We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious view from balcony, quiet lounge and wonderful breakfast.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada de Sagres, Infante to your Saves list
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Glorious view from balcony, quiet lounge and wonderful breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We had only one night but being at this posada offered immense relaxation and comfort. Highly recommended.The view of the fort and beach was magical. Nice to have such a spacious private patio. We spent time relaxing in the lounge, as the weather was a bit chilly. Loved the music. A bountiful breakfast was served.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear "Roocher",

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pousada de Sagres. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in a near future,

Sincerely,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    126
    41
    6
    3
See reviews for
50
223
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Having had a recent poor experience with another Pousada, I was somewhat in trepidation about the Sagres Pousada. My fears were totally unfounded, as this proved a real quality experience. The staff (all of them) are kind, helpful and smile. The Pousada has a feeling of the quality of Pousadas of old, and yes, although the rooms are a bit dated, the location, demeanour of the staff and above all, the wonderful view from front facing rooms really make it.
We pushed the boat out for a suite (very reasonably priced) and were really pleased at the touches (flowers in the room, a bottle of sparkling wine in the ice bucket, some hand made chocolates). The hotel is a 10 minute stroll down to an unspoiled beach, and on the other side, the harbour. The hotel has sizeable grounds, a tennis court and a decent sized swimming pool.
Dinner in the restaurant was of exceptional quality, with attentive smiling staff, and great food. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of fresh food, and unhurried even when we arrived just before official closing time.
This Pousada has held on to a bit of heritage and has not been drowned in the Americanised mediocrity which most chains impose. My faith has been restored!

Room Tip: Sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear"crawfie",

We are delighted to read your review and it gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us and that you have relish the commitment of our staff.

Thank you for highlighting the great location, food and service provided.

I have personally conveyed your feedback to the team and they are all very happy to know that they made your experience even more special. I am certain that this will serve us as a source of inspiration to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.

Once again we would like to thank you for supporting us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed here two nights in one of their suites. Comfortable room, although not luxurious. The place could use a little renovation, but with the proximity of the ocean, maintenance becomes difficult. The views are totally amazing. You have wide views of the Atlantic ocean, and you can also see Cabo St Vicente and the Fortaleza de Sagres, both worth a visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite which consisted of a bedroom and a separate living room, separated by folding d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear "Cachirulatravels",

We appreciate your honest feedback and wish to thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

We are constantly working to ensure a pleasurable stay for all our customers so we really valuate your feedback because it will help us improve our service.

Hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Pousada is not in a classic historical building like most but is in a style that might be a little dated. The restaurant has beautiful portuguese azulejo tiles though.
The rooms are nicely decorated in a modern fashion, fairly large and usually come with balconies.
Great place for visiting the surrounding area, such as the fortaleza de sagres, cabo sao vicente and driving up the west coast. Quite a few beaches within short driving distance.
Breakfast buffet is delicious and offers a wide range of choices.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear "MyTravellingDiary ",

Thank you for visiting us anf for taking the time to post this review.

We would like to thank you for your nice observations about the Pousada . We will share your kind comments with our staff.

We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and look forward to your return to Pousada.

Sincerely,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis Missouri, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We arrived a day earlier the our reservations,(because of a flight problem). We were welcomed with no hassles. Our room was on the first floor and we had an incredable view of the ocean. Our room was comfortable and clean. We stayed for five nights, and had the included breakfast each morning, it was ok. The staff was great. We did some day trips while in Sagres otherwise one would have difficulty finding things to do just in Sagres.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear "WildAsparagus",

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pousada de Sagres. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.


We would be delighted to welcome you again in a near future,

Sincerely,

Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful setting,cannot be beter.pousada not old,built as a pousada in 1960.rooms old,needs some love.food at dinner was disappointing.breakfast was very average,all the fruit was old,past sell by date.probably the best place for Sagres anyway,as not much is available

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Mr. "Johannesvd",

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Pousada de Sagres.

Pousada de Sagres is a place where the comfort and satisfaction of our guests really matters, so I was concerned to read we didn't exceed your expectations, as our team pledges to provide the best personal service to each of our guests. We apologize because we did not meet your expectations. We do appreciate your input, because your feedback helps us to improve.

In the buffet breakfast we always put fresh fruit however, I was concerned to read your remarks about the issue you mentioned, as the Pousada de Sagres, according to the majority of our guests, has got a very good breakfast options. Extensive training will be given to all our staff to avoid any operational difficulties in the future.
We are sure, that as a result of these actions, the Pousada de Sagres will emerge as a more reliable and even more customer responsive hotel henceforth.

Once again, we would like to thank you for sharing this matter with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My wife and I just returned from 11 days in the Algarve, staying at pousadas. Our first was at Sagres for 3 nights. The site is lovely and the grounds beautifully kept. We were a bit late in arriving and the staff was quite anxious about our arrival. They were very helpful at taking our bags and explaining the facilities, etc. Our room was nicely appointed and had a nice balcony. The meals were delicious and the service was attentive. The breakfast was excellent and could be taken inside or out on the patio. Sagres is a nice location to use as a base to explore the western end of the Algarve. As with all the pousadas, a car is a necessary but driving was easy and when near, the directions to the pousada are well indicated. We would certainly use the pousada again and encourage our friends to do the same.
B & D J. Canada

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Doug J,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor and for the five-star review of Pousada de Sagres.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your nice comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in a near future,

Best Regards,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada de Sagres, Infante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Address: Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#4 Family Hotel in Sagres
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Sagres, Infante 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a Fortress with a breath-taking view The Pousada de Sagres is part of a scenario with flavours of the sea and with great historical importance. Designed by architect Jose Segurado and opened in 1960, in the commemorations of the fifth centenary of the death of Prince D. Henrique. From here, one can see the Fortress of Sagres, from where the Portuguese caravels departed for the Discoveries. Cape St. Vicente, named Sacrum Promontorium, is one of the most south-western parts of Europe, and fishing port. Overall, Algarve signifies soft sandy beaches with turquoise blue sea, green pine forests, flowers amongst the dunes, heat and a climate for passion, whether it is in the intense summer or the tranquil winter. But Algarve is more than just that. It's in this different Algarve where you can find the small fishing town known as the Vila do Bispo (Bishop's Town) and were lies Sagres in the south of Algarve. In entering the Sagres region you absorb a mystic atmosphere surrounded by an unspoilt landscape where the sea and the mountains meet to form an unusual natural heritage. The Pousada has 51 rooms that are ideal for an invigorating rest which include air conditioning, a desk and a safe. Outside there is a magnificent pool with sun loungers around it offering a stunning view of the coast. The more active guests can go fishing, Walking or do some surfing. After a relaxing day the guests of the Pousada de Sagres, Infante, can enjoy the Pousada's restaurant, which offers its guests the best cuisine of Algarve based on the sea and the freshness of its ingredients. The Fortress of Sagres is located 5 minutes by car from the hotel and the city of Lagos can be reached within 30 minutes. Experiencing the Pousada de Sagres is a starting point to go and discover the cultural authenticity of this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pousada de Sagres, Infante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Infante Sagres
Pousada Do Infante Hotel Sagres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada de Sagres, Infante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.