We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada de Sagres, Infante to your Saves list
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What are the three factors that influence the value of a real estate? "Location, Location, Location."
Well, here you can't beat that. The location, the views, sunsets, pool area, stunnig to say the least. You also can arrive by your own helicopter, there is a landing site for that.
The rooms, the baths, public areas breathe still the atmosphere of the 60ies, when the place was built. A makeover would be in order, though the place is well kept and not at all run down.
All rooms have a view (see above) and a balcony. They are not too big but comfy.
Wifi is free, fast and working fine.
A drink on the terrace is cerainly in order to breathe in the beautiful surroundings.
The restaurant offers decent food and a short but nice wine list. And the service here was really outstanding. The waiting staff is well trained, friendly and attentive. We had not found that on our trip in Portugal so good.
Breakfast is a buffet with sufficient choices. But the coffe from the machine is not drinkable. also the hot water for the tea is not really hot. The waiter provides that from the kitchen.
All in all: Hotel with a very good service in a location from a picturebook.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mr. "Jochen-v-S",
Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pousada do Infante Sagres. Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable holidays to all our dear guests and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team.
Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation.We look forward to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    136
    43
    9
    3
See reviews for
58
245
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mineapolis
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As others have said, this is a terrific location, high on the cliffs where Europe meets the Atlantic. The views are spectacular. Sagres itself is worth a short visit, and we can't imagine staying anywhere else - but Sagres seems mostly a surfer town, with what seems to be lots of tourists and campers using it as a base to hit the many nearby beaches. The rooms were clean and comfortable - not Four Seasons quality, but much better than average and better than any other local location. The biggest plus was a welcoming and truly accommodating staff - made us feel welcomed and comfortable. Overall, a terrific price-to-quality ratio!

Room Tip: all rooms seem to face the ocean, with the more southern wing getting the best sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear "Joe D",

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay and found our service and staff very good.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards,

Hélia Carvalho,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dauphin, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This Pousada was built on an amazing point of land near the historical "End of the World" wonderful views can be enjoyed from almost any direction. The construction, in 1960, is not historical as are most Pousadas but the location allows this to be overlooked.
The staff were all wonderful, helpful and efficient.
We enjoyed the wood burning fireplace in the evening that took of a slight chill.
The restaurant was good though many may find the evening prices a bit high. Our cost for dinner for two, with wine, was over 90 €.
The rooms are a bit small as was the style at the time of construction. Once we placed our two suitcases it was quite tight. The decorating is a bit dated and far less elaborate than many other Pousadas.
Room rate was reasonable however at less than 80€ for this time of the year.
Overall, worth a visit.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear "Dauphindave",

Thank you so much for choosing Pousada de Sagres anf for posting this review.

Thank you for highlighting the great location, food and service provided.

Recognition its always welcome and give us encouragement to continue working in order to meet our guests expectations.

Looking forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Most rooms overlook the stunning cliffs and fortress of Sagres, which are in fact within walking distance. A world-class location.

The room was clean and comfortable, although the decor and fittings are outdated - a trip back to the 1970s. The lounges and common areas are elegant, but rather gloomy and dark. It takes persistence to get a drink from the bar. I reckon they could liven the place up a bit without sacrificing the relaxing and peaceful atmosphere.

The breakfast was varied but only okay in terms of quality. Coffee was from a dispensing machine; a place of this calibre should offer fresh brewed coffee.

Excellent value for money at this time of year.

Room Tip: Second floor, ocean view is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear "Spadina2",
Thank you for visiting us and for posting this review on Trypadvisor.
It´s through guest feedback that we are able to confirm our strong points, as well as identify any area that may require improvement. We will share your comments with our staff.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and look forward to your return to Pousada de Sagres.

