We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food, superb service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Sagres

A Sagres
Sitio do Tonel, Sagres 8650-355, Portugal
+351 282 624 171
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 50 Restaurants in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome food, superb service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

It was an absolute joy having lunch there.

Decoration: not pretentious but decorated with taste.
Food: We ordered the most transional dishes, a kind of fish casserole that was delicious, not so say that the quantity was generous.
Beverages: We drank green wine, typical from the algarve. Wonderful mix.
Service: great service, very helpful, nice and charming.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    109
    31
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Very good meal. The friendly owner steered us to the fresh fish which I had and it was delicious. The home made dessert of cheesecake, also recommended, was to die for. House wine was also good and everything was reasonably priced.
The restaurant is just out of town, but easily within walking distance of the town centre. It is very clean and pleasantly decorated. It dosen't look much from outside but don't be put off. Overall a good experience much enhanced by the jovial owner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Really fabulous meal, great recommendations from the staff. Stuffed squid was amazing. Only downside would be the view as its just on the main road by a roundabout.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Friendly eatery without frills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The restaurant is really a sort of roadside shack or cabin as you come into Sagres from the Lagos road. Looks like nothing at all but we were made very welcome by the genuinely friendly owner. The four of us had fish, all of it as fresh as can be though perhaps a little overcooked. Olives, bread, cheese and sardine pate put on the table as you sit down. You will be charged for these (though not a lot) so tuck in and enjoy. Very good bread. The fish just comes with boiled potatoes (a bit overdone) and a small salad already dressed which was really very good. Order some more of it! The stand-out attraction for me was a very large wine list (about 25 reds and 25 whites) with the majority at 10 euros. I knew a couple on the list, which I knew were very palatable, so the guy knows his stuff and has selected well at a very reasonable price point with really not much of a mark-up. Desserts were of the bought in variety which we didn't bother with, and the final bill was very reasonable and a very jolly time had by all. Wish we could get fish this fresh at home!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Be sure to drop by”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We read the reviews in Trip Advisor, and decided to have a late lunch. We went into one section that looked like a cafeteria, and the owner asked if we wanted some proper lunch, and then asked us to follow him. He led us into the proper part of the restaurant that had nice ocean/marine decor, and since it was probably after lunchtime, there was no one there. He then brought us some starters. We ordered the seafood noodles and he said that would be more than enough for the three of us. The dish came in a big pot with a mix of fish, shrimp, squid etc in some broth and macaroni. It was very tasty and we really enjoyed the lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Sagres also viewed

Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 
Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 

Been to A Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Sagres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.