We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada de Sagres, Infante to your Saves list
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Lagos, Portugal
1 review
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We decided to enjoy this Pousada for my birthday. Whilst the lunch and service during the day was very pleasant we had a very disappointing morning when we came to pay the bill. The card machine wouldn't accept any of our cards and the young man on the reception loaned me an umbrella to go to the nearest cash machine in sagres. It was appauling weather and I was duly drenched in the first few seconds of going outside the hotel. I was able to collect the cash of course and when entering the hotel the receptionist said'you are quite correct, it is the fault of our machine. he the loaned me a towel. No apologies and an offer of a coffee or anything.
I am very surprised I have not received an apology of any kind. I did write to trip advisor to explain about this problem and notice that my comments do not appear in the November comments. Hoping to hear further. Mrs J. Bailey

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    127
    42
    6
    3
See reviews for
53
229
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here the last night of a REI hiking trip. The hotel has some really fabulous things going for it but also had a couple quirks. Nothing that ruined the stay but when a place like this has even little issues it's they seem rather glaring since they're setting the bar so high.

Room was large and the beds comfortable but not incredibly. The decor was a weird kind of retro resort chic (my words, I really don't know what to call it). The light on the bedstand next to my bed had a wiring issue and wouldn't stay on. Had someone come and look at it but they weren't able to fix it. Was annoying because I'd wanted to read for a little bit before going to sleep. If I'd been there another night I would have asked if they could replace the lamp with one that worked properly.

Otherwise, the place was pretty much as expected and seemed to be meticulously maintained in the common areas. The buffet breakfast was amazing.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Panne, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Amazing view on the Ocean , perfect location to discover the surrounding area .
Nice rooms , well clean , great staff and delicious food , old port and madeira wines make your stay unforgotable ...
Be back asap ...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a wonderful full-service hotel. We stayed for one night in January in a suite and it was very comfortable for our family of four. In addition, there are wonderful shared spaces on the ground floor with fireplace and games available. The view is unbeatable and the staff very helpful and nice. I would return if I could!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As residents of northern Europe, we wanted to celebrate my husband's January birthday in a sunny location, while avoiding the busier tourist destinations. On the far southwest corner of the European continent, we put together our own 'package' and found the Pousada de Sagres an excellent location for this trip and base to explore the interesting sites in the region.

The Pousada's location on the cliffs above the Atlantic Ocean is special. Even though early January was a quiet period, the hotel was going full tilt. It was beautifully decorated in a Christmas and holiday spirit, the fragrant eucalyptus log fire was burning every evening in the beautiful lounge fireplace, and the restaurant was fully operational morning, noon and evening.

Our room's balcony was well-placed to enjoy the striking sunsets over the Atlantic, and it was so sunny that we had to ask for a parasol in order to sit there. Hotel staff immediately arranged this for us.

When we were not taking in the sunsets, we were exploring the region. There are ancient fortresses, walking paths along the sea and cliffs, megaliths and rock formations, and lots of interesting flora and seabirds. Because of its location at the edge of the continent, the region was considered to be sacred in ancient times. In the 15th century, Henry the Navigator and other Portuguese explorers used it as a base to explore the world, venturing out beyond what was known at that time. Today, the town of Sagres has morphed into a cute surfing town, with its own fishing harbour and some lower scale tourist infrastructure. The fresh fish and seafood caught by the fisherman finds its way every day to the dinner plates in the local restaurants. It's the place to be if you like a low-key tourist destination with a down-home feel.

When returning to the Pousada one day after our own explorations, we found a delicious chocolate cake and bottle of bubbly in our room that the management had left for my husband to celebrate his birthday. It was a delightful surprise and very thoughtful of the Pousada to offer us this treat.

We traveled to Sagres by rented car from Lisbon, but discovered that there are train connections from Lisbon to Lagos, which is about 25 km from Sagres. Regular bus service links Lagos to Sagres, so for those who want to use public transportation, this is a viable option.

We booked our room at the Pousada through the central reservation number. We stayed at several Pousada's on this trip, and they were able to put the trip together, sort out the various special offers available, and find the one that suited us the best.

The Pousada is quiet and the walls between rooms are thick. Even so, we did notice young children in the room next to ours, and wondered why even when the hotel was not that busy, guests were being placed in rooms next to each other. Our experience is that hotels normally try to place guests in alternate rooms when they aren't so busy in order to ensure that guests can enjoy a quiet room. This is one small tip that could be passed on.

Our stay at the Pousada de Sagres ticked all the boxes for a special January birthday celebration: We enjoyed our stay in the beautiful hotel and the special birthday surprise; had a base to explore the region's spectacular scenery; liked being in an interesting yet not too touristy location; and appreciated the genuinely kind and helpful local people. For an off-season visit to the 'edge' of Europe, a stay in Sagres, and in particular at it's Pousada, is definitely an interesting option.

Room Tip: I think most all the rooms have balconies and beautiful views. If you want a sunset view, the south...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

His is a reference place in Portugal. Here you can join the old Portuguese architecture with an amazing view over the ocean. It' s just amazing. Sagres is a location where surf fans appreciate a lot during the hot months, and is very connected with good food and natures treasures. Just discover it.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had to visit Sagres to commune with Prince Henry the Navigator. Sleepy town in winter; the hotel was the place to be. Sits on the rugged coastal cliffs, view of the fort and lighthouse, beautiful sunrises and sunsets. Restaurant was well appointed with excellent service and the food was tasty. Very cosmopolitan atmosphere with travelers from all over the globe. Wonderful experience.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada de Sagres, Infante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Address: Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#4 Family Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Sagres, Infante 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a Fortress with a breath-taking view The Pousada de Sagres is part of a scenario with flavours of the sea and with great historical importance. Designed by architect Jose Segurado and opened in 1960, in the commemorations of the fifth centenary of the death of Prince D. Henrique. From here, one can see the Fortress of Sagres, from where the Portuguese caravels departed for the Discoveries. Cape St. Vicente, named Sacrum Promontorium, is one of the most south-western parts of Europe, and fishing port. Overall, Algarve signifies soft sandy beaches with turquoise blue sea, green pine forests, flowers amongst the dunes, heat and a climate for passion, whether it is in the intense summer or the tranquil winter. But Algarve is more than just that. It's in this different Algarve where you can find the small fishing town known as the Vila do Bispo (Bishop's Town) and were lies Sagres in the south of Algarve. In entering the Sagres region you absorb a mystic atmosphere surrounded by an unspoilt landscape where the sea and the mountains meet to form an unusual natural heritage. The Pousada has 51 rooms that are ideal for an invigorating rest which include air conditioning, a desk and a safe. Outside there is a magnificent pool with sun loungers around it offering a stunning view of the coast. The more active guests can go fishing, Walking or do some surfing. After a relaxing day the guests of the Pousada de Sagres, Infante, can enjoy the Pousada's restaurant, which offers its guests the best cuisine of Algarve based on the sea and the freshness of its ingredients. The Fortress of Sagres is located 5 minutes by car from the hotel and the city of Lagos can be reached within 30 minutes. Experiencing the Pousada de Sagres is a starting point to go and discover the cultural authenticity of this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pousada de Sagres, Infante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Infante Sagres
Pousada Do Infante Hotel Sagres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada de Sagres, Infante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.