We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local food. Very good experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Carlos

Restaurante Carlos
Av. Comandante Matoso, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal
282624228
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 47 Restaurants in Sagres
Price range: $0 - $28
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Local food. Very good experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We went to Carlos Restaurant on jan 2nd, so many options were not available, since the previous day had been a holiday and, obviously, the fishermen did not work, so the waiter explained to us that there weren't any fresh fish. At a first glance, it sounds really disappointing. On the other hand, it shows that the restaurant works with exceptionally fresh food, which is a good sign of a place that worries about it.
We were a party of 3 and had the Octopus rice and the Feijoada of chocos. Both were really good, tasty and different. Appetizers + main dish + dessert resulted a total of 65€.
As dessert, the "Delicia algarvia" was extremely different, with a local plant called "alfarroba". Not too sweet, a little bit bitter. Worth trying.
It was a really good dinner and we would go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    86
    21
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Place by the sea, with great fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Food: Very Good;
Service: Good;
Location: Great. On top of a sand dune, on the Salgados beach. Just by the sea;
The journey: you can enjoy the nice Salgados beach, have lunch at Carlos, and take you time to watch Flamingos and thousands of other birds at the Salgados Lagoon. Take photos, but don't step outside the authorized tracks.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious portugese cousine!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Wisiting this restaurant due to recomendation from our hotel. In one week we tried few times and all experience with restaurant was excellent!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, but still a tourist place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The food was good although bit pricier compared to other places.. lots of tourist but what other customer should you expect. they know how to serve the needs of the tourists..

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Decent enough food, but terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We couldn't believe the service could be this bad, so we tried the restaurant again as the food had been very good on our first visit. If anything, the service was worse the second time, and on this occasion, the food was only average.

We were close to walking out before our food came. The waiter brought us a wine list, which we had to ask for, and then studiously avoided coming to our table to see which wine we wanted.

We also had long waits for our bill. Not a good experience!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Carlos also viewed

Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 
Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Carlos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.