We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for surfing holidays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres to your Saves list
Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres
Rua Mestre Antonio Galhardo | Casa duas palmeiras, Sagres 8650-384, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Sagres
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“great place for surfing holidays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The hostel is very nice, clean, with many bathrooms. I loved breakfasts with delicious banana pancakes or cakes made by Peggy, who runs the house. Sometimes there are also dinners or barbecues, and I really liked that all meals are served outdoors.
Surf leasons on the beautiful Amado beach are fun, instructors are very good and make sure that you not only learn to surf, but also have a good time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
7
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
München
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Amazing surfcamp! Sagres is a very nice little town to stay in. A small beach, original restaurants with cheap and nice food and a little partystreet.
The surfcamp is clean and personal. Especially the staff is very nice. They are relaxed and friendly and make an amazing breakfast and barbecue. The surf lessons are definitely the best I had.
Go!

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The place is lovely.
All the staff are friendly and professional, Caroline and Peggy cooking delicious cookies, pancake..
The rooms and bathrooms are clean.
I had to stay three days but the place is so good that I stopped for a week.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

2 friends and me spent 4 days there and we had an amazing time. Caroline and Peggy were awesome, amazing cook and lovely girls. House is big, clean, peaceful. We had a wonderful time there, a perfect mix of sport (surfing lessons) relax and chill out. All the staff were great and we had an amazing experience also thanks to the very professional surf teachers. Hope to come back soon!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Amazing hostel! Very cosy and chill and the best of course the most lovely girls Peggy and Caroline always surprising one with the most delicious pancakes cakes cookies and a warm smile :)
Stayed there for 10 days and would not like to miss one! Great atmosphere when the right people are there it can be like a little family ;)
Best combination with surfing - the beach is absolutely beautiful not to overrun and very good instructors who try to truly teach u good basics!
Will try to come back as soon as possible!
Much love and joy <3

Room Tip: Take one with ur own huge bathroom with balcony ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

After three weeks of traveling around Europe, a friend and myself found a home away from home in the Algarve Surf Hostel. If you're looking for a perfect balance of relaxing, activities (surfing to beaching to kayaking to hiking), and social (making friends and hitting the night life) then this is the spot! We originally booked the hostel for 2 nights but ended up extending our trip three more times making our stay We are currently chatting with one of the girls who works here and asking if we can come back and work next year! We don't want to leave!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Awesome, awesome place to stay. Felt very welcome, everyone was so nice and cheerful and friendly. Smallish hostel so everyone went out to town together, such a great atmosphere. Great breakfast in the morning, great rooms, no complaints whatsoever! No rules either which suited everyone just fine. Great experience going to the surf school they provide. Honestly cannot put into words how great this place is.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres

Address: Rua Mestre Antonio Galhardo | Casa duas palmeiras, Sagres 8650-384, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is located in Sagres, a town near Cape Sao Vincente, the most southwesterly point of Europe, an area renowned for its great surfing beaches, a playground for both beginner and experienced surfers. Besides surfing there are other activities and qualities that this lovely town has to offer. Restaurants, bars, supermarkets and 5 local beaches are within a few minutes walk. Our staff is always happy to help organize daytrips surfing or other exciting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.