We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Casinha

Ranked #7 of 47 Restaurants in Sagres
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I really cant think of anything bad to say about A Casinha, foods very good, clean, modern a great little restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    59
    17
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Faro, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love, love love A Casinha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I live in the Western Algarve, and this is my favourite restaurant. Amazing fresh seafood, great service in a laid back manner and I couldn't recommend it highly enough! Always 5 star.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Romantic, small restaurant, with excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Ate at A Casinha in mid-December having found it on tripadvisor (as the no. 1 choice in Sagres). Easy to find, central location. Only folks at the restaurant this evening as it was off-season. No matter, food was fresh and delicious, and portion size was quite generous. Had the cataplana, full of all kinds of wonderful fish and shellfish. Owner, also the waiter, picked out a great bottle of wine upon our request. Frankly, don't recall all that we had to eat beside the cataplana, but left the restaurant thinking it was fantastic and one of the best meals we'd had in a long time, made better by the friendly conversation of the owner (and his wife, who was the cook). I can surely see why this received, and deservedly so, it high ranking on tripadvisor.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Great !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Delicious fresh food , perfectly prepared , you can taste the love for cooking here . It is small and cosy . Have the dish for two with the big schrimps . JUMJUM !!!! We will come back , don;t change anything ;))

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Generous, authentic, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Ate here a couple of times during half term week. A generous spirited restaurant from the excellent couvert, through authentic and tasty food and a brief but well chosen and priced wine list. Service low key but correct.

Reliable Sagres choice

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Casinha also viewed

Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 
Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 

Been to A Casinha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Casinha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.