We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada de Sagres, Infante to your Saves list
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
127 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

As almost every reviewer observes, it is the spectacular views that make this pousada an outstanding place to visit. But that does not mean that service suffers. Upon our arrival for a two-day visit we were given a warm welcome and we and our bags were whisked away to our sea-view room in no time.

The common areas of the building are most appealing with decor that complements the architecture, history and atmosphere of the place. The rooms are less appealing but are quite adequate. They are minimally equipped, no minibar or coffee and the bathroom was under-ventilated and was sauna-like after a shower. There was an in-room safe. But honestly, the balcony and the views up the coast and out to the ocean overwhelmed any minor omissions in the room.

We had breakfast and dinner in the pousada's restaurant and both were very good with friendly, efficient service from all the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    168
    47
    11
    3
See reviews for
69
285
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Pousada de Sagres is an excellent place for a weekend retreat. Location is amazing, overlloking the cliffs and the ocean. Rooms are comfortable and lively, not exactly luxurious, but they match the sobriety of the place. The whole place was redone in 2004, but i was glad to see that they maintained many of the original 1940's elements. Did not try the restaurant, but breakfast was great, with lots to chose from. Staff deserves a special mention, as they were all extremely professional and helpful. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel is in an excellant locaion and the building, facilities and service were excellant, but how they were let down by the meals in the restaurant. The two members of staff were efficient, but the standard of the main courses in particular were well below the standard expected of this hotel, especially from the advertising of fresh and local food etc. Service was very slow even though the restaurant was less than half full.
The second night in the restaurant we ordered a meal that we had had the previous night which turned out to be completely differant - black pork - instead of casseroled meat and veg. it was fried chops and chips. Even though we complained they insisted this was the right meal. Needless to say we didn't use the restaurant the third night, but went to a nearby indian restaurant which was excellant.
A real letdown for a first class hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spent three nights here and would recommend it. The week we arrived the sun came out and the coast was in fragrant bloom with wildflowers of every description. On arrival we had a problem with our room which was handled efficiently and with good humour by David at reception. The hotel offers a high level of service without any pretensions. breakfasts and dinners superb, again with friendly and thoughtful service. For example, after a request the first morning, Silvia remembered we preferred plain yoghurt and made sure to bring it out for us each morning without us having to ask.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aalborg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

its an outstanding place if you love comfort and-unpretending and efficent service combined with
sunrise or sunset experiences directly from your bed or your balcony

the food is excellent not only the breakfast try their dinner too they make it romantic

we got this pousada recommended booked first for 3 nights but ended up 7 nights as they give you discounts long stay and golden age +55

its the place for a romantic stay combined with historic and natural wonders

the fireplace in the lounge is worth for a evening stay and a glas of their excellent wines

we were there in the end of november and had a fantastic time

Room Tip: try a superior room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night here. We had a lovely time. Like almost everything in Portugal, the room interior was a bit outdated, but very clean. The view from the balcony was stunning, overlooking fortaleza Sagres. The breakfast was great, they even served champagne.

On the whole, worth paying a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Yes, the location is spectacular. But on a rather damp March evening, with the hotel "at 50% occupancy" (I don't know where they all were) it was rather cold and unwelcoming. Fire not lit. Lights out behind the bar. Surprised to find the hotel receptionist spoke no English. "Any chance of a drink?", I said, having struggled to find anyone who would serve me. A rather feckless smile came back. Nobody appeared. We went out. Dinner was an odd affair. The dining room is uplit with florescent lighting - it was a bit like having a meal in a Turkish bathroom. Perhaps in the height of summer when, I guess, the place is full, it might have been a different experience. But if you are going to open a place all year around you need to staff it accordingly and make the effort to make it inviting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
1.3 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
15.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#25 of 49 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,595 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pontalaia Apartamentos Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Sagres, Infante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Sagres, Infante

Address: Ponta da Atalaia, Sagres 8650-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#4 Family Hotel in Sagres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Sagres, Infante 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a Fortress with a breath-taking view The Pousada de Sagres is part of a scenario with flavours of the sea and with great historical importance. Designed by architect Jose Segurado and opened in 1960, in the commemorations of the fifth centenary of the death of Prince D. Henrique. From here, one can see the Fortress of Sagres, from where the Portuguese caravels departed for the Discoveries. Cape St. Vicente, named Sacrum Promontorium, is one of the most south-western parts of Europe, and fishing port. Overall, Algarve signifies soft sandy beaches with turquoise blue sea, green pine forests, flowers amongst the dunes, heat and a climate for passion, whether it is in the intense summer or the tranquil winter. But Algarve is more than just that. It's in this different Algarve where you can find the small fishing town known as the Vila do Bispo (Bishop's Town) and were lies Sagres in the south of Algarve. In entering the Sagres region you absorb a mystic atmosphere surrounded by an unspoilt landscape where the sea and the mountains meet to form an unusual natural heritage. The Pousada has 51 rooms that are ideal for an invigorating rest which include air conditioning, a desk and a safe. Outside there is a magnificent pool with sun loungers around it offering a stunning view of the coast. The more active guests can go fishing, Walking or do some surfing. After a relaxing day the guests of the Pousada de Sagres, Infante, can enjoy the Pousada's restaurant, which offers its guests the best cuisine of Algarve based on the sea and the freshness of its ingredients. The Fortress of Sagres is located 5 minutes by car from the hotel and the city of Lagos can be reached within 30 minutes. Experiencing the Pousada de Sagres is a starting point to go and discover the cultural authenticity of this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pousada de Sagres, Infante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Infante Sagres
Pousada Do Infante Hotel Sagres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada de Sagres, Infante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.