We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for Sardines!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Carlos

Restaurante Carlos
Av. Comandante Matoso, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal
282624228
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 50 Restaurants in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $28
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Devizes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A great place for Sardines!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We had a great lunch at this friendly, family run restaurant. There were several locals eating there. There was a good menu from which we both chose grilled sardines with french fries, boiled new potatoes and salad. The sardines were huge, plenteous and cooked to perfection. It is a pity that they had run out of chocolate mousse or we would have eaten these too! The location is not the best as it faces onto a road, but there is good parking nearly and the location did not spoil the meal for us

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    98
    24
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Out Islands
Top Contributor
657 reviews 657 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 219 cities Reviews in 219 cities
493 helpful votes 493 helpful votes
“had a fantastic lobster dinner, with lobster from bassin to table, yummi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

we went twice to Carlos, once for fish and a second time for Lobster, which had to get organized with a 48h notice. The lobster while certainly more pricey than all other foods served a la Portugese, was worth the money and a real treat.

Carlos is a great guy! good to speak too and discuss food and wine and we enjoyed our time very much.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Great food! Try the arroz de marisco or the Bacalhau a braz! Those are the chef´s specialties! I didn´t give the full points as the decor and location are a bit lame.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good food, large quantities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

Had a very good dinner at a reasonable price with HUGE plates.
We tried the octopus rice and bacalhau a braz and both were great and generously served.
The waiter was very friendly.
We ate outside on their nice terrace and had a good time and good food. Totally recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great for Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

A beautiful, authentic restaurant in Sagres with a great fish selection. The staff are very friendly and many locals appear to eat here. I would certainly recommend you stop by and check this place out! Enjoy.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Carlos also viewed

Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 
Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Carlos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.