We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Sagres” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Save Saved
You added Pousada de Sagres, Infante to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Sagres
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb Sagres”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife & I here stayed for a week in July 2014. The room with a sea view was brilliant & we could see all the way upto Cape St Vincent, spectacular scenery all round.
The staff could not have been more helpful, so high marks again.
In the event that the evening meal doesn`t suit, there is a very nice restraurant just a few moments away, Villa Velha, which we can recommend.
I would not hesitate to stay here again at some time in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    117
    37
    6
    3
See reviews for
43
209
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first Pousada visit. Not cheap, but had heard good reviews. This Pousada was beautiful, with a constantly visible manageress who ensured this place ran like clockwork. The small touches, a chocolate on your bed each night, complimentary fresh juice at reception, truly attentive and friendly staff, it was a real joy. We spent seven nights, and never tired of the place. Pool, tennis court, beaches, it was superb. The next venue, the Pousada at Caiscais, would really benefit of a week spent by the management from Sagres......

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you want an amazing view then book one of the superior rooms with a sea view and you will not be disappointed. The staff are so courteous and friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Nothing is ever too much trouble. This year for the first time we met Maria, the lovely lady who is in charge of beauty treatments. My friend and I booked two facials with her and had the most relaxing time. She checked in with us before she left that evening to make sure everything was okay and again with us the following morning. Her room is a haven of peace and calm and we can't wait to go back and try her signature pedicure and manicure which she will be commencing shortly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear "LBC487",

We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay and that you have enjoyed the Pousada, the Beauty Treatments and the Staff.

It is very grateful for us, to make part of all your magnificent experiences in our Pousada.

We hope to see you soon again.

With my kind regards,

Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arriving in Sagres it is easy to find this hotel as it stands out on the promontory. We stayed here for 2 nights, having booked a superior sea view room. Our room commanded amazing views over the pool and out across the sea to Cape St. Vincent. The room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and had a large sunny balcony.
Sagres is within very easy walking distance. We may have been a little early in the season as some of the shops were closed but it was a fairly quiet little town with a beautiful harbour and lovely walks along the shoreline.
Breakfast consisted of an excellent buffet, tea and coffee being help yourself from a machine, which spoilt it a bit, but a very obliging waitress made me a pot of tea.
We had dinner in the restaurant, a good menu, well served.
Excellent public areas.
A lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Ms. "HilaryT221111 ",

Thank you very much for visiting us and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as the service of our staff, the breakfast and the dinner. We will share your kind comments with them.

Glad you had a great time.

Kind regards,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went for a quiet weekend to this location but they decided to hold an international children's day just before we arrived so our quiet day by the pool was negated by 50 kids running around from 9 - 6. Would have been nice to be informed so that we could make alternative arrangements!
Strong winds but guess it should be expected at the "end of the world".
Good food and wine in the restaurant. Leek Bras style to die for (if you like eggs)!

Room Tip: Superior rooms with sea view a tad small but new side ones are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear "Yegodsandlittlefish"

Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to post this review.

We would like to thank you for your nice observations about the restaurant.

We apologize because we did not meet your expectations. We do appreciate your input, because your feedback help us to improve.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Sagres.


Sincerely,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Pousada is situate on the edge of the town ( walking distance to good restaurants ) & indeed on the edge of the cliff giving you wonderful views across the bay to Cape St Vincent. We had a sea facing room with great views & the sun all day. Staff were most friendly & breakfasts as usual very good. We will definite stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear "mcbIreland",

Thank you for the five-star review of Pousada de Sagres!
We are happy to read that the hotel met your expectations and we look forward to welcome you back.
Kindest regards,

Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband and I booked this hotel for three nights through the Pousada association of Portugal. We did upgrade to a superior room which I am glad we did because we were traveling with our 15 year old nephew and a cot in a standard room would have been very cramped. The room was clean, nicely decorated and had a large balcony overlooking the car park and ocean beyond. This spot is very windy, so may be quite cool in the summer shoulder seasons. The breakfasts were wonderful, the staff extremely well trained and attentive. We did not eat in the restaurant because our nephew's likes are narrow and plain. The menu certainly looked tasty to us and had we been alone, we would have tried it. The beds were quite hard. The linens were crisp and the pillows were good. The pool is nice, loungers are high quality and it is quiet. The water is cold though. The common areas are tastefully decorated and it is a lovely, reasonably priced alternative to a standard hotel one can find anywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room. The view is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear "Jabbht",

We are delighted to read your review and it gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us.

Thank you for highlighting the great location, breakfast and service provided.

I have personally conveyed your feedback to the team and they are all very happy to know that they made your experience even more special.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada de Sagres, Infante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Address: Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#4 Family Hotel in Sagres
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Sagres, Infante 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a Fortress with a breath-taking view The Pousada de Sagres is part of a scenario with flavours of the sea and with great historical importance. Designed by architect Jose Segurado and opened in 1960, in the commemorations of the fifth centenary of the death of Prince D. Henrique. From here, one can see the Fortress of Sagres, from where the Portuguese caravels departed for the Discoveries. Cape St. Vicente, named Sacrum Promontorium, is one of the most south-western parts of Europe, and fishing port. Overall, Algarve signifies soft sandy beaches with turquoise blue sea, green pine forests, flowers amongst the dunes, heat and a climate for passion, whether it is in the intense summer or the tranquil winter. But Algarve is more than just that. It's in this different Algarve where you can find the small fishing town known as the Vila do Bispo (Bishop's Town) and were lies Sagres in the south of Algarve. In entering the Sagres region you absorb a mystic atmosphere surrounded by an unspoilt landscape where the sea and the mountains meet to form an unusual natural heritage. The Pousada has 51 rooms that are ideal for an invigorating rest which include air conditioning, a desk and a safe. Outside there is a magnificent pool with sun loungers around it offering a stunning view of the coast. The more active guests can go fishing, Walking or do some surfing. After a relaxing day the guests of the Pousada de Sagres, Infante, can enjoy the Pousada's restaurant, which offers its guests the best cuisine of Algarve based on the sea and the freshness of its ingredients. The Fortress of Sagres is located 5 minutes by car from the hotel and the city of Lagos can be reached within 30 minutes. Experiencing the Pousada de Sagres is a starting point to go and discover the cultural authenticity of this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio and Venere so you can book your Pousada de Sagres, Infante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Infante Sagres
Pousada Do Infante Hotel Sagres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada de Sagres, Infante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.