We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there for the view. Don't expect much more.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada de Sagres, Infante to your Saves list
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Go there for the view. Don't expect much more.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

After having stayed in the luxurious Pousada at Porto the week before, we were looking forward to our stay at Sagres.
All Portuguese pousadas are run by the Pestana Group which is very professional and owns/runs some of the very best spots (pousadas, hôtels, resorts...) in the country and some abroad.
Our expectations were therefore high.
During our stay, the weather was lousy (cloudy sky and mist on land and see) which is not Pestana's fault of course, but the main thing for which we went there, the view over Sagres cape, was dull.
The pousada itself could have compensated but it didn't.
Upon arrival, the very sweet young trainee told us that the room wasn't ready and offered us two vouchers for a drink at the bar.
The trainee also gave us a small scale local map with interesting information regarding nice walks to be done around the cliffs. We took some of those paths and believe they must be very nice with sunshine.
As far as the building is concerned, the older part of the pousada needs a serious refurbishing as several areas look tired.
I agree with the comentator hereafter stating that the hotel smels. A building sitting by the seaside needs a lot of airing to get rid of the sea humidity.
We had dinner at the hotel. It was ok. Service was friendly but not really professional with trainees serving.
The location is a guarantee for quietness. He had it during the night.
Breakfast was quite good.

Room Tip: If you wish to have the nicest view over the cape, you will be staying in the older part. If you ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    126
    41
    6
    3
See reviews for
50
223
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Upon arriving the gal at the desk ______ Lopes (female) - (sorry I don't remember her name) was very pleasant & also made a great suggestion for us for dinner that night. She also was very knowledgable about the Algarve area & spoke english very well.

The restaurant was Carlos Restaurant - amazing food/service, etc.

The hotel was very clean, the breakfast was delicious & had several options from different breads, fresh juices, eggs, meats, cheeses, champagne & fruit.

We didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel other than for breakfast & sleeping. Overall, this hotel was very comfortable but I think a bit pricey however, it is probably one of the best hotels in the area if you want to spend it in Sagres. We were taking the days & traveling to other parts of the Algarve, although it was a nice place to stay it was a little out of the way as we drove back & forth to different areas.

If you are wanting a place to stay for a few days, relax & just do nothing it is a great place to hang out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Ms. Stephanie,

On behalf of our team a big thank you for choosing Pousada do Infante on your recent visit to Sagres.
Our team will continue making all efforts to guarantee that Pousada do Infante can be your Home in Sagres.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MESA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
479 helpful votes 479 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My first experience with the Portugal flag hotel chain was fantastic! It reminded me of a cruise ship experience, from the food presentation in the restaurant (changes of silverware in mid-dining, several appetizers to taste, and wonderful entrees) to little things, like a daily news brief printout focusing on your home country news of the day. The views from the hotel are incredible, and there is a neighboring beach if you tire of the huge pool on the property. My wife and I rented bikes right from the hotel and rode 7 kilometers to the historic lighthouse that sits at the crossroads of the Atlantic Ocean and Mediterranean Sea (Straights of Gilbralter) - a great way to see Cape Sagres! The service at the hotel is top notch, and everyone works hard to make your stay exceptional!

Room Tip: Book a room that faces the ocean (live a little!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Mr. Thomas H,

Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor. All your informations were very useful because it gives an idea of the Pousada de Sagres for future travellers.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our rooms, restaurant and staff.

It will be our pleasure to host you in your next visit to Sagres.

Kind regards,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We had only one night but being at this posada offered immense relaxation and comfort. Highly recommended.The view of the fort and beach was magical. Nice to have such a spacious private patio. We spent time relaxing in the lounge, as the weather was a bit chilly. Loved the music. A bountiful breakfast was served.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear "Roocher",

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pousada de Sagres. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in a near future,

