We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Save Saved
You added Pousada de Sagres, Infante to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Sagres
Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Pousada is situate on the edge of the town ( walking distance to good restaurants ) & indeed on the edge of the cliff giving you wonderful views across the bay to Cape St Vincent. We had a sea facing room with great views & the sun all day. Staff were most friendly & breakfasts as usual very good. We will definite stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    114
    37
    6
    3
See reviews for
40
203
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I booked this hotel for three nights through the Pousada association of Portugal. We did upgrade to a superior room which I am glad we did because we were traveling with our 15 year old nephew and a cot in a standard room would have been very cramped. The room was clean, nicely decorated and had a large balcony overlooking the car park and ocean beyond. This spot is very windy, so may be quite cool in the summer shoulder seasons. The breakfasts were wonderful, the staff extremely well trained and attentive. We did not eat in the restaurant because our nephew's likes are narrow and plain. The menu certainly looked tasty to us and had we been alone, we would have tried it. The beds were quite hard. The linens were crisp and the pillows were good. The pool is nice, loungers are high quality and it is quiet. The water is cold though. The common areas are tastefully decorated and it is a lovely, reasonably priced alternative to a standard hotel one can find anywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room. The view is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Very quiet and cosy place. Good breakfast, great view, a wellness centre with a wonderful therapist Maria. Very helpful staff. Приятное место для полного расслабления. Только чайничка все же не хватает

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Ms.Victoria O,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor about your experience and for the five-star review of Pousada de Sagres.
It was great to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your experience with us.

Warmest regards,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

After having stayed in the luxurious Pousada at Porto the week before, we were looking forward to our stay at Sagres.
All Portuguese pousadas are run by the Pestana Group which is very professional and owns/runs some of the very best spots (pousadas, hôtels, resorts...) in the country and some abroad.
Our expectations were therefore high.
During our stay, the weather was lousy (cloudy sky and mist on land and see) which is not Pestana's fault of course, but the main thing for which we went there, the view over Sagres cape, was dull.
The pousada itself could have compensated but it didn't.
Upon arrival, the very sweet young trainee told us that the room wasn't ready and offered us two vouchers for a drink at the bar.
The trainee also gave us a small scale local map with interesting information regarding nice walks to be done around the cliffs. We took some of those paths and believe they must be very nice with sunshine.
As far as the building is concerned, the older part of the pousada needs a serious refurbishing as several areas look tired.
I agree with the comentator hereafter stating that the hotel smels. A building sitting by the seaside needs a lot of airing to get rid of the sea humidity.
We had dinner at the hotel. It was ok. Service was friendly but not really professional with trainees serving.
The location is a guarantee for quietness. He had it during the night.
Breakfast was quite good.

Room Tip: If you wish to have the nicest view over the cape, you will be staying in the older part. If you ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Upon arriving the gal at the desk ______ Lopes (female) - (sorry I don't remember her name) was very pleasant & also made a great suggestion for us for dinner that night. She also was very knowledgable about the Algarve area & spoke english very well.

The restaurant was Carlos Restaurant - amazing food/service, etc.

The hotel was very clean, the breakfast was delicious & had several options from different breads, fresh juices, eggs, meats, cheeses, champagne & fruit.

We didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel other than for breakfast & sleeping. Overall, this hotel was very comfortable but I think a bit pricey however, it is probably one of the best hotels in the area if you want to spend it in Sagres. We were taking the days & traveling to other parts of the Algarve, although it was a nice place to stay it was a little out of the way as we drove back & forth to different areas.

If you are wanting a place to stay for a few days, relax & just do nothing it is a great place to hang out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Ms. Stephanie,

On behalf of our team a big thank you for choosing Pousada do Infante on your recent visit to Sagres.
Our team will continue making all efforts to guarantee that Pousada do Infante can be your Home in Sagres.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MESA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My first experience with the Portugal flag hotel chain was fantastic! It reminded me of a cruise ship experience, from the food presentation in the restaurant (changes of silverware in mid-dining, several appetizers to taste, and wonderful entrees) to little things, like a daily news brief printout focusing on your home country news of the day. The views from the hotel are incredible, and there is a neighboring beach if you tire of the huge pool on the property. My wife and I rented bikes right from the hotel and rode 7 kilometers to the historic lighthouse that sits at the crossroads of the Atlantic Ocean and Mediterranean Sea (Straights of Gilbralter) - a great way to see Cape Sagres! The service at the hotel is top notch, and everyone works hard to make your stay exceptional!

Room Tip: Book a room that faces the ocean (live a little!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Thomas H,

Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor. All your informations were very useful because it gives an idea of the Pousada de Sagres for future travellers.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our rooms, restaurant and staff.

It will be our pleasure to host you in your next visit to Sagres.

Kind regards,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We had only one night but being at this posada offered immense relaxation and comfort. Highly recommended.The view of the fort and beach was magical. Nice to have such a spacious private patio. We spent time relaxing in the lounge, as the weather was a bit chilly. Loved the music. A bountiful breakfast was served.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear "Roocher",

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pousada de Sagres. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in a near future,

Sincerely,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pousada de Sagres, Infante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Address: Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#4 Family Hotel in Sagres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Sagres, Infante 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a Fortress with a breath-taking view The Pousada de Sagres is part of a scenario with flavours of the sea and with great historical importance. Designed by architect Jose Segurado and opened in 1960, in the commemorations of the fifth centenary of the death of Prince D. Henrique. From here, one can see the Fortress of Sagres, from where the Portuguese caravels departed for the Discoveries. Cape St. Vicente, named Sacrum Promontorium, is one of the most south-western parts of Europe, and fishing port. Overall, Algarve signifies soft sandy beaches with turquoise blue sea, green pine forests, flowers amongst the dunes, heat and a climate for passion, whether it is in the intense summer or the tranquil winter. But Algarve is more than just that. It's in this different Algarve where you can find the small fishing town known as the Vila do Bispo (Bishop's Town) and were lies Sagres in the south of Algarve. In entering the Sagres region you absorb a mystic atmosphere surrounded by an unspoilt landscape where the sea and the mountains meet to form an unusual natural heritage. The Pousada has 51 rooms that are ideal for an invigorating rest which include air conditioning, a desk and a safe. Outside there is a magnificent pool with sun loungers around it offering a stunning view of the coast. The more active guests can go fishing, Walking or do some surfing. After a relaxing day the guests of the Pousada de Sagres, Infante, can enjoy the Pousada's restaurant, which offers its guests the best cuisine of Algarve based on the sea and the freshness of its ingredients. The Fortress of Sagres is located 5 minutes by car from the hotel and the city of Lagos can be reached within 30 minutes. Experiencing the Pousada de Sagres is a starting point to go and discover the cultural authenticity of this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Pousada de Sagres, Infante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Infante Sagres
Pousada Do Infante Hotel Sagres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada de Sagres, Infante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.