We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real gem of Sagres” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mum's

Mum's
Avenida Comandante Matoso, Sagres 8650, Portugal
+351 910 835 541
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Sagres
Price range: $20 - $33
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian, Contemporary, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: MUM'S IS A HOME COOKING RESTAURANT AND COCKTAIL BAR WITH A COSY AND COMFORTABLE ATMOSPHERE, FULL OF PAINTINGS AND PICTURES. WE PROPOSE A SLOW FOOD COOKING: ALL THE PRODUCTS WE USE ARE BIO, GUARANTEED IN QUALITY AND ORIGIN. WE SERVE VEGETARIAN DISHES, FRESH LOCAL FISH COURSES AND DELICIOUS COCKTAILS.WE WANT TO KNOW WHAT WE EAT! MUM'S LOVES U
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Real gem of Sagres”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We went to Mum's in october 2012, it was a perfect dining experience.
The atmosphere is 100%, the food is more than delicius, the staff is my favourite.
The restaurant ran by 2 italian and they really know how to welcome the new guests.

I can fully reccomend to eny one visiting Sagres, it won't let you down !

Big thanks for dining experience we had in Mum's Sagres !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    79
    21
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best atmosphere and feel in the whole of Portugal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have never felt so welcomed in a resturant ever! The couple who run the resturant are originally from Italy and have come here to a make a go of it in the Algarve - I really wish that they succeed. The food was very good; their seafood is very fresh and a great taste but the thing that really sets this place apart from everyone else in Sagres is the fun and friendly atmosphere - on more than one occasion the Italian couple came over individually to have a proper conversation and joke with us - everyone in the place had a smile on their face - diners and staff; something which seems unique in my experience of the Algarve

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Cozy and different from the rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Very creative menu and nice funny Italian owner, the bacalhau balls made with an ice cream machine were amazing!
Also ask for a drink called gingiña (I think that's how you write it), really nice!
Definitely go here to taste something different from all the traditional restaurants in Sagres.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton, Leicester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Food was ok....but slow service..very friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Went to Mums towards end of our holiday in October 2012.... It was busy when we went....and we found the service slow but the staff were superb and friendly....it is mainly vegetation and fish...which isn't really for me...but my girlfriend is vegetation and she love the food.... I had a salad which I found ok...but I did miss my meat dishes...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
“great food and lovely piano music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

i visited mums on 28th sept 2012 with a friend and had a beautiful fresh fish meal for a reasonable price. there was an irishman playing the piano with a beautiful tenor voice and one of the staff a beautiful italian girl joined him and sang santa lucia and another opera song. another girl from brazil did a fabulous dance what a night

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mum's also viewed

Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 
Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 

Been to Mum's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mum's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.