Sincerely,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Having had a recent poor experience with another Pousada, I was somewhat in trepidation about the Sagres Pousada. My fears were totally unfounded, as this proved a real quality experience. The staff (all of them) are kind, helpful and smile. The Pousada has a feeling of the quality of Pousadas of old, and yes, although the rooms are a bit dated, the location, demeanour of the staff and above all, the wonderful view from front facing rooms really make it.
We pushed the boat out for a suite (very reasonably priced) and were really pleased at the touches (flowers in the room, a bottle of sparkling wine in the ice bucket, some hand made chocolates). The hotel is a 10 minute stroll down to an unspoiled beach, and on the other side, the harbour. The hotel has sizeable grounds, a tennis court and a decent sized swimming pool.
Dinner in the restaurant was of exceptional quality, with attentive smiling staff, and great food. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of fresh food, and unhurried even when we arrived just before official closing time.
This Pousada has held on to a bit of heritage and has not been drowned in the Americanised mediocrity which most chains impose. My faith has been restored!

Room Tip: Sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear"crawfie",

We are delighted to read your review and it gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us and that you have relish the commitment of our staff.

Thank you for highlighting the great location, food and service provided.

I have personally conveyed your feedback to the team and they are all very happy to know that they made your experience even more special. I am certain that this will serve us as a source of inspiration to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.

Once again we would like to thank you for supporting us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed here two nights in one of their suites. Comfortable room, although not luxurious. The place could use a little renovation, but with the proximity of the ocean, maintenance becomes difficult. The views are totally amazing. You have wide views of the Atlantic ocean, and you can also see Cabo St Vicente and the Fortaleza de Sagres, both worth a visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite which consisted of a bedroom and a separate living room, separated by folding d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear "Cachirulatravels",

We appreciate your honest feedback and wish to thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

We are constantly working to ensure a pleasurable stay for all our customers so we really valuate your feedback because it will help us improve our service.

Hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Pousada is not in a classic historical building like most but is in a style that might be a little dated. The restaurant has beautiful portuguese azulejo tiles though.
The rooms are nicely decorated in a modern fashion, fairly large and usually come with balconies.
Great place for visiting the surrounding area, such as the fortaleza de sagres, cabo sao vicente and driving up the west coast. Quite a few beaches within short driving distance.
Breakfast buffet is delicious and offers a wide range of choices.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear "MyTravellingDiary ",

Thank you for visiting us anf for taking the time to post this review.

We would like to thank you for your nice observations about the Pousada . We will share your kind comments with our staff.

We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and look forward to your return to Pousada.

Sincerely,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada de Sagres, Infante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Address: Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#4 Family Hotel in Sagres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Sagres, Infante 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a Fortress with a breath-taking view The Pousada de Sagres is part of a scenario with flavours of the sea and with great historical importance. Designed by architect Jose Segurado and opened in 1960, in the commemorations of the fifth centenary of the death of Prince D. Henrique. From here, one can see the Fortress of Sagres, from where the Portuguese caravels departed for the Discoveries. Cape St. Vicente, named Sacrum Promontorium, is one of the most south-western parts of Europe, and fishing port. Overall, Algarve signifies soft sandy beaches with turquoise blue sea, green pine forests, flowers amongst the dunes, heat and a climate for passion, whether it is in the intense summer or the tranquil winter. But Algarve is more than just that. It's in this different Algarve where you can find the small fishing town known as the Vila do Bispo (Bishop's Town) and were lies Sagres in the south of Algarve. In entering the Sagres region you absorb a mystic atmosphere surrounded by an unspoilt landscape where the sea and the mountains meet to form an unusual natural heritage. The Pousada has 51 rooms that are ideal for an invigorating rest which include air conditioning, a desk and a safe. Outside there is a magnificent pool with sun loungers around it offering a stunning view of the coast. The more active guests can go fishing, Walking or do some surfing. After a relaxing day the guests of the Pousada de Sagres, Infante, can enjoy the Pousada's restaurant, which offers its guests the best cuisine of Algarve based on the sea and the freshness of its ingredients. The Fortress of Sagres is located 5 minutes by car from the hotel and the city of Lagos can be reached within 30 minutes. Experiencing the Pousada de Sagres is a starting point to go and discover the cultural authenticity of this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pousada de Sagres, Infante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Infante Sagres
Pousada Do Infante Hotel Sagres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada de Sagres, Infante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.