We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Save Saved
You added Pousada de Sagres, Infante to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Faro, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Pousada is not in a classic historical building like most but is in a style that might be a little dated. The restaurant has beautiful portuguese azulejo tiles though.
The rooms are nicely decorated in a modern fashion, fairly large and usually come with balconies.
Great place for visiting the surrounding area, such as the fortaleza de sagres, cabo sao vicente and driving up the west coast. Quite a few beaches within short driving distance.
Breakfast buffet is delicious and offers a wide range of choices.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear "MyTravellingDiary ",

Thank you for visiting us anf for taking the time to post this review.

We would like to thank you for your nice observations about the Pousada . We will share your kind comments with our staff.

We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and look forward to your return to Pousada.

Sincerely,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    122
    38
    6
    3
See reviews for
45
213
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Louis Missouri, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We arrived a day earlier the our reservations,(because of a flight problem). We were welcomed with no hassles. Our room was on the first floor and we had an incredable view of the ocean. Our room was comfortable and clean. We stayed for five nights, and had the included breakfast each morning, it was ok. The staff was great. We did some day trips while in Sagres otherwise one would have difficulty finding things to do just in Sagres.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear "WildAsparagus",

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pousada de Sagres. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.


We would be delighted to welcome you again in a near future,

Sincerely,

Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful setting,cannot be beter.pousada not old,built as a pousada in 1960.rooms old,needs some love.food at dinner was disappointing.breakfast was very average,all the fruit was old,past sell by date.probably the best place for Sagres anyway,as not much is available

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Mr. "Johannesvd",

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Pousada de Sagres.

Pousada de Sagres is a place where the comfort and satisfaction of our guests really matters, so I was concerned to read we didn't exceed your expectations, as our team pledges to provide the best personal service to each of our guests. We apologize because we did not meet your expectations. We do appreciate your input, because your feedback helps us to improve.

In the buffet breakfast we always put fresh fruit however, I was concerned to read your remarks about the issue you mentioned, as the Pousada de Sagres, according to the majority of our guests, has got a very good breakfast options. Extensive training will be given to all our staff to avoid any operational difficulties in the future.
We are sure, that as a result of these actions, the Pousada de Sagres will emerge as a more reliable and even more customer responsive hotel henceforth.

Once again, we would like to thank you for sharing this matter with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My wife and I just returned from 11 days in the Algarve, staying at pousadas. Our first was at Sagres for 3 nights. The site is lovely and the grounds beautifully kept. We were a bit late in arriving and the staff was quite anxious about our arrival. They were very helpful at taking our bags and explaining the facilities, etc. Our room was nicely appointed and had a nice balcony. The meals were delicious and the service was attentive. The breakfast was excellent and could be taken inside or out on the patio. Sagres is a nice location to use as a base to explore the western end of the Algarve. As with all the pousadas, a car is a necessary but driving was easy and when near, the directions to the pousada are well indicated. We would certainly use the pousada again and encourage our friends to do the same.
B & D J. Canada

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Doug J,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor and for the five-star review of Pousada de Sagres.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your nice comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in a near future,

Best Regards,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is a tough review to write. This is our 3rd Pousada in 11 days. While the location is beautiful, the grounds lovely, and the building impressive, this hotel is quite tired, bordering run down in some elements. The common room furniture and furniture in our room are all old and worn. Every location in the hotel smells *terribly* must, most of all our room.

The staff is professional and lovely, and they upgraded us to sea view. We are only here one night, so we will live with the smell so as not to lose the beautiful view. Our bathroom really shows signs of age with fixtures chipped and rusted, and the shower curtain really needs to be replaced.

The other two Pousadas, while much smaller and with a less impressive view, were far better maintained. We are glad we're only here for one night, also in part due to the relentless wind that makes us not want to even go outdoors.

Room Tip: Sea view or don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Jax NJ,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your feedback and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We apologize because we did not meet your expectations. We do appreciate your input, because your feedback helps us to improve.

Kind regards,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed 2 nights here whilst on our fortnight holiday driving Portugal with another couple. We chose to stay at Pousada de Sagres, Infante as its location appealed to the "surfer" of the group. Unfortunately not enough surf for him to rent a board this time.

Our welcome was very professional; we were taken up to our rooms personally - tastefully furnished with a large balcony and a view overlooking the pool and out to the ocean - just stunning!

The bathroom was large, clean and the towels fluffy and white. Pool towels were available from reception.

We ate a late lunch of grilled squid, garlic prawns and goats cheese in pastry accompanied by a bottle of rosé and sitting in the sun - just perfect.

Breakfast each day was plentiful with ample choice of everything. My friend and I had a lovely spa treatment - very soothing and relaxing.

The walk down to the bay took a mere 10 minutes as it is did into the main area - recommend a walk out to the castle, visible from the Pousada, cost approx. 3 euros to go in but it is an interesting walk around a large area with many fishermen appearing to risk their life and limbs standing on tiny rocks high above the sea casting their lines.

tip: when booking on the official pousada website if you are over a certain age (55yrs) then you can make a saving on the tariff - worth keeping in mind!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Mrs.Virginia M,

We are delighted to read your review and it gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us.

Thank you for highlighting the great location, rooms, food and service provided.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Sagres.

Sincerely,

Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tongeren, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights end april 2014. We had a first floor room with seaview: large room, very clean, good bed. Perfect breakfast and very friendly staff! We stayed once for dinner: perfect service but average food. Perfect stay for nature lovers. We followed the cliff trail to cape st Vincent on a sunny spring morning: the absolute max

Room Tip: First floor sea view to the south. Prevailing wind is north, so you get a balcon on the lee side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helia_Carvalho, Manager at Pousada de Sagres, Infante, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Ludo 001,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for the nice comments about the rooms, breakfast and staff.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We hope to welcome you again for a unforgettable stay.

Kind Regards,
Hélia Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada de Sagres, Infante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Address: Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#4 Family Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Sagres, Infante 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a Fortress with a breath-taking view The Pousada de Sagres is part of a scenario with flavours of the sea and with great historical importance. Designed by architect Jose Segurado and opened in 1960, in the commemorations of the fifth centenary of the death of Prince D. Henrique. From here, one can see the Fortress of Sagres, from where the Portuguese caravels departed for the Discoveries. Cape St. Vicente, named Sacrum Promontorium, is one of the most south-western parts of Europe, and fishing port. Overall, Algarve signifies soft sandy beaches with turquoise blue sea, green pine forests, flowers amongst the dunes, heat and a climate for passion, whether it is in the intense summer or the tranquil winter. But Algarve is more than just that. It's in this different Algarve where you can find the small fishing town known as the Vila do Bispo (Bishop's Town) and were lies Sagres in the south of Algarve. In entering the Sagres region you absorb a mystic atmosphere surrounded by an unspoilt landscape where the sea and the mountains meet to form an unusual natural heritage. The Pousada has 51 rooms that are ideal for an invigorating rest which include air conditioning, a desk and a safe. Outside there is a magnificent pool with sun loungers around it offering a stunning view of the coast. The more active guests can go fishing, Walking or do some surfing. After a relaxing day the guests of the Pousada de Sagres, Infante, can enjoy the Pousada's restaurant, which offers its guests the best cuisine of Algarve based on the sea and the freshness of its ingredients. The Fortress of Sagres is located 5 minutes by car from the hotel and the city of Lagos can be reached within 30 minutes. Experiencing the Pousada de Sagres is a starting point to go and discover the cultural authenticity of this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Escapio, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Pousada de Sagres, Infante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Infante Sagres
Pousada Do Infante Hotel Sagres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada de Sagres, Infante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.