We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous site but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada de Sagres, Infante to your Saves list
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Gorgeous site but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have a mixed review of the Pousada at Sagres : it has an absolutely wonderful location, perched on a point overlooking the ocean at the very southwestern most tip of Portugal. Our room featured a fabulous view of the ocean and pool (which was very nice).
However, this Pousada has some issues IMO. Housekeeping needs to clean out the glass display cases which feature "artisanal crafts" or local books...and dead bugs. In fact bugs, including mosquitoes, were a problem throughout our 2 night stay. The other issue I would raise is that breakfast was seriously deficient, especially in contrast to the Pousada at Tavira which had been our first experience with Pousadas two nights earlier. The coffee- from an automatic machine- was undrinkable while the pastries and orange juice were inferior to those in Tavira.
Our room was clean and tastefully decorated, but the above difficiencies were very disappointing. We so wanted to love this place after our experience in Tavira!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    142
    44
    9
    3
See reviews for
59
253
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the fantasticlLocation is the best argument to stay at this hotel. we got rooms on the first floor with stunning views over the pool, sea, the fort and the cliffs. the guest rooms and bathrooms were a bit small and could need a facelift. remarkable is the friendlyness and professionality of the staff in all areas. excellent breakfast with an exceptional bright selection of bread, cold cuts, cheese and fresh fruit. very friendly staff. good reason to come back

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Mr. Georg w,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay and found our service, staff and facilities very good.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to any of our Pousadas.
Best regards,

Hélia Carvalho,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, CO
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here in late November and loved it. The pousada reminded me of a comfortable lodge. There were a number of rooms on the main floor where you could chat and have a cocktail from the bar, read or play games with the family. they also had a suumary of the news in many languages available each morning. The rooms were a nice size and included a bathtub and wifi. Incredible views of the sea from my balcony. Ample brakfast buffet with eggs made to order (included in the price). We had dinner in restaurant which was good. All the stafff was outstanding and helpful; plenty of parking in the car park. We were there over Thanksgiving and they delivered letters to the rooms of the Ameican guests wishing us a Happy Thanksgiving and inviting us to the bar for a port wine. The hotel has a beautiful pool area. I highly recommend the hotel!

Room Tip: get a room looking over the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear "Vixter200",
Thank you very much for visiting us and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as the service of our staff.

It was a pleasure to read that you give the Pousada your highest recommendation, thank you.

Glad you had a great time. Please come back soon.

Kind regards,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a nice, quiet hotel with a helpful and efficient staff. Our room was fairly small and simply furnished--indeed, the furnishings seemed a little dated and could use some updating. Our shower didn't work, so we made due with the hand-held. The common areas in the hotel are quiet and tastefully appointed, and the wifi works very well, which can't be said about every hotel in this part of the world. The best thing about the Pousada de Sagres is the view. From the terrace on our seaside room we looked across a small bay to the fort that once protected the city. Spectacular. Best view we had on our Iberian trip and highly recommended.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear "plainsrefugee"
Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our views and our staff.

It will be our pleasure to host you in your next visit to Sagres.

Kind regards,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This Pousada is in a fabulous location, on a high cliff
Overlooking the ocean and a pretty, sandy beach below.
There are lots of cliff top trails for exploring.
Pay the extra to have a room with a sea view and a private
Balcony. Great vantage point for sunsets!

Room Tip: Pay for a room with a sea view and private balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear "bkriehl",

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back .

With kind regards,

Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

What are the three factors that influence the value of a real estate? "Location, Location, Location."
Well, here you can't beat that. The location, the views, sunsets, pool area, stunnig to say the least. You also can arrive by your own helicopter, there is a landing site for that.
The rooms, the baths, public areas breathe still the atmosphere of the 60ies, when the place was built. A makeover would be in order, though the place is well kept and not at all run down.
All rooms have a view (see above) and a balcony. They are not too big but comfy.
Wifi is free, fast and working fine.
A drink on the terrace is cerainly in order to breathe in the beautiful surroundings.
The restaurant offers decent food and a short but nice wine list. And the service here was really outstanding. The waiting staff is well trained, friendly and attentive. We had not found that on our trip in Portugal so good.
Breakfast is a buffet with sufficient choices. But the coffe from the machine is not drinkable. also the hot water for the tea is not really hot. The waiter provides that from the kitchen.
All in all: Hotel with a very good service in a location from a picturebook.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, April 17, 2015
Dear Mr. "Jochen-v-S",
Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pousada do Infante Sagres. Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable holidays to all our dear guests and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team.
Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation.We look forward to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineapolis
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

As others have said, this is a terrific location, high on the cliffs where Europe meets the Atlantic. The views are spectacular. Sagres itself is worth a short visit, and we can't imagine staying anywhere else - but Sagres seems mostly a surfer town, with what seems to be lots of tourists and campers using it as a base to hit the many nearby beaches. The rooms were clean and comfortable - not Four Seasons quality, but much better than average and better than any other local location. The biggest plus was a welcoming and truly accommodating staff - made us feel welcomed and comfortable. Overall, a terrific price-to-quality ratio!

Room Tip: all rooms seem to face the ocean, with the more southern wing getting the best sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, April 17, 2015
Dear "Joe D",

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay and found our service and staff very good.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards,

Hélia Carvalho,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pousada de Sagres, Infante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Address: Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#4 Family Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Sagres, Infante 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a Fortress with a breath-taking view The Pousada de Sagres is part of a scenario with flavours of the sea and with great historical importance. Designed by architect Jose Segurado and opened in 1960, in the commemorations of the fifth centenary of the death of Prince D. Henrique. From here, one can see the Fortress of Sagres, from where the Portuguese caravels departed for the Discoveries. Cape St. Vicente, named Sacrum Promontorium, is one of the most south-western parts of Europe, and fishing port. Overall, Algarve signifies soft sandy beaches with turquoise blue sea, green pine forests, flowers amongst the dunes, heat and a climate for passion, whether it is in the intense summer or the tranquil winter. But Algarve is more than just that. It's in this different Algarve where you can find the small fishing town known as the Vila do Bispo (Bishop's Town) and were lies Sagres in the south of Algarve. In entering the Sagres region you absorb a mystic atmosphere surrounded by an unspoilt landscape where the sea and the mountains meet to form an unusual natural heritage. The Pousada has 51 rooms that are ideal for an invigorating rest which include air conditioning, a desk and a safe. Outside there is a magnificent pool with sun loungers around it offering a stunning view of the coast. The more active guests can go fishing, Walking or do some surfing. After a relaxing day the guests of the Pousada de Sagres, Infante, can enjoy the Pousada's restaurant, which offers its guests the best cuisine of Algarve based on the sea and the freshness of its ingredients. The Fortress of Sagres is located 5 minutes by car from the hotel and the city of Lagos can be reached within 30 minutes. Experiencing the Pousada de Sagres is a starting point to go and discover the cultural authenticity of this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Escapio and Odigeo so you can book your Pousada de Sagres, Infante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Infante Sagres
Pousada Do Infante Hotel Sagres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada de Sagres, Infante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.