We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, stunning location, very quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada de Sagres, Infante to your Saves list
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, stunning location, very quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is a great value, especially in the off-season, with very friendly staff, comfy beds, slightly outdated bathrooms, and a delicious breakfast buffet. We stayed at this Pousada for two nights in January on our honeymoon. We arrived late at night in the dark to a very quiet hotel due to the off-season, but in the morning we found that the view from our room was truly breathtaking. We could have spent our whole time in Sagres on our balcony. It was so peaceful. The dinner we ate at the hotel restaurant was very good, though slightly overpriced - I suppose that's a given in any hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea. Our suite was an incredible value for the stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZbCb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_FCoelho_Sagres, Gerente at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Fernando Coelho
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
281 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Brilliant location at the end of the world, with breathtaking views. Very vriendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast. Nice lobby rooms. Great New Year's eve party.
Too bad about the outdated room facilities, but if you do not care too much ...
A good target for crowd funding to renovate the place and leverage the exceptional location & views.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiamiKeyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_FCoelho_Sagres, Gerente at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the whole team at Pousada de Sagres | Charm Hotel let me thank you for your interest and preference.

We are fully committed on have a service of excellence to our guests and therefore it was with great pleasure that we read your positive comments on your experience at our Pousada. We would like to inform you that we have shared your words with the whole team.

We thank you for your time and hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Fernando Coelho
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel with commanding views. However the new year celebrations has attracted several Portuguese families with children. Nothing wrong in that except their children are out of control. These young children approx ages 7yrs to 14 yrs are allowed to run around the hotel lounges and corridors, making a lot of noise until well past 11.30pm, without anyone, their parents or hotel management attempting to take control.
I am very passionate that hotels should welcome families and can understand excitement is sometimes difficult to contain in young children. However the uncontrolled behaviour of the children over the last couple of days has been outside of what I would consider to be acceptable. Their parents in my opinion should be embarrassed. Clearly they are not!

Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank edinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_PMarques_Sagres, Gerente at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear "edinuk",
Thank you very much for your comments. The fact you consider this Pousada a lovely hotel and the time you took to give feedback it’s the best award we can get.
Our main objective is to achieve all our guests’ satisfaction and we promise to focus on that! On the other hand we are sorry that the excitement of this group of children did not help you to rest.
We would like to host you back again to provide you the rest this place provide to our guests.

Looking forward to see you again,

Kind regards,
Pedro Marques
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015 via mobile

High Quality Christmas Brunch includes scrambled eggs, beans, bacon, sausages, mushrooms and tomatoes. Coffee, hot milk and hot water. Wide assortment of breads and pastries. King and Queen cakes. Sparkling wine. White linen service. Cereals. Fresh sliced fruit.

Stayed December 2015, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GraciousMEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_PMarques_Sagres, Gerente at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear "GraciousMEM",

Thank you very much for your comments.
The fact that you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to give your feedback it’s the best award we can get.
Your nice comments about the service and quality of our food and beverage service were forwarded to the team: thank you!
We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Pedro Marques
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Frances, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

We returned after 30 years to enjoy the wonderful location of this hotel. Our room had a balcony that overlooked the ocean and beach. It is clearly one of the nicest views from a hotel room that I have experienced.

The lobby, bar and television rooms are nicely appointed and comfortable. The rooms are a little tired but functional. Considering the cost, the rooms where what should be expected.

We had dinner in the dining room and found the quality of the meal to be somewhat inferior to that available in restaurants outside the Pousada. The price of the meal was also about twice as expensive as the other restaurants we visited in Sagres.

We found the breakfasts to be somewhat disappointing, but this can be overlooked if the weather is nice and one can eat breakfast on the terrace.

All in all a great value for the hotel, one of the best views ever but think about eating elsewhere.

Room Tip: Second floor suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ML W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_PMarques_Sagres, Gerente at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, December 11, 2015
Dear "ML W",

Thank you for sharing your opinion about our Pousada with us and with all our potential clients.

I’m glad you enjoyed our room facilities and we have to agree with you: the views are breathtaking.
Regarding our F&B facilities, I apologize for any inconvenience and promise to solve the problems you highlighted. If the others can do, I’m sure we will also be able to meet our guests expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again, let me wish you Happy Holidays!

Kindest regards
Pedro Marques
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

We arrived very late one night and awoke to the most beautiful views from this Pousada with a restaurant, terrace and outdoor swimming pool over looking the ocean. The views are breathtaking and the breakfast buffet was delicious. We only had one day there but it would be great to have several. The staff, room, and restaurant were all fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank badgergirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_PMarques_Sagres, Gerente at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, December 11, 2015
Dear "Badgergirl01",

Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pestana Pousada de Sagres.

Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable holidays to all our dear guests, and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team. Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation.

Looking forward to welcome you again, let me wish you Happy Holidays.

With kind regards,
Pedro Marques.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

The hotel is located on the cliff overlooking the atlantic ocean, the view is stunning. The location comes with a "price", there is always a lot of wind, so even in summer you need to find a spot out of the wind to be comfortable. Especially if like me you don't want to be staying in direct sunlight for hours. The rooms are probably authentic, but that also means pretty basic. Dinner at the hotel is OK for having once, when you stay there multiple night, it is better to go out into town, there is a lot of choice.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the sea, so no risk of nasty surprises
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwizim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_PMarques_Sagres, Gerente at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, December 11, 2015
Dear "Kwizim",

Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pestana Pousada de Sagres.

Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable holidays to all our dear guests, and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team. Thank you very much.

Thank you also for your considerations about food and rooms: Let me take the chance to inform you that we are doing some maintence works to improve the "Time of Your Life" to all our guests. Regarding the food it is important for us to have this feedback to constantly improve our service.

Wish you Happy Holidays!

We look forward to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Pedro Marques
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
0.4 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
1.3 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos
16.7 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#10 of 50 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Sagres, Infante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Address: Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#4 Family Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Sagres, Infante 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a Fortress with a breath-taking view The Pousada de Sagres is part of a scenario with flavours of the sea and with great historical importance. Designed by architect Jose Segurado and opened in 1960, in the commemorations of the fifth centenary of the death of Prince D. Henrique. From here, one can see the Fortress of Sagres, from where the Portuguese caravels departed for the Discoveries. Cape St. Vicente, named Sacrum Promontorium, is one of the most south-western parts of Europe, and fishing port. Overall, Algarve signifies soft sandy beaches with turquoise blue sea, green pine forests, flowers amongst the dunes, heat and a climate for passion, whether it is in the intense summer or the tranquil winter. But Algarve is more than just that. It's in this different Algarve where you can find the small fishing town known as the Vila do Bispo (Bishop's Town) and were lies Sagres in the south of Algarve. In entering the Sagres region you absorb a mystic atmosphere surrounded by an unspoilt landscape where the sea and the mountains meet to form an unusual natural heritage. The Pousada has 51 rooms that are ideal for an invigorating rest which include air conditioning, a desk and a safe. Outside there is a magnificent pool with sun loungers around it offering a stunning view of the coast. The more active guests can go fishing, Walking or do some surfing. After a relaxing day the guests of the Pousada de Sagres, Infante, can enjoy the Pousada's restaurant, which offers its guests the best cuisine of Algarve based on the sea and the freshness of its ingredients. The Fortress of Sagres is located 5 minutes by car from the hotel and the city of Lagos can be reached within 30 minutes. Experiencing the Pousada de Sagres is a starting point to go and discover the cultural authenticity of this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Otel, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz and Low Cost Holidays so you can book your Pousada de Sagres, Infante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Infante Sagres
Pousada Do Infante Hotel Sagres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing