We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist trap with terrific view” 2 of 5 stars
Review of O Telheiro do Infante

O Telheiro do Infante
Praia da Mareta, Sagres 8650-376, Portugal
282624179
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 47 Restaurants in Sagres
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
1 review
“Tourist trap with terrific view”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Very slow service. Main dish and starters were mixed up. Service personal was annoyed and not interested. Except for the fish the food was not prepared with a lot of effort.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    29
    9
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carcavelos, Portugal
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I just loved it. Waited 20 minutes for a incredible fish cataplana. Fantastic food with a dream landscape at sunset on Mareta beach. I will repeat it for sure

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TELHEIRO, Gerente at O Telheiro do Infante, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear costumer, thank you for your comment. Hope having you here again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Wonderful landscape, lovely staff, fantastic "fish cataplana's".
Best choice @ Sagres.
20 stars:-)

(Fast wi-fi to put the business up to date)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TELHEIRO, Gerente at O Telheiro do Infante, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear costumer, thank you for your comment. Hope having you here again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Shocking service and food not up to standard in Algarve..”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Waited 30min for a menu, 45min for our drinks and 1hour 30min for starters....
Ordered hamburgers for the kids and it arrived with no bread buns... Only 2 pieces of corned meat patties, 1 slice of tomato, an olive and melted cheese...

I'm really not fussy but I just expect reasonable service and food that will match the price tag!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TELHEIRO, Gerente at O Telheiro do Infante, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Sorry if the service wasn´t fast and with less attention. At this time there is more number of customers versus capabilities of the restaurant. You can check this at any restaurant in Sagres. It´s recommendable to visit us in August but not between 13:30 until 15:30. It's the worst time to have a calm meal. we have a larger variety of meals mixed with elaborate special of the house and there is always a risk be extremely full of costumers in a shorter time period, remember that we have 145 seats, and the summer resumes to 1 month of high season. we always hope that our customers come in a sustainable period, but sometimes we have 80 costumer in 20 minutes, and that number is bigger than the average capacity of normal restaurants. what normally happens in other restaurants is that above 50 costumers you will wait more than an hour and still you have to order. here you arrive even if you are the 89 costumer and you already order. We still understand your complain but the truth is that the high season its becoming more shorter than it should and that will damage the capacity of respond of the establishments. Having said that, we would like to have it again in our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisley, Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“And the two points were just for the view.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

There is an excellent beach immediately adjacent to this restaurant. I recommend that you either show up full or bring a picnic. The service was actually reasonable; the food however was not. Cheap ingredience badly cooked. My wife had fish, I had an omelette and the kids had burgers. Not exactly a tall culinary order. Perhaps I should have read some of the other reviews beforehand.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TELHEIRO, Gerente at O Telheiro do Infante, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear costumer,
We are an restaurant specialized in fish and traditional Portuguese cuisine. Let us inform you that all ingredients are fresh and we have at dinner time an open kitchen for you and all costumers to confirm that. It was unfortunate that you didn't like your meal, but let us say that we never had a costumer that have eaten hamburgers and omelets in our restaurant and had complained, because it's the most simple thing to make. Let us invite you to have our specials of the house, and then we will wait for your feedback. as for the comments of our restaurant, please check again the satisfaction of our customers, because it's very close to perfect. Thank you for your comment and next time please inform us in good time how the food is, because it is on our best interest to know the feedback of our customers in good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Telheiro do Infante also viewed

Sagres, Faro District
 
Sagres, Faro District
 

Been to O Telheiro do Infante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Telheiro do Infante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.