We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada de Sagres, Infante to your Saves list
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, Essex
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The pousada has a fantastic setting overlooking the sea and coastline and we enjoyed a spectacular sunset on our last evening.
The atmosphere is very relaxed and the staff really friendly and helpful. You can walk down to the nearby beach as well as the local restaurants, although the evening meal we had in the hotel was very reasonable.
Being on the western tip of Portugal it tends to be a bit breezy, but we found this kept it from being too hot especially when cycling or walking. It also means lovely clear skies and great views.
Apart from the irritating 'chillout' mood music in the morning (probably the fault of the Pestana chain as they had the same music in other pousadas), our five days at the hotel were excellent.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with an ocean view, preferably on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    158
    46
    10
    3
See reviews for
61
281
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel is perched out on a bluff opposite the Sagres fortress bluff, with an expansive sheltered beach below. In the distance to the west one can see the Saint Vincent bluff, the farthermost point to the west on the European continent ... a great setting for sunsets. The hotel is more costly than most pousadas, but lacks any historical pedigree. It is a somewhat dated modern structure, luxurious, but without much distinctive character. The amenities include an outdoor pool, and the usual fine restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Incredible setting on a cliff in Sagres. Staff was great. Restaurant was very good for dinner and breakfast. Nice pool but it was too windy to swim. The view is incredible!!! Nice balcony off our room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I would go back here in a flash, no question. We went for a Long weekend...well just because it was there. Some reviews have said the posada is tired but for me the slight need for refreshment just added to the character. The staff were so nice...as all Portuguese are in my view - helpful and caring with no language barrier hang ups. Just get a room with a sea view - help yourself to the fruit and drinks provided in the room, sit on the balcony and all your cares will be gone in an instant. Breakfast was excellent, the bed was comfortable, and Sagres has so much history. This posada gets a 5 in my book. Yes they do need to do a bit of refurbishment but it is obvious that it s an ongoing project so no complaints.

Room Tip: Sea view essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had an amazing room that overlooked the beach. Definitely get second floor rooms 201 to 212. Extra for seaside but well worth the extra money. They had a questionnaire asking you to name the best employee but honestly they were all so fabulous it was hard to single it down to one person, enjoyed our lunches on the balcony with a bottle of wine and bread, cheese and salamis which we had purchased at the supermarket. It was so nice to breathe in the nice clean air.

Room Tip: As per above go 2nd floor rooms 201-212
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I've done a whole bunch of Tripadvisor reviews over the years and this is one of the hardest ever because I really want to rate this place higher. I'd go back in a heartbeat and I waffled between a 3 and 4 but, after thinking about it for a week, it's a three. My wife and I just spent two weeks in Portugal at five different places (including two other pousadas) and Pousada de Sagres just doesn't measure up for the reasons below.

First of all, what we loved. The view is beyond belief, really one of the most stunning places we've ever stayed. You really feel you are looking out on the end of the known world. Even better was the staff. They were so personable and willing to help and give advice. Breakfasts (the same, with minor changes, in every pousada) were fresh and very extensive. Eggs, breads, rolls, many different fresh fruits, meats, cheeses, and on and on. No need for lunch after a breakfast like that. The balcony and balcony furniture made it our favorite spot. The bed was just fine with a lovely, light comforter, and first rate linens throughout.

So, what makes it a three star? A whole bunch of stuff that could be (and should be, at a pousada) remedied quickly and, in most cases, pretty easily. Like chipped paint. I could have touched them up in five minutes - max - but there probably were 15 chipped paint areas in our room and hallway. The bedroom furniture (desk, closet) was old and, frankly, reminded me a of 1960s-era college dorm room. Not at all first-quality stuff. The mini-fridge was a joke. The safe didn't work. We let the staff know that the first day. On the last day, the safe still didn't work. The lighting fixtures were old, pretty ugly, and gave off about as much light as three candles on each side of the bed. Others in the room were no better. Outside, the wall beyond the swimming pool is cracked, stained and in need of paint.

I would guess that this pousada is an ongoing project. The door/window to the balcony was very new and a perfect seal to noise. As stated above, the bed, mattress, pillows and linens were all top quality. I would guess the owners are working on the place, little by little, and I understand that. What I don't understand are things like chipped paint and a worthless mini-fridge.

My wife and I really do hope to go back. The Sagres area - particularly the beaches north of Cape St. Vincent - is great. I hope they've touched up the paint by then.

Room Tip: Only worth staying at if you have an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I am still revisiting the beautiful views in my mind. Portugal natives are such friendly people, and staying at a Pousada was an experience I am glad I didn't miss. The rooms are not "flashy", but comfortable and clean. We visited off season. However, no crowds are always fine with me! (Some local fish were not in season....something to think about.) To watch a storm come in across the ocean, only to bring sunshine/rainbows afterwards in a matter of hours brought moments of reflection and relaxation for me. The am buffet was plentiful and fresh. We ate dinner here one night, and it was just above average. Service was exceptional. The staff wanted us to be happy. We rec'd comp. fruits and champagne. We had heard from other travelers who belong to the Pousada club, that other Pousadas are even better than this particular one. Price here was approx. 100 euros/night. Don't miss king prawns with cognac @ Ristorante Carlos, just down the street. And....I mean that !! Yum-Yum

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
1.3 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
15.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#24 of 48 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Sagres, Infante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Address: Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#4 Family Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Sagres, Infante 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a Fortress with a breath-taking view The Pousada de Sagres is part of a scenario with flavours of the sea and with great historical importance. Designed by architect Jose Segurado and opened in 1960, in the commemorations of the fifth centenary of the death of Prince D. Henrique. From here, one can see the Fortress of Sagres, from where the Portuguese caravels departed for the Discoveries. Cape St. Vicente, named Sacrum Promontorium, is one of the most south-western parts of Europe, and fishing port. Overall, Algarve signifies soft sandy beaches with turquoise blue sea, green pine forests, flowers amongst the dunes, heat and a climate for passion, whether it is in the intense summer or the tranquil winter. But Algarve is more than just that. It's in this different Algarve where you can find the small fishing town known as the Vila do Bispo (Bishop's Town) and were lies Sagres in the south of Algarve. In entering the Sagres region you absorb a mystic atmosphere surrounded by an unspoilt landscape where the sea and the mountains meet to form an unusual natural heritage. The Pousada has 51 rooms that are ideal for an invigorating rest which include air conditioning, a desk and a safe. Outside there is a magnificent pool with sun loungers around it offering a stunning view of the coast. The more active guests can go fishing, Walking or do some surfing. After a relaxing day the guests of the Pousada de Sagres, Infante, can enjoy the Pousada's restaurant, which offers its guests the best cuisine of Algarve based on the sea and the freshness of its ingredients. The Fortress of Sagres is located 5 minutes by car from the hotel and the city of Lagos can be reached within 30 minutes. Experiencing the Pousada de Sagres is a starting point to go and discover the cultural authenticity of this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Escapio, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pousada de Sagres, Infante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Infante Sagres
Pousada Do Infante Hotel Sagres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada de Sagres, Infante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.