Sincerely,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Just completed a two night stay here. Agree with recommendation to get an ocean view room. The views over the cliffs out to the fort were truly breathtaking, with a fabulous sunset from the balcony each night. Room was spotlessly clean, and the bed comfortable. Free and fast wifi with a strong signal in the room and on balcony. Luis, at reception, was wonderful in making us feel completely welcome from the moment we arrived. Ate breakfast both mornings, delicious and full of variety. Enjoyed after dinner drinks in the bar in front of a real fire. Wholly romantic and relaxing. For the other commenter who struggled to understand the decor, think historic mission style, with moorish tiles and wood. Not dumpy old, but clean and charming, like experiencing a slice of Portuguese culture. Would love to return and stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay the tiny bit more for ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, March 11, 2015
Dear "MB",

Thank you so much for choosing Pousada de Sagres, for the five-star review and for your nice comments.

I have personally conveyed your feedback to the team. I am certain that this will serve us as a source of inspiration to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.

Once again we would like to thank you for supporting us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

I was slightly disappointed that this pousada was built to be a hotel and had no historic significance. It was a modern hotel. Great staff and services. Good breakfast and wifi. Amazing view! View alone was worth it. Easy access to cape Vincent, SW corner of Europe, went there for the sunset. Free easy parking and good rooms.

Cons: far from other Algarve cities. Half an hour to Lagos and an hour to silves castle. I wish I picked a hotel near Lagos/portimao for better access through the Algarve.

But if you have time and want to enjoy Sagres and West Algarve, stay here. It's a good hotel

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, March 11, 2015
Dear "dmath35489",
Thank you so much for choosing Pousada de Sagres on your recent visit to Sagres.
We are delighted to read your review and to know that you had a wonderful stay and have enjoyed the Service, the view and the breakfast.

It is very grateful for us, to make part of all your magnificent experiences in our Pousada.

We hope to see you soon again in our Pousada, if you need anything, please don’t hesitate on contacting us.

With my kind regards,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

It is a nice hotel in front of the nicest place there. You can see through the window a real portrait. The hotel itself needs some minor refurbishing, but it really does not create any major harm. Restaurant is very good, but a little bit expensive, for sure you can find cheapest options with same quality in the city. (we stay just one night, so I can not really recommend any)

Room Tip: Pay for the upgrade and ask for a room with the view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, February 27, 2015
Dear Mr. André M,

Thank you very much for visiting us and for posting your review on TripAdvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pousadas de Portugal and to other guests that consider a trip to Pousada de Sagres. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.

Sunny regards from Sagres.

Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada de Sagres, Infante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Address: Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#4 Family Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Sagres, Infante 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a Fortress with a breath-taking view The Pousada de Sagres is part of a scenario with flavours of the sea and with great historical importance. Designed by architect Jose Segurado and opened in 1960, in the commemorations of the fifth centenary of the death of Prince D. Henrique. From here, one can see the Fortress of Sagres, from where the Portuguese caravels departed for the Discoveries. Cape St. Vicente, named Sacrum Promontorium, is one of the most south-western parts of Europe, and fishing port. Overall, Algarve signifies soft sandy beaches with turquoise blue sea, green pine forests, flowers amongst the dunes, heat and a climate for passion, whether it is in the intense summer or the tranquil winter. But Algarve is more than just that. It's in this different Algarve where you can find the small fishing town known as the Vila do Bispo (Bishop's Town) and were lies Sagres in the south of Algarve. In entering the Sagres region you absorb a mystic atmosphere surrounded by an unspoilt landscape where the sea and the mountains meet to form an unusual natural heritage. The Pousada has 51 rooms that are ideal for an invigorating rest which include air conditioning, a desk and a safe. Outside there is a magnificent pool with sun loungers around it offering a stunning view of the coast. The more active guests can go fishing, Walking or do some surfing. After a relaxing day the guests of the Pousada de Sagres, Infante, can enjoy the Pousada's restaurant, which offers its guests the best cuisine of Algarve based on the sea and the freshness of its ingredients. The Fortress of Sagres is located 5 minutes by car from the hotel and the city of Lagos can be reached within 30 minutes. Experiencing the Pousada de Sagres is a starting point to go and discover the cultural authenticity of this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Escapio and Odigeo so you can book your Pousada de Sagres, Infante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Infante Sagres
Pousada Do Infante Hotel Sagres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada de Sagres, Infante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.