We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible food at a great spot” 1 of 5 stars
Review of O Telheiro do Infante

O Telheiro do Infante
Praia da Mareta, Sagres 8650-376, Portugal
282624179
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #40 of 47 restaurants in Sagres
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Albufeira, Portugal
1 review
“Horrible food at a great spot”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I found the whole restaurant really terrible. The wine was watery, the soup was really old, the 'hamburgers' with mushroom were uneatable. Really horrible. I was sick during the rest of the day, and night. The whole restaurant smelled bad, nothing was fresh. Really a big disappointment at such a great spot. The owners should be forced to eat that hambuger once! A pity they don't make their food themselves and sell prefabricated, old, food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    25
    21
    4
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surreally bad.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Visited out of season but there were a few diners so werent put off. Service was slow. We waited about 10 minutes for our drink order. Waitress was surly. Drinks were so slow to come causing my 8 year old to say how bad the service was. Felt that the waiting staff were doing us a favour the whole time we were there. Portions were small and not very well presented. Worst experience in 5 years of visiting Algarve. Suggest a change of staff would be a vast improvement.

I felt I was in some foreign fawlty towers sketch. Without the laughs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We did not get to eat here due to Xmas closures but the location overlooking the beach is first class and the large dining room looked luxurious and well equipped. We had coffee on the terrace
at 11am and 2-3 couples were eating lunch when we left. It does all look very nice. I would think this is a 'typical Portugese' quality restaurant. I cant comment on prices. Of course at night there would be no views. Easy parking.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
At my Computer
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Sit and watch the surfers and enjoy some good sea food.
All the food was good but quite pricy for Portugal as was the wine.
In saying this, still worth a visit but just check the prices before you order, as bread is an extra!
Easy parking but as the restaurant is on the first floor, access is difficult for the not so mobile, did not see any wheel chair access.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great view, not so good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We chose this restaurant for its beach view. Parking is down a rather steep hill from the road. The terrace of the restaurant has a great view, especially if it is not too windy. Service was slow and error prone. The menu was translated into English and it appeared that the server understood basic English but perhaps we should have pointed to the items. Several people in our group received the wrong meal. It was still ok, just not what we had ordered. Also suggest you skip the couvert. It was not so good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Telheiro do Infante also viewed

Sagres, Faro District
 
Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 

Been to O Telheiro do Infante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Telheiro do Infante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.