocean view, these are really special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valladolid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have traveled to Sagres on several occasions going back as far as 2001. My overall experience has always been a positive one in regards to the town in general, restaurants and other hotels. Over the years I had always wanted to stay at Pontalaia. I finally did so... what a letdown. I am only going to speak of the service, or better said, lack thereof. When we arrived at the time we had agreed (8:30pm) to meet with a member of the staff, there was one there. We had to call someone and it took them 10 minutes to arrive. The staff member promptly ran inside, grabbed a key card and showed us to our room. That would have been fine except that it was not the room we had agreed upon in our telephone reservation. When we asked the staff member about the other room she said she knew nothing about it and said we could take it or leave it as she had to get back to whatever it is she was doing somewhere in town. The hotel was at about 30% capacity and there were plenty of other rooms. Basically her attitude was that she was doing my wife and I a favor by letting stay there, and she could not be bothered to find us another room. We decided to stay only because we were hungry and had just spent 5 hours on the road. The next morning it was even worse. The hotel was nearly empty. It was 11:00 AM on a Sunday. I went down stairs and asked if they could allow us a courtesy late check out of 3pm. I offered to pay a fine, penalty and even a half day's rate if allowed the late checkout. To summarize the experience, the woman at the reception desk not only told me there was nothing she was willing to do, she asked me to take care of the check out paperwork immediately as her shift ended at noon and she could not be held up. Check out time is at noon. I live in Europe and travel up to 20 times a year. The attitude these employees have is by far the most condescending I have experienced. Great attitude to have during an economic crisis. It makes me wonder what is the true intent of this establishment.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere. You will find much better Customer service. Sagres is a great place, just not this H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Considerable care has been given to providing comfortable and quality facilities in the rooms. Don't expect breakfast, as Pontalaia are apartments, but what we thought was a nice touch on the Christmas Day we stayed was the gift card and box of chocolates, despite the off-season prices. As a sidebar, one of the few places open on Christmas Day was the bar/cafe on the main street. Here there was quality in the food, followed by an invitation to sample the free desserts. Just examples of how, in my view, Portugal respects tourists.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Apartments are rather spacious and provided with sustained balkonies. To me, the floors and sofas seemed a bit cold due to their materials (cermaic tiles and artificial leather) - which sure is suitable for hot summer stays.

Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed and looking for a new owner, so there was no possibility to get fresh drinks at the pool.

Very nice and uncomplicated staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Plus side: This was hotel service (daily cleaning, no meals though) with apartment facilities and equipment and price. The two rooms of our apartment were well appointed and the kitchen adequate for most purposes. It was a short walk to several good restaurants and a little further to harbour and beaches. We walked to the fort on the headland - worth the visit. There was a gym etc but we didn't use. The (small but adequate) supermarket is 2mins away.

Minus side: Nothing really negative to report. Minor points: People might find the pool a little small - it was fine for a dip on a hot day. The sea views were somewhat distant because a pousada is in the way - best view was from our side kitchen window. The on-site restaurant has closed down (but there are plenty of alternatives a couple of minutes away). It's a bit of a walk to the harbour and beaches and, being on a headland, the walk back was an effort.

Room Tip: Take a ground floor if you want to hop over the balcony to the pool - otherwise go for the upper flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofstade-Zemst
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

In May 2012, I was travelling with my wife and 2-year-old son. The hotel restaurant was closed but that's really the only setback I can testify of. Staff was friendly, the place is very neat, it gets cleaned every day, rooms are spacy and the furniture looks brand-new. And the whole thing was surprisingly cheap: I paid less than 160€ for 3 nights! Restaurants and shops are within 100 meters, there's ample parking space... would sign up for this place again without any doubt. Loads of STUNNING beaches within 30' drive. This was a splendid holiday...

Room Tip: The ones with sea view are nice because you can see the sun rise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed here as part of a cycling tour in Portugal and we were very pleasantly surprised by the size and quality of the self catering apartment we were given. The apartment was modern, clean and spacious with a nice big bathroom and kitchen and a very comfortable bed and little balcony. It was not cheap at 60 Euros for the night (off-season - the place seemed nearly empty) and the pool is much smaller than the picture makes it look (pond-like). The facilities included a gym, which we did not use and laundry facilities on site. The staff were helpful but not always easy to get hold of. We were pleased that we did not book the Navigator next door which looked like a run down hotel. The pousada accros the road is worth a look.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos

Address: Rua Infante D. Henrique, Sagres 8650-381, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos Sagres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.