We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Joy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres

Save Saved
You added Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres
Rua Mestre Antonio Galhardo | Casa duas palmeiras, Sagres 8650-384, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty lodging in Sagres
St. Gallen, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just Joy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Amazing hostel! Very cosy and chill and the best of course the most lovely girls Peggy and Caroline always surprising one with the most delicious pancakes cakes cookies and a warm smile :)
Stayed there for 10 days and would not like to miss one! Great atmosphere when the right people are there it can be like a little family ;)
Best combination with surfing - the beach is absolutely beautiful not to overrun and very good instructors who try to truly teach u good basics!
Will try to come back as soon as possible!
Much love and joy <3

Room Tip: Take one with ur own huge bathroom with balcony ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

After three weeks of traveling around Europe, a friend and myself found a home away from home in the Algarve Surf Hostel. If you're looking for a perfect balance of relaxing, activities (surfing to beaching to kayaking to hiking), and social (making friends and hitting the night life) then this is the spot! We originally booked the hostel for 2 nights but ended up extending our trip three more times making our stay We are currently chatting with one of the girls who works here and asking if we can come back and work next year! We don't want to leave!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Awesome, awesome place to stay. Felt very welcome, everyone was so nice and cheerful and friendly. Smallish hostel so everyone went out to town together, such a great atmosphere. Great breakfast in the morning, great rooms, no complaints whatsoever! No rules either which suited everyone just fine. Great experience going to the surf school they provide. Honestly cannot put into words how great this place is.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

For 10 days I stayed at the Sagres Algarve Surfcamp and I felt so at home! Every morning there's a really nice breakfast waiting for you and after that you head to Amado beach, an absolutely beautiful place to surf. When you come back from the surfing, you can chill at some nice spots at the hostel and have diner with everybody there or out in Sagres. I recommend to enjoy the cookingskills of Peggy and Caroline, they cook and bake like the best!
The hostel itself is cosy and has enough space for everyone. The beds are fine and every room has a balcony, so that's cool.

All I can say is that I really want to go back next year:)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Really special place!
the best ever during the trip is when you feel's like at home!No one never was't so attentive to me, as here!so bright,comfortably and hospitable house with awesome Peggy and Wendy,who will take care about you from dusk till dawn.
For a breakfast you are waited by the most tasty pie the girls made.So you would think twice was you grandma so cool in cooking)
And during the day the most brave instructors ever will show you what is the real surf)

I definitely love this place! and I was here twice,and if only I could I would stay here forever.
So you should see this by your own eyes)

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Had a really great week here! I hadn't ever surfed before but everyone was really encouraging and helpful and we had a lot of fun. The hostel was great value for money, all the staff were friendly and we found that sagres itself was really cheap with some very nice beaches and the hostel is within walking distance to beaches, bars and restaurants so plenty to do in the evening or if you didn't fancy surfing! I would definitely recommend this to anyone who wanted to go surfing or just have a chilled out holiday in the Algarve!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have never surfed before and stayed for one week at this camp on the full surf camp package, my only regret was not staying for two weeks!

The staff running the hostel were fantastic. They created an incredibly relaxed and friendly atmosphere whilst still being remarkably organized and efficient. The same could be said for the surf instructors who were very friendly, as well as professional.

I thought that for accommodation, breakfast and lunch, wetsuit and board hire, lessons, and beach transfers this was very good value for money. The hostel itself was clean and very quirky, the breakfasts were great (freshly baked caked every morning), and some evenings the young ladies in charge would also cook a meal which was €10 if you fancied joining in - which I would highly recommend as they were both very talented in the kitchen!

This hostel is in the small village of Sagres which has a very chilled out vibe, there are few nice bars around but for those seeking more of a 'party scene' the Lagos camp might be a better alternative. If you don't want your nightlife getting in the way of your surfing, and for a more intimate and relaxed experience, it seemed like the Sagres camp was the place to be.

Overall: excellent hostel, excellent staff, and excellent surfing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres

Address: Rua Mestre Antonio Galhardo | Casa duas palmeiras, Sagres 8650-384, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty lodging in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is located in Sagres, a town near Cape Sao Vincente, the most southwesterly point of Europe, an area renowned for its great surfing beaches, a playground for both beginner and experienced surfers. Besides surfing there are other activities and qualities that this lovely town has to offer. Restaurants, bars, supermarkets and 5 local beaches are within a few minutes walk. Our staff is always happy to help organize daytrips surfing or other exciting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algarve Surf Hostel - Sagres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.