We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cod fish Carpaccio, Carob cake and Portuguese wines – 3 things I never had before” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O Terraco

O Terraco
Quinta do Martinhal, Sagres 8650, Portugal
+351282240200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 47 Restaurants in Sagres
Price range: $24 - $37
Cuisines: Portuguese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Description: To eat at O Terraço, Hotel Martinhal’s restaurant, is to experience a culinary journey through Portuguese gastronomy – presented with a modern twist.The menu introduces both adults and children to a great selection of genuine Portuguese and seasonal produce.Children are very welcome with a specially prepared dining area.A noble array of Portuguese labels graces the wine list, and the choice is compelling.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cod fish Carpaccio, Carob cake and Portuguese wines – 3 things I never had before”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Martinhal with our 3 year old daughter. One evening we decided to try O Terraço, the hotel restaurant and we were absolutely delighted. We went to the early seating as our daughter was joining, which was not a problem at all. The staff were all very helpful, the children’s menu was nice, and our daughter behaved like an angel. To start we had the cod fish carpaccio. Although I have had cod fish many times before, I never had it this way. It’s a bit too salty for my taste, but the freshness and the coriander flavour are surprising! Tender guinea fowl stuffed with a traditional (very tasty) sausage and served with polenta was our main course. To finish I chose the carob cake. I was told that carob is the Algarvian chocolate and yes ... it was melting in the middle and nicely sweet... absolutely delicious. Intriguing was the restaurant’s wine wall. The restaurant only serves Portuguese wines, which are not well known back home, so in first instance we were a bit hesitant to choose one. Luckily the staff helped us and thanks to the great policy of serving not just house wine, but yes, quality wines by the glass, we were able to accompany each dish with the perfect wine. I can highly recommend this restaurant to both young and old!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at O Terraco, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your mouth-watering review!
We are delighted that you and your family had a lovely experience in our Restaurant O Terraço.
We all look forward to your return – prepared for more delicious surprises?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    14
    8
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Manga del Mar Menor, Spain
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Dinner in a Long Time....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Definitely one of the best dinners I have had for a long time. From the moment we arrived we felt totally pampered by the very efficient, professional and courteous staff. I went with my husband but wished I had taken my 2 children as they have very thoughtfully prepared a children’s eating area on the deck next to the restaurant together with a childcarer. The food was excellent and especially liked the Wild Boar dish. The desserts were also to die for. Our waiter Vitor was so nice and took care of our every need. With the nice long evenings now the view over Martinhal beach was breathtaking. All in all a top night.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at O Terraco, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
How delightful to know how much you thoroughly enjoyed the essence of our Restaurant O Terraço.
Thank you for your recognition of the excellent service provided by our Team, in particular by Vitor.
We all look forward to offer you another wonderful experience – hopefully very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winslow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Classy but Crass”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

This restaurant has a very high opinion of itself. It is situated in the Hotel Martinhal and is billed as the up market restaurant for the hotel. It really wants you to turn up in your best bib and tucker but, bearing in mind that his is a family hotel, you can still expect young children in their beach wear at 8 pm. The food is modern European and Portuguese and good but not up to the prices charged. The restaurant staff are friendly and efficient but the restaurant management give you the feeling they are on suicide watch (the watchee not the watcher) and that your every desire is their burden. You can eat as well in the Algarve for less than half the price: however, this is a beautiful hotel in a fantastic location and the restaurant reflects this.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula L, Guest Relations Manager at O Terraco, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your review.
We are glad to inform that since your last visit in April, our Clients rating of our O Terraço Restaurant has improved considerably.
We hope you will give us the pleasure of your visit again soon and experience our positive progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Terraco also viewed

Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 

Been to O Terraco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Terraco